We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays at Estrela” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Khobra Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Holidays at Estrela”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Estrela do Mar resort is a wonderful place.. I had amaizing time there with my friends.. Food here was too good. Rooms as well as the ambiance was refreashing and satisfying.. resort connects to the beach made it more beautiful.. a small trouble i had was to keep waiting during the check in time.. Please make your staff work on it n dont trouble the visitors by keeping them waiting on arrival.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    295
    169
    62
    116
See reviews for
255
292
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had a great time at Estrela with my friends. Service, ambiance, cleanliness, and food were quit good and satisfying. Only disappointing part of our stay was the long wait on arrival. You really can't afford to make your guest wait for hours. Hope you guys will positively work towards your guest management on arrival.

Room Tip: Except for the lights I was very happy with my decision to stay @ Estrela. You really need to bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have booked this hotel through makemytrip for 2 nights (15 & 16 Feb 2013) stay to celebrate our first anniversary .We booked this resort more than a month ago, in a condition that they will give us sea facing beach cottage (we knew before hand that they have only 2 sea facing beach cottages). When we arrived at the resort at 10 AM, the reception was smaller than one bathroom, and already few people were fighting for the rooms. We waited till 1PM, and they gave us a cottage which is not sea facing. When we asked makemytrip representative and also resort manager, they started blame game on each other. They all are cheaters. Even though makemytrip representative promised us a sea facing beach cottage (have email proof), we finally ended up with a sub standard room.
Never believe these guys. Except the location of the resort, nothing goes in their favor.

Room Tip: This resort has only 2 sea facing beach cottage, so when they say they will allot you one, please pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Been to Goa and stayed 2 nights at Estrela with my family on 27 & 28 October'12. I booked through make my trip and had the idea of the property as found in the reviews....however, my first hand experience is very disappoiniting...highly congested, located on a narrow lane and most of the rooms and lodging facilities were built, developed at the owner's sweet will without any proper planning, I noticed a few foreigners who looked upset and were checking out as they might have got lured to book this unorganized space on recommendations by some visitors on the website. The recption itself is a chaos...you will have wait for almost hours to get things moving. You do not feel like staying in a decent hotel or resort. At Rs.4500/ per night for a luxury room you can afford to stay in a much better hotel or esort. A hindu cremation ground is nearby and you will have to walk atleast 1.5 kms to reach the market place of calangute beach. The bach in thr backyard of the resort is a myth as you hav to walk almost the same distance through a dirty and narrow private strip which finally leads you to a location on the beach far from either main calangute or bagga. To top these all food bills of others might get added to yours by mistake. Those who can spend 5000/- or more per night during season and travelling with family should stay away from this horrible space. Fahrenheit Hotel nearby may be a very good option. What I suggest is that those who visit Goa for the first time should stay at Panjim and arrange or hire taxis to vist these areas instead of staying there. Panjim is a nice place to enjoy your holiday having easy acces to beaches, rivers and other tourist attractions .......

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My two girlfriends and I booked this hotel for the final "luxury" part of what was otherwise an amazing trip to India. Upon arrival we waited hours for our room. When we were given our room it was NOTHING like the room in the pictures that we booked. It as AWFUL. One double bed and a fold out couch was supposed to be a twin room. I then politely informed reception that there must be a mistake and after 2 hours of being told "give us 5 minutes...please wait" we then were shown around. There was a bigger room we eventually moved to and went down to the beach for lunch. When we returned we discovered the room was infected with insects and the roof was leaking. It was the roo, opposite the restaurant. The smell...you can't forget that smell. It is poisonous and a health hazard. Again I confronted reception and we waited 4 hours until they moved us to another hotel....this was only AFTER we phoned our Indian friend who obviously gave them a serve over the phone. We were moved to another hotel and driven by management who stank of alcohol as the rooms were all supposedly booked out. We were picked up the next day 45 minutes later then the arranged time and taken back to the hotel where we were upgraded to a room more like the one we had intended on being given by virtue of our booking. Still nothing like the pictures. We told management that the mould room is a health hazard and they will make people very sick. Try said they would fix it. To our disgust..the next day there was a family In the room. Do not stay here under any circumstance or demand an upstairs room If u do. Ground rooms are feral and a health hazard.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently stayed @ estrela do mar on 6th feb - 11th feb....
Worst reception and they doesn't know how to talk with customers and cheat for just Rs.500/-.... and they don't pickup the call @ reception .... food are gud... and location is not that good , which actually looks in picture, but rooms are gud (only luxury) ...

Room Tip: dont book any cab from them , they are cheater.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently stayed in Estrella Do Mar with 3 of our friends - we booked a family room and gone through extremely volatile set of experience.

On arrival - on a Bathroom size reception - we were told that due to major A/C failure we have gone short of room and we'll have to shift to a better property.It was a decent property but 4-5 kms away from main North Goa.We were told that morning they'll pick us up back to their hotel , but the person switched off his mobile in the morning

Then we understood - Actually they keep on booking regardless the availability of rooms and keep on shifting people to other properties (3-4 Kms away) when it get over-booked to some cheaper apartment resorts.

Anyhow after arriving again on reception , found them checking in a group of 27 people and fighting for it for another 1 hour an - we were allotted a beach side cottage which was good for 2 person , we asked for 2 cottages for 4 of us they denied it.We spend a night somehow in a cottage.

On the 3rd day on making a shift request again - to make up all their misdeed , they allotted us the very front bigger beach cottage which was really good and was made for hotel's owner who is an ex-army man. He should be ashamed of such in-ethical practice going on in his resort and he's busy making money.

in 3 Night booking , we stayed in 3 different rooms(last room was a treat of course)
This is a good property , but it shows that owner is not interested in management - REASONS

- I've seen bigger back-office than reception (more staff involved in booking and accounts than welcoming the guest)

- one permanent car & one smart executive appointed to keep shifting guest to other cheaper resort , they think , once settled they'll not come back and that happens most of the time


Overall - We were happy with the facilities at the resort , but extremely disappointed about handling.

If you are not a service conscious & a bit tolerant traveler and do not mind to earn a check-in and fighting for it - this is a resort for you , because location & facilities are good.

Room Tip: Go for it if you are a rough person and can handle the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort

Address: Khobra Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estrela Do Mar Beach Hotel Calangute
Hotel Estrela Do Mar Beach
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Calangute
Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estrela Do Mar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.