We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location with a private beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Khobra Vaddo | Next to Babreshwar Temple, On the Beach, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 100 Hotels in Calangute
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice location with a private beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

This resort is very nice located in the hotspot Calangute with a private beach and food service at the beach with nice food and mostly russian food as russian are very much often there.
rooms are ok and a good swimming pool.
rooms are beautifully designed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    379
    200
    68
    124
See reviews for
318
356
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

I stayed in Estrela do mar during 24th Feb to 27th Feb 2011. I happened to read all the bad reviews about this resort after I the booking was confirmed. So was really in two minds whether to go ahead or cancel. But I decided to go ahead and got really a positive surprise. The stay was excellent and really value for money. The rooms were superb, very neat, clean, recently renovated. Toilets were very clean and well maintained.

I think the negative reviews are nothing but an over exaggeration of the situation and tend to misguide others.

About the location…Mostly all the negative reviews are about the approach road to the resort. Well this resort is off the main road and is 5-8 minutes walk from the calangute baga road. The road is dark at night but definitely safe. The hindu cemetery situated on the way to the resort which most of the travelers have mentioned about definitely catches ones attention. But it is closed down and non operational according to the hotel staff. I would like to mention here that none of the travelers have mentioned about the hindu temple which is situated right opposite the hotel. The beach is at the back side of the hotel and is about 3 minutes walk through a narrow road which is properly carved out.

About the rooms…There are actually different categories of rooms. Rooms on the way to the beach start with 1 and 2, e.g.101,102..,201,202…etc are old and look shabby from outside. Rooms starting from 5 and 6 e.g.501,502..601, 602…are called as beach huts and situated right next to the beach are meant for the people who would like to do adventure since they look very scary at night. Rooms on the pool side start with 3 and 4, e.g. 301,302..401,402..etc. These rooms are very well maintained. We were told by the hotel staff that rooms like 401,402…. were renovated in 2009 and rooms like 301,302…were renovated in 2010. They are the best rooms of the hotel and one should ask for rooms starting with 3, e.g.301, 302… (I think all the negative reviews are from people who would have stayed in rooms 101,102…or 201, 202….).

About the staff….Staff out here is slightly low profile and simple. Bur they always ready to help, especially when it comes to airport transfers, sightseeing etc. They allowed us to change our room when we requested.

About the meals….We mostly had food outside but once during our stay ordered on room dining. The taste was superb. The breakfast is just amazing especially the omelets and one should not miss that.

In all an excellent experience and definitely visit again..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohtak, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We wasted our money and did not stay even a single day ,as we decided to forego three days package rather than spoiling our holidays.the ambience was bad ,staff uncultured totally unprofessional,rooms were bad and dingy,
Lesson learnt; never book packages ,the pictures of the rooms shown on internet are deceptive,read reviews before booking,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Hi friends i have visited this resort on 13th feb & stayed there for 5 nights it rocked.

It was a nice get to gather there in goa in Estrela Do Mar. Its on the beach only jst a minute away with their private beach shack. Food is very tasty wow i luvd it.

Service was also good but can be done even better. i stayed in room no 109 it was good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I had read many negative news about this hotel before i stay there. However, that is not really true which i feel. I believe many satisfied customers didn't write in their comments.
Few things I need to highlight for my concern:
1. It should be missed communication from the web page, the sea view rooms are hut, not room. Which I stayed in this type room. Is very comfortable, even you don't need to on the air-cond at night. Housekeeping given us surprise everyday when we step in the hut, nice decoration and romantic. And this room is very close to the beach!
2. The food is very delicious! I am happy with the F&B team and chef, they are really experienced to serve guest.
3. You will need to walk around 15mins to the main road, while outside that is a union of taxi are waiting for you, but if you reject them, they won't disturb you. The union of taxi is everywhere in Goa, not only in this hotel. Is comfortable to walk to the main road. There is many convenience shops, restaurants and souvenir shops on the main road and the price are cheap. You will enjoy to walk on the street.
4. However, I do have one negative comment for this hotel. I feel the Front office's staff are lack of experience to handle customer, the way their talk and act are not professional. The management should send them for training - "How to improve communication skill."
They feel shock when they see me (Asian's look).
5. I checked out early in the morning (4am). While the F&B forgot to prepare breakfast. The check out process are slow (we were rushing to airport). Again, the communication skill of Front office staff have to improve.

Hope it helps. Overall I feel satisfied to stay in this hotel. : )
Regards,
Weilek

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Arriving at the hotel it appeared that we were not expected although we had booked 3 days in advance, the staff excused and said the internet was not working. We were offered a small room that smelled from damp and mould and with a very strong smell from the sewer. Far from the executive room we had booked and which looked nice on the internet. We refused the room and after some discussion it appeared that the hotel in fact did have another room to offer. This room did not smell from the sewer but was still damp and with clear signs of mould on the walls. The bedsheets were grey and spotted. In general the hotel seemed to be in very bad condition with holes in the roof (covered with plastic) open sewers, dirty pool, flies all over and in urgent need of cleaning. In addition to this the staff seemed to be very young and without the nescessary experience to deal with customer complaints. We stayed there one night and after having an unacceptabel breakfast next morning (no coffee, no fruit, no juice) we decided not to let a terrible hotel ruin our holiday in Goa. So we checked out which caused a lot of trouble with the staff and the manager trying to force us to stay. Finally after an hour of discussion we had our passports returned so we could leave. The hotel was paid in advance almost US$ 100/night so why did they keep our passports? Later I have seen many complaints about this hotel on the internet, I should have checked it in advance. The result was that we paid almost US$ 700 for one night in a terrible hotel booked and paid in advance through Agoda.com and with no chance of getting the money back, due to the hotels cancellation policy. The fact that the hotel did not deliver what we paid for seems not to count.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Even before check-in this hotel was already a disappointment. Upon arriving at the airport, we were promised a driver from the hotel. After an hour looking for him, we found him in the parking lot talking to his buddies. We got to the hotel and check-in took about an hour to get through. The place was chaotic; guests were impatient and the staff was oblivious. We finally got to our room and realized it had not been clean. There was sand all over the tiles and the toilet leaked, leaving an inch of water throughout the bathroom....the whole stay. The place was dirty, the area around the pool was dirty, and it was so loud. The breakfast included was not good either. Anytime you needed to go to the front desk to ask a question you were told to wait and forgotten about. When we left we were supposed to have a driver take us back to the airport and even though we asked twice, we still had to wait for him to arrive...then when he arrived we were not notified and still had to wait.
The only positive about this hotel was the location. It is right on the beach in a very touristy location. Beware of the beach huts because loud music plays late through the night.
Thumbs up for room service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Address: Khobra Vaddo | Next to Babreshwar Temple, On the Beach, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Calangute
Hotel Estrela Do Mar Beach
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.