We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Excellent Friendly Staff" !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somy Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Somy Resort to your Saves list
Somy Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Naika Vaddo | Calangute-Candolim road, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“" Excellent Friendly Staff" !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nothings too much for the friendly helpful staff on this complex.
First time in Goa and they made our stay as pleasant an experience we could have asked for.
The rooms are spacious, I like a firm mattress so I had no problem with the beds.
You must call and arrange room service when you require it and then they arrive pretty sharpish.
The complex is situated dead centre in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Calangute perfect if you want that instant sensory 'rush' of being in a busy exotic cosmopolitan foreign location. Loads of restaurants, Taxi ranks plus a well-stocked supermarket and an ATM are within 5 minutes walk of the complex. Once again our experience of the Goan people was one of a lovely laid back gentle people always up for a laugh and always willing to help and be of service. We went over the New Year and the atmosphere was amazing. A return trip beckons methinks!!

Room Tip: Upgrade once you’re out there. Very cheap and you get a TV and proper A/C as opposed to a ceiling fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    86
    49
    11
    30
See reviews for
47
96
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sea Palling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

As a first time aboard (a bit mad i Know going all that way) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Somy. the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Rooms were very spacious clean and well equipped, TV,fridge etc, hubby found the bed a bit hard, my son and i slept well. Pool area was well kept and attended all day. restaurant had a good choice menu (lots to chose from for fussy teens). For exploring the area its a well situated hotel and taxis always available just outside the complex.
A SUPPER HOLIDAY I WILL BE GOING BACK!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

i hand nice & pleasant stay staff are very co-operative & they should improve there food menu & room services the rooms are very spacious the complementary breakfast & dinner should have more items i think they are little bite stinge

Room Tip: rooms towards the back side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat Thani, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

we stayed in Diwali vaction with Family,was just amazing,Staff were very Friendly,we as Indian were treated very well,no complaints.
Plus the best thing was an Pure veg Restaurant in the Property.
The Pool was clean.
Just was amazing Holiday.

Room Tip: Clean and Quite Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BORO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Having travelled to Goa for the past 5 yrs sometimes twice a year we thought we would try somewhere else to stay.We picked the Somy as we were on quite a tight budget,and we were in for quite a surprise.
We got to the resort at about 2am and we checked in and were taken to our room in H block.We walked in and thought "well we're in Goa again"! The main room was quite large with 2 single beds pushed together.The beds were very hard which I loved but my missus did not approve of.Opposite the beds was a very adequate bathroom,and next to that room was another room with a wardrobe and a fridge in it plus a kitchen sink. There was also a small balcony at the end of the main room. We put our cases in the kitchen room and got our heads down for some much needed sleep.
In the morning I went to reception to ask where our tv was,as when I booked I specifically asked for a tv.The manager was superb and got our request sorted via Sandeep our room boy who was a great credit to the hotel.Sandeep also provided us with more coat hangers and a dressing table,everything we asked for was sorted at once.
Normally we spend most of our time on the beach sunbathing but the Somy has a brilliant pool,well looked after by the staff.The only problem was the majority of people smoked around the pool which is very off putting to us.The hotel burnt off waste products during the day in a neglected partitioned space next to the pool which was nearly as bad as the smokers, with black plooms of smoke in the air coming over and choking everyone.One thing that lets the Somy down is that there is no WIFI available for guests to use so we spent most of our nights out of the hotel grounds.
We will definitely stay here again but they need to address the few little moans I and a lot more people agreed with.
There was a very mediocre breakfast on a morning as the 5 slice toaster took 20 mins to half toast your bread.The staff could not do enough for you tho.
We will definitely stay here again and it could be this year.
We loved it, - Kev and Alicia from "Boro"

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the Somy for two weeks, although the staff were very friendly the rooms needed a good clean. We have been going to Goa for a few years now but I think this is the worst place we have stayed at. The location is good, quite centralised to shops and not far to walk to the beach. But afraid we wont use the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorks
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is my 2nd time at the SoMY Resort (previously stayed Nov - Dec 2012) & what a difference a year makes! We were here from 8th December - 22nd December & the hotel is now under different management & the has had a face lift! The blocks are newly painted & looks very fresh & clean, there's still security as there was last year (the guy on the night shift is lovely!) but there is now a gate across the entrance, theres been a new tiled floor, an extension to the pool area for another row of sunbeds & the house which was previously there has been bought by the SoMy & turned into more apartments, the one thing that hasnt changed (thank goodness!) is the staff, everyone from the bar staff, cleaners, receptionist, pool attendant, omlette man (breakfast!) to the security guards are the most friendliest bunch of people I've ever met, theyre always ready with a "Hello, how are you!" & a smile no matter what time of day it is or how long theyve been on a shift they really are very friendly.
The staff here really cant do enough for you, whether its asking if you want your room cleaned each day (its up to you when you want it cleaned just hand in your keys at Reception) & leaving designs with your towels to making sure the onion bhajis i wanted werent mega spicy, they honestly cannot do enough for you - I have to call out some names of the bar men who served us whilst we were there as they are so friendly, chatty & polite - Bob (Papoa) Jojo, Antony & Beero guys like that make me want to come back year after year & is one of the reasons we returned to the SoMy this year
The rooms in the hotel are basic & my only little niggle would be the beds are quite hard but after a few days it was fine & to be honest we were hardly in our rooms anyway!
The pool area is very nice & is a sun trap but with a small breeze also which makes sitting in the sun more bearable & it helps the pool is only a few steps away, theres also a covered area where you can get out the sun, have sun dinner & sit under a fan to cool down!
The SoMy is very central with Candolim, Calangute centre & Baga not far away, theres taxis outside the hotel to take you wherever you want to go - Saturday Night Market, Lillput, Anjuna, the Waterfalls, Elephant trip, Cocoa Beach etc & are very reasonably priced, theres also shops just outside the resort selling sweets, crisps, drinks & doing currency exchange, a leather shop & a vegetarian restaurant which i think is owned by SoMy also, theres lots of nice eating places just a few minutes walk away also - 'The Sportsman' which has english food & is run by an english couple - steak pie & chips was gorgeous! 'Cricketers' for those who fancy a beer well into the early hours, 'Why Not' they do a mixture of english & indian & will do the food exactly to your taste, (for those who want to call home theres also a phone in the shop next door to Why Not & isnt very expensive) Im not a fan of spicy food but the butter chicken they did for me as mild was stunning & they even give you your leftovers in a doggy bag if you cant manage it all! 'The Spice Rack' do excellent steak & 'The Hungry Horse' again do a mixture of food & its all delicious!
Id definitely recommend a stay in this hotel, in fact its a must!! Some friends are wanting to come back next year to make the most of their Visa & will be booking direct with the hotel as its very reasonably priced!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somy Resort

Address: Naika Vaddo | Calangute-Candolim road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Somy Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Somy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somy Hotel Calangute
Somy Resort Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.