We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One amazing trip to Goa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North 16 Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added North 16 Goa to your Saves list
North 16 Goa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 / 14 Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 100 Hotels in Calangute
Vadodara
1 review
“One amazing trip to Goa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was my b'day which I celebrated here at Swissotel Goa. It was very good experience all together we were 40 in total. We all had a gala time. The property is very nicely made, the room quality the interior, room service evrything was just perfect looking forward to spend more nights here @ Swissotel Goa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Goa, General Manager at North 16 Goa, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissotel Goa!

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are pleased to know that you and your friends had a good time with us. It was a pleasure to help you celebrate your birthday and are glad that you had a memorable time.

Our warmest greetings to you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon !

Thank you.

Warm regards,

Jean Pierre Schirach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    93
    34
    8
    14
See reviews for
77
74
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hi Guys,

I checked in this hotel on the 3rd July 2013. Let me begin from the first; Airports Transfer - On time. Great welcome in the hotel with an amazing refreshing drink. Got the room as per my request. I was here to celebrate my son's birthday with my family. Rooms were fantastic and everything in the hotel was brand new.... Staff was very courteous and friendly... Amazing food and cocktails. They did a special decoration for my son's birthday doing amazing towel art with a lot of balloons in our room. They have the best baby pool with showers'.

A special thanks to Sunny, Victor, Haliappa & Nelson who were at the restaurant , they were always with a Smile and so friendly. I must tell; a property build at its best with the BEST staff....
I am travel agents daughter and will surely promote this to my best clientele...


The Best in GOA ever..... Would like to thank all the staff associated to the hotel from the junior management to the senior most... Keep it up.

Room Tip: choose the pool view room... its the best with the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Goa, General Manager at North 16 Goa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Goa!

Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We are very happy to hear that you and family enjoyed our rooms and service. It was a pleasure to help you celebrate your son's birthday and we are very glad that you had a memorable time.

Our warmest greetings to you and your family and we look forward to welcome you again in the future!

Best Regards,

Jean Pierre Schirach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a little gem thats opened just off calangute main road approx 100m walk inside. Went there with my 4 month old daughter and a friend who had an infant....to our surprise the hotel seeing infants had placed child cots into our room!!! Very thoughtful and proactive management!! The swimming pool is great and one of the bigger and better pools in most Goa hotels and we sampled the Indian food at their pool bar was also great.

Definitely a hotel worth checking out if you wanna stay in North Goa!

Only one grouse - no wifi in rooms!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the ground floor easier access around the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Goa, General Manager at North 16 Goa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissotel Goa !

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you experienced great service and enjoyed the pool and other facilities. We are glad to be a part of your memorable holiday.

Our warmest greetings to you and your family and we look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you.

Warm regards,

Jean Pierre Schirach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've been working in Hyderabad, India for the last 2.5 months and needed a break away from work so chose to stay here with my fiance at the beginning of May 2013 for a weekend. The pool is nice, the staff are friendly. Food is good, however becomes okay if you're eating there every meal. The room was very modern and clean. It's a short walking distance (10mins) to Calangute beach with some good restaurants around.

Despite this experience, I did have my favorite shirt go missing from my room. Reading other reviews, this does not appear to be an isolated incident. The hotel did nothing other than apologize. The least they could have done was ordered me a new one and shipped it to me as the cost was not unreasonable, else a reimbursement. It's a shame that a hotel of this calibre is experiencing this issue. Would I recommend this place to my friends and family? Yes, with caution: Lock everything up. Absolutely everything and do not leave things laying around the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manjukomacham, General Manager at North 16 Goa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Swissotel Goa recently. We appreciate your constructive feedback shared with us.
We are pleased to know that the rooms and the location were to your liking.
We have taken cognizance of all your concerns and offer our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused to you. Safety of our guests and their property is of utmost importance to us and we have set up strong security systems to ensure that these are adhered. We take all reviews seriously, and will use this information to make sure we improve. We look forward to welcome you back here at Swissôtel Goa and give us an oppurtunity to improve your impression in the near future.

Thank you.
Yours sincerely
Jean Pierre Schirach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a nice and clean hotel, very friendly staff, ok food, good swimming pool, nice and comfy rooms.
The location isn´t the best, as it is situated in a narrow alley, but we walked around with no issue, we felt totally safe.
Hope all the white doesn’t turn “indian style” in little time.
I surely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Goa, Public Relations Manager at North 16 Goa, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Swissôtel Goa!

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We are very happy to hear you experienced great service and enjoyed our pool and all the facilities we offer. It is, of course, our great aim to keep this beautiful and new Swissôtel in the utmost state of luxurious comfort along with "Swiss” cleanliness and standards in the years to come.

Our warmest greetings to you and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the future.

Thank you.

Warm regards,

Jean Pierre Schirach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It is a new property were everything is shinny and brand new. Rooms are very comfortable and have all the facilities you need. The staff is very courteous and helpfull, most of them are from Goa and they gave us amazing tips on where to go.
The city itself is pleasant, you have a local shops street that brings you to the beach - about 10 minutes walk. Otherwise you find local taxis just up the road that will take you to the famous beaches of Goa. There is a hotel car, but the prices are almost double than a cab. So if you don't mind travelling with no A/C in a regular car, taxis are a good option.
We stayed there only for the weekend, but had a fantastic time.
Will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Goa, Public Relations Manager at North 16 Goa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Swissôtel Goa during your visit. We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your feedback.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and that we were instrumental in making your holiday memorable!

Our warm greetings to you and we would be delighted to welcome you again in the near future!

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely

Jean Pierre Schirach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at the Swissotel for 2 days to check out if it would suit for a longer vacation later. Our verdict: Not suitable at all.
The hotel is located down a narrow unpaved lane and can only be reached by crossing a malodorous rubbish dump. It has very limited parking inside and poor parking valet services.
Its standard rooms all appear to be different from each other (we saw 5) and - very strange - some less expensive rooms are better than "higher category" rooms. The larger rooms are of decent size. Room blinds cannot be opened if privacy is needed. The hotel corridors are long and very narrow - if someone is coming from the other side one has to squeeze past or stand sideways against the wall.
We asked for a change of room on checking in (at 5 pm) because the room assigned to us was cramped in comparison to some rooms we had seen earlier. We were told that the new room needed to be cleaned since the guest had just checked out and that the room would be ready in 45 minutes. We were eventually shown to the room at 10:30PM. Obviously the profuse apologies by the staff could not make up for this huge delay.
Then there is the billing. The internet rate at which we made the booking was lower than the rate given to us at the time of check-in. The hotel did rectify this by the time we checked out once we pointed this out. Clearly guests need to be alert for billing errors.
The coffee shop was small for the number of guests and so was overcrowded - no spare tables - at breakfast time from 9 AM onward.
What else? Room service and housekeeping were slow to respond during the day. The lobby was hot and humid despite a high ceiling as was the poolside bar.
The one nice thing in the hotel was the extra large (50 metre?) pool.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more private and quiet. Rooms in the 5000 and 4000 blocks are far from the entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Goa, Public Relations Manager at North 16 Goa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Swissôtel Goa. We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your feedback.

We deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you during check in and check out. Rest assured that our team will receive further training in policies and procedures which were clearly not adhered to during your stay.

We have also noted your very valid input on the design of our modern and contemporary hotel. All of our hotels are very diverse in design. We will bring your inputs to the consideration of our interior design team.

We always strive towards providing our guests the ultimate experience in genuine hospitality. We are sorry your expectations were not met on this day; we take all reviews seriously, and will use this information to make sure we improve.

We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to remedy your impression and we looking forward to welcome you back to Swissotel Goa in the near future.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely

Jean Pierre Schirach
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North 16 Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North 16 Goa

Address: 370 / 14 Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — North 16 Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in North Goa Postcode 16 - the heart of the energetic, youthful and vibrant scene of all that is Goa, North 16 | GOA is one of the first five-star resorts to open in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your North 16 Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North 16 Goa Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North 16 Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.