We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value-for-money, excellent ambience, very friendly & helpful owner, but have your meals elsewhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kingstork Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kingstork Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kingstork Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holiday Street, Gaura Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great value-for-money, excellent ambience, very friendly & helpful owner, but have your meals elsewhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed at the Kingstork hotel at Calangute from 8-11 June 2010. The hotel is a small 10-room affair which was squeaky clean and quite comfortable, and hardly a resort as the name conveys - but it was an excellent experience for us.

First, the booking process. The owner, Mr. Stanley Ferrao, had been prompt in responding to my emails, and accommodating enough to adjust for the one day of delay I had in reaching Goa. He did not ask for an advance (though I specifically asked whether he needed one), and offered me a good off-season rate of 1200 INR inclusive of taxes and complimentary breakfast.

We arrived at the hotel somewhat late in the evening, and had to locate the place. We called Mr. Ferrao a couple of times, and when we took more than our fair share of time to reach, he called back himself.

About the hotel: A 10-room affair. The southern part of Calangute beach is accessible by a 2-minute walk along a road behind the hotel - you can hear the sea from the hotel lawns though. The split AC works well (though voltage fluctuation is a problem and it trips occasionally), the toilet is sparkling clean with running hot and cold water, and there's a stocked fridge in the room too.

On the negative side, there is no room service, and in fact one is dissuaded from eating and smoking in the rooms. No electric kettle or provision for bed tea either. The restaurant part is outsourced to someone who doesn't do a very good job of it - the crockery is dirty and cracked, and the feel-good factor of the rooms is a big contrast to the not-so-good restaurant experience. It's also open-air, so humidity is a problem at this time of the year. The breakfast is minimal - option of "1 serving of cornflakes/porridge and milk" or "2 eggs as you like it and 2 slices of toast", plus coffee/tea. Mr. Ferrao gave us to understand that the restaurant would be run better, and personally by him, from next year. Given the quality of the hotel overall, I'd say he'll do a far better job than now.

The swimming pool is clean and well-maintained, and apart from a good swim, you have the option of being served refreshments at the bar counter alongside too. And it is quite a pretty sight at night too - all rooms face the pool.

One doesn't get free drinking water - you pay for the Bisleri in the fridge @ 25INR/bottle. And the car gets to be parked on the road in front of the reception, though there's someone there all night to keep an eye on it.

My take: It's good value for money overall, but we preferred other places to have our meals.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    58
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
82
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

The rooms are very nice, each equipped with a TV, mini bar and also air conditioner.It has quite a nice swimming pool with a bar and restaurant just next to it.So that you can relax in the pool with a chilled beer and also order something from the restaurant while you are sitting on the stools inside the pool have submerged in the water.Another great thing about this hotel is the location.It is barely 2 minutes walk from the famous Calangute beach which is called the queen of beaches in Goa and also has some pretty good sharks there such as Jolly Jack and Flying Dolphin.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daman in India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

its a small 10 room hotel.but the ambience is amazing.location is perfect right besides the beach.
food is good at the restaurant.
overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Very good choice if you would like to spend few days on Goa with a limited budget. Very close to Calangute beach, only 2 mins walk. You have bars&restaurants near by, beach is nice in the middle between condolim and calangute. The hotel is very small and quite. Stanley and his staf is very good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Fellow travelers...if you are looking at a quite place to stay at the Calangute, Kingstork is it. With just 10 rooms (5 on the ground floor & 5 on the level above), this is a great value for money proposition and will pleasantly surprise you with the excellent location and the service. Go for the ground floor rooms, they lead you right to the pool. The rooms are nice and comfortable with a TV, and an electric safe. The staff is courteous and eager to help you. The property is a 5 minute walk from a nice part of the Calangute beach. If there is one downside of Kingstork, it would be that they do not allow any room service or don’t even allow any food to be taken into their rooms. The restaurant is outsourced and has a somewhat limited menu, but decent food. However, there is no dearth of eateries around the resort

  • Liked — The location, The price
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

i had been to the hotel in december, hotel was quiet good enough, but the main calangute beach is 20 min far from hotel. the beach near to hotel is just a other side entry of calangute beach. restaurant food was pathetic. pls dont even try for that, just enjoy the complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Very impressed with Kingstork during our stay for three days mid-Dec 09. Exceptionally clean and freshly painted rooms which were tastefully decorated. Mini-bar was decently stocked. Good air con and hot water on tap in the bathroom. There's a nice verandah to the rooms where you can laze with a beer in hand. We stayed the first floor. While the ground floor rooms opened directly into the pool, we liked the privacy upstairs.

Complimentary breakfast (eggs+toast+juice+tea) was basic but well prepared and more than sufficient. You could also order sausages, juices, etc. ala carte. We visited the pool only once during our stay, but have to say that it was immaculately clean.

The location of the hotel was fantastic, which was however one reason why we never got a chance to eat at the hotel restaurant. Holiday Street itself has more than a few restaurants, apart from which Baga, Calangute or Candolim are all 5 minutes away. During our stay, we ate at Brittos (Baga) and Le Jardin (across the street from Kingstork) and we were extremely happy with the food at both places. Le Jardin was particularly impressive. Had an extremely irritating birthday party on the next table at Brittos, but not the fault of the restaurant. Lunches were mostly at the shacks, awesome fresh food which you can pretty much make to your taste, also Babute's - close by, pricey and bit of a con, but the pork chops were good.

The beach - Nobody raves about Calangute, but it was quite ok.. Wasnt all that crowded, the water's nice. Got nice sunbeds all days, good food at the shacks -Aggies (try the shark in rechead sauce), Mama Cecilia to the left once you hit the beach, and another (we forgot the name) to the right. Lots of watersports in that part of the beach, but we were in lounge mode, so maybe next time.

Overall, too short a trip, but made memorable due to a fault-free and stress-less stay at the hotel.

  • Liked — Everything you need.. and close to the beach
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingstork Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingstork Beach Resort

Address: Holiday Street, Gaura Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#6 Family Hotel in Calangute
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#9 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kingstork Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Kingstork Restaurant' was established in 1968 by the Ferrao family at Calangute, Goa it was moved to its present location in 1999, where it has continued to flourish as the Kingstork Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kingstork Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingstork Beach Hotel Calangute
Kingstork Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingstork Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.