We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tio carmino...avoid .ive seen better prison cells..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Resorte de Tio Carmino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Resorte de Tio Carmino to your Saves list
Resorte de Tio Carmino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gaura Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
kingdom of cov
1 review
“tio carmino...avoid .ive seen better prison cells..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we arrived at the tio carmino hotel on easter sunday 2013. after walking to the reception and booking in we started to notice that the hotel was a bit grubby to say the least. after the staff had allocated our rooms we were walked through the complex to what can only be described as a run down and tired set of buldings. this ,we thought, was just the exterior presentation of the complex and tried to put aside any judgement until we had entered our room. OMG what a terrible state it was..no windows..electrical sockets off the wall, the place was filthy to say the least . dirty linen, towels ,stains on the bedding . we were advised to keep our balcony door locked at all times..??? i quickly informed of our rep to move us asap.. which,after a tedious and frankly unhelpful rep (he actually said we were the only second set of people to complain about the hotel...unbelievable!!! ) moved us to the osbourne apartments , which were better and much more deserving of an indian 2 star grading . before you read any positive reviews and think we are ' putting the boot in ' we are not goa virgins and dont expect to be treated to 5star luxury from a 2 star indian hotel, but this was a disgrace. avoid this hotel . if you are unfortunate enough to have booked this hotel , insist on being moved . Ps the russians are spoiling goa.. ignorant..arrogant and try to not pay for any bill they run up with any taxi driver, restaurant..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    16
    11
    13
See reviews for
18
30
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We arrived on the 6th Jan 2013 for about 8 weeks, we found most of the staff were to busy watching TV hindi, we were told to bring back your tea cups in the morning dont leave them in your room we dont have enough for the hotel, the pillows would be better used as sand bags,
the complimentary breakfast more to be desired. We had to go out and buy bleach for the work tops, the sink the shower they were filthy the head cleaner Shiv not to be trusted, one of the reception staff the one with the long hair adout as helpful as a chocolate fire guard,to busy watching TV hindi, smoke detector in our room was on the wall not the celling plus no battery, when I asked at the rece[ption about this they said you dont need a battery. The pool was not cleaned for nearly six weeks the suction pump was not working, the bar and food area was not washed down once when we were there. I found this hotel to be one of the worst I have been in in Goa. The owners should have a good look at their staff.

Dmac

Room Tip: There are only 8 rooms overlooking the pool, they are the better ones, pillows are like sand bags, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here twice cannot complain at all basic but clean rooms cleaned each day clean beds and towels small place but nice would stay there again good location for getting around calangute candolim 5 mins away by bus I would certainly stay there again staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Third time Calungute, First time at the Carmino. The hotel itself is very well located, just a stones throw from Holiday Street. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is very reasonable.Inclusive breakfast was just tea and toast but other chargeable options available. Rooms are basic as you would expect, but the beds were comfortable and generally the room was kept clean to a reasonable standard by the room boys. However they are small and dark as they have few windows. I did'nt have Air Con but the ceiling fan had a high setting altho keeping you cool it was quite noisy. Unfortunately when I stayed there was a group of very loud Russian youths were slamming doors, shouting, spitting, and frolicking in the pool till 5am during our first week or so. Guess I was just unlucky. Not the hotels fault. I'd probably stay there again, after all it's just a base for sleeping. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Pool are the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel and rooms are quite basic but more than adequate for a stay in Goa. Great location, walking distance to the beach and all local amenities. The rooms are spacious and cleaned upon request. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We found this hotel a very poor two star which is a shame because all the staff were brilliant. The hotel seems to be split into two halves.
Rooms in the 1st half would be lucky to gain a 1 star. They are away from the pool area, very dark and dinjy, one window covered by a rag in place of a curtain at the back of the room overlooking overgrown, unkept scruffy neighbouring land. A haven for mozzies, as was the dark dinjy room which contained a ricketty dinjy cupboard. A wet room, with a water heater that heated 5 litres of water at a time and tripped the fuse if you tried to leave it on for continuance hot water. Two single beds pushed together, with hard lumpy mattresses and hard lumpy pillows. There was no kitchen area, only a fridge.

We were moved for the 2nd week after complaining, to a poolside room.
What a transformation. The whole area was brighter, the room overlooked the pool, and you could sit out on your patio and have food or drink without feeling cut off from the rest of your fellow hotel guests. Or read a book and still feel part of the crowd.

Sadly although the room was brighter it still only had a 5 litre water heater which tripped the fuse if left on. A single fridge which flooded the floor whenever there was a powercut. The wardrobe was the same as in the first 1 star part of the hotel. As was the beds and pillows. An extra pillow was ordered, but the problem apart from the pillows being small and flat was that they were also very hard and lumpy. So even two pillows were not comfy, you just could not flatten the boulder like lumps.

One day we had an infestation of caterpillar like larvae, covering the ceiling and dropping onto the beds. The staff were called and they sprayed the room with an insecticde and swept it out. A couple of days later we had flying insects covering the beds. A couple staying at a room opposite ours accross the pool called out "Insects" from their balcony having seen the staff with the aerosol insecticide. Onbviously they must have experienced the same.

Breakfast was included in our package and consisted of tea or coffee and rock hard toast with butter, jam or marmalade. Anything else whether, eggs, beans, sausages, porridge etc had to be paid for seperately. Drinks or food bought from outside could not be consumed around the bar area, but you could have them on your own balcony.
Often the music was too loud even though the bar and pool area were empty of people. Had to ask the barman twice to turn down the rubbish music during the day whilst trying to read a book on my balcony,.

Russians were not a problem to me, but the other English and Dutch guests told me that one particular night the Russians were drunk and fighting amongst themselves around the pool area and keeping everybody awake, and that they had all had to come out onto their balconies to tell them to keep the noise down. .

.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are brighter and you don't feel cut off from the rest of the guests. Don't j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham Bird
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was the fourth time I have stayed here. We had a room overlooking the pool which was a cleaned every day and plenty of linen and towel changes. Rooms are basic with their own water heaters and a wet room and kitchen area with fridge although there are no cooking facilities. Our room had recently been decorated and there seemed to be memory foam toppers on the mattresses, although maybe we were just lucky. The buildings and garden area are very pretty although the paintwork looks lke a DIY job, The pool was cleaned constantly and there is a masseur on site. Breakfast can be anything you like and what I saw looked very good although we settled for toast and coffee (take your own instant). Other meals are served at the hotel but to be honest they are fighting a loosing battle as there are so many brilliant restaurants to choose from. The staff here have remained the same and are reall friendly and helpful. (They will accepet £1 coin as tip if you arrive without rupees). Plenty of little shops and bars in the vacinity and just a few minutes from the beach road. As with everywhere, there are a lot of Russians and the main problem with this is the language barrier.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in pool view rooms which let you see whats going on although sometimes there can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resorte de Tio Carmino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorte de Tio Carmino

Address: Gaura Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resorte de Tio Carmino 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Resorte de Tio Carmino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorte De Tio Carmino Hotel Calangute
Resorte De Tio Carmino Calangute
Resorte De Tio Carmino Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resorte de Tio Carmino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.