We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mira Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mira Hotel to your Saves list
Mira Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Umta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence 2014
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

been to goa 7 times now, this was are first time in the mira hotel, i do not know how it gets higher rating than the osborne hotel, location of the mira good, pool area very small, rooms clean but again small, but we don't spend that much time in room so not a problem, what i didnt like was not having a frigde in the rooms, you could hire one for £1.50 a day, not a lot of money i no.but why not just put a frigde in all rooms, breakfast was the norm tea, coffee and toast, you could get full breakfast for a few rupees. staff looked scared stiff, couldnt get much conversation out of any off them. we was on the first floor facing the pool, the front door was facing some waste ground where i think must of the dogs in calangute lived, or thast what it seemed like, howling and barking must nights till early hours. i dont think i will be staying there again sorry mira,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    65
    27
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
75
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was my first time in Goa, so en route to the hotel Mira, I was terrified. Mosquitos, rats and other horrifyingly debauched insects lingered in my imagination. But when I arrived, I needn't have worried. There was nothing untoward, insect wise, in the Hotel Mira and I don't think there were any rats. The bathroom and beds were perfectly clean and they change the bedding every other day. All the staff were friendly and polite. Some of the staff there doubled up as taxi drivers and gave low prices to wherever we wanted to go, nobody tried to overcharge us, the worst person there was my boyfriend who was trying to barter everything down to 50 rupees (the equivalent of English 50p).

The air conditioning system was excellent. We stayed in room 404, the only disadvantage to this was that we had to walk up 4 flights of stairs. I didn’t actually mind this as I was eating about 4000 calories a day in Calangute and the surrounding areas (loads of great restaurants near the Mira) so I liked to kid myself that a walk up a few stairs might balance this out, but if you are elderly or disabled then you may struggle as there is no lift, althought they do have ground floor rooms.

The only breakfast I ate whilst at the Mira was toast. This was fine, not too dissimilar to English toast. I also drank the juice, tea and milk provided by the Mira for breakfast. I have been fine, not ill, I haven’t developed any terrible syndromes and I have been back in England for 4 days now.
On the last day we were meant to check out at 11 a.m but our flight wasn’t til midnight so I asked at the desk the day before if we could keep our room. This was no problem and we were charged the obligatory 2500 rupees (£25.00).

Goa is the best place I have ever been, we ate everywhere and all the food was fantastic. The curries are divine. I am scared of everything but there was absolutely no need to be and I would recommend it to anyone who is a bit wary or just plain terrified. The people are lovely and will do anything for you. Fantastic atmos all round really. P.S. Go to Daytripper in Calangute and book the trip to Dudhsagar waterfalls on a Sunday. You will see elephants and monkeys who steal your lunch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lajes do Pico, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Bedrooms regularly cleaned, the bar is great, love the fishes in their tank! Staff there are helpful and friendly. The swimming pool is nice and private, if you wanted to go to the beach instead, its not far!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Thanks for a great stay hotel mira, just what you need it's basic...but very clean, tidy and great shower. Would advise to take a plug in to ward the mosi's off...as it worked great for us. Smashing location and go to Davids place down the road - best restaurant in the area : ) xx Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, Gujarat, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

walking distance from beach. superb hotel and nice staff.
all basic things you need is available.
clean room and pool.
it was a great experience to stay here.
i am defiantly gonna stay here on my next visit to Goa.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

just 200 mt from calangute beach.... awesome room , awesome service , nice and coordinating staff....only concern was limited options in food...but that was manageable many restro are nearby.....Bike are available in front of hotel.... i m just loving it...:)


Room Tip: room are just awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Room was basic but what do you need really shower and bed. All i can say is the hotel Staff brilliant so helpful.
Got a Christmas meal there that was amazing brilliant cook who ever it was cooking it and free then a firework show.
Did the same at New Years but sadly I went home on the 30th dec 10 amazing nights though. I highly recommend redonda restaurant about 150 yards up the road or if you turn right go to Molly malones

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Hotel

Address: Umta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Hotel Calangute
Mira Hotel Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.