We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for what you pay!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mira Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mira Hotel to your Saves list
Mira Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Umta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence 2014
northampton
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good for what you pay!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

When we arrived very early in the morning the staff was very helpful and even got his some water from the bar even tho it was closed!!! throughout our stay we were treated so well and felt like part of the family at this hotel !!
The food here is horrible but its so cheap to eat out that we only ever had brekkie once and that was bad enough!!! But that didnt ruin the hotel at all!!!
Would go back to this hotel if we stayed in that area again

The cleaner does an amazing job our room was so tidy

Room Tip: We had room 306 no air con but was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    65
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
21
77
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

flew out to Goa on the 22nd of november with my son, who is a grown man now, we stayed at the Mira in calangute 2nd time at this lovely hotel, the staff are brill and can't do enough to help.
i could not belive how much calangute has changed since my last visit, it's so busy, but it's a lovely place,
when we got on the coach to go to resort the thomas cook rep did his little speach and then said welcome to the lovely island of Goa!!!!!! island? Mmmmmm his local knowladge was not good at all.
the next day myself and my son went down to calangute beach, and what a dissapointment that was, i could not belive how dirty it has got, it is absolutely disgusting, you can't walk more than 5 yards without being hassled by beach shack owners, we walked along from the steps and before we got to the sea we were asked several times if we wanted cocaine, it got so bad that we didn't go back to calangute beach for the rest of the 3 weeks, instead we went to candolim beach, which is very quiet and clean.
at the top of calangute where the roundabout is there is a lovely resturant called redonda, the food is wonderfull, we never had a bad meal there at all, as was the resturant east meets west i can highly recomend these places, the weather was great, and we decided to do the Hampi trip, wonderfull, well worth every penny,(BUT it is a very long 3 days but what a trip it was,
on the 2nd week of our stay a woman from our hotel had her bag snatched as she walked to the hotel and there was an attempted rape on calangute beach, the crime is on the up, it's a pity that things like this happen, but it is a sad fact of life.
would i go back to Goa again, no i wouldn't but that's just my opinion, based on my holiday.

Room Tip: if you don't like noise ask for a quiet room when you book, or you could find yourself in a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This time we got a pool room, definitely quieter than the main block which is on the street. Hotel is basic but very clean with rooms serviced every day. Staff very friendly. Pool is clean but limited room for sunbeds in the sun. Great location near to the centre of Calangute.

Room Tip: Email the hotel & ask for a pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is situated 200 yards from the main strip of bars and restaurants so no need to worry about finding taxis. The staff really do make this hotel,a pleasure to stay in, and do make up for the lack of luxury. There is a clean medium sized pool that is a bit starved of sunlight, a bar that opens till late, and a 24 hr reception. We had a tv in the room but have to pay extra for a fridge and safe.
Its worth noting that not all rooms have A/C. Ours had a motorised multi-speed fan which didn't really do much on the hotter days/nights. Might be wise to contact the hotel in advance to ensure you get this as you WILL need it.
All in all, this is not a bad hotel, we enjoyed the hospitality of the staff, and the location. The beach is a bit of a walk, but well worth it when you get there. If you're not much of a walker, the taxi service in Goa is almost free, its so cheap - typically about £1/$1 per journey, virtually anywhere!!! and the taxi cabs and tuk tuks out number the tourists, they're everywhere!!

Room Tip: Ensure you reserve a room with full electric Air Con, and not a motorised fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

just returned from our very first holiday in goa. we stayed in the mira for 2 weeks from the 8th of november. reading some reviews on here really does prove to me that some people want to pay 2 star prices for 5 star accomadation (2 bob millionaires). we stayed in room p7 which was basic but spotless. the room boys cleaned it every single day, changed the bedding every day and brought clean towels every other day. the breakfast consisted of toast, fruit juice coffee, (the toast wasnt burnt either). all the staff were freindly and courteous. most nights we came in after midnight and there were no drunken jobs shouting and keeping others awake. yes the dogs do bark on & off on a night, yes the birds make a racket on the morning,but it never bothered us.
i would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone. we met some lovely people who come back to the mira year on year and in my personal oppinion they're good judges. the indian people are amongst the friendliest ive ever met.
so, in summing up, take no noticeof some poor reviews and give the mira a try, you wont be dissapointed.
dave & kathryn

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and myself have stayed at the Mira Hotel 3 times now and have loved it every time. The rooms are just the right size and are kept clean and tidy. Our last visit started at another hotel just outside Calangute (we booked with Thompsons and they do not have rooms at the Mira) but we were very disappointed with the cleanliness of the place. Having stopped there for 3 nights we decided enough was enough and went to the Mira who, could not have helped us any more than they did. The staff are so friendly and to be honest, have become our extended family over the years. They look after us soooo well and will help in any way they can. Ok, breakfast isnt fantastic but there are plenty of places to eat within 2 mins of walking and everything is so cheap. We both sleep extremely well (I know others have'nt but please, please realise that this hotel is in the middle of Calangute which is a hustley bustley place.) We would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to be in the middle of life!!! It is 5 mins walk to Calangute Beach and about 20-30 mins to Baga Beach (or you could get a tut tut for 100 rps which is about 70-80pence). Baga Beach is the better of the 2 in my opinion. Candolim is great too and is about 10mins by taxi.

Room Tip: Rooms are better on 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here December 2011. Our first time in Goa. At first it didn't seem great but this is India and it is a good standard for the price and location. Had a room on third floor which was a bit of a trek up the stairs in the heat but the view was entertaining... hawkers, elephants, sacred cows, rabid dogs....
Beware that the bedding is not Persil white but it is clean. Do like the Indians and take your shoes off at the door otherwise your room is forever dirty and dusty. Mothballs were all over the place and the smell really made me feel ill.
Didn't use the restaurant but the breakfast was fine. Bar was also good with drinks very reasonably priced. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. I would have loved to have stayed in a pool room but there were none available. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again although I couldn't see it advertised through UK tour companies this year.
On the downside - the telephone in my room did not work during the whole duration of my stay (2 weeks) it wouldn't usually be a problem but I missed a call from home and if you needed anything it was up and down all those stairs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Hotel

Address: Umta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Hotel Calangute
Mira Hotel Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mira Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.