We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Palms Hotels and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Golden Palms Hotels and Spa to your Saves list
The Golden Palms Hotels and Spa
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Opp Saldhana Kiran Appartments | 2/250, B Naika Vaddo, Calangute, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 150 Calangute B&B and Inns
delhi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GOOD HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for 3 nights and 4 days. The hotel is nice, the rooms are big and clean, the washroom is also big. LCDs and ACs'in both the rooms.The buffet breakfast is also good and tasty but the restaurant is small.There were only 5 or 6 tables,I think they should increase the size of restaurant.The hotel staff is soft spoken and helpful.Swimming pool was clean,pool table is fine. Need to change the front side of the hotel as its like a "Jungle" outside.Also there should be sign boards for this hotel because it is not easy to find the hotel although it is on the main road.Overall I had a good experience and a comfortable stay in this hotel.It is one of the good and value for money hotel near calangute beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Margao, India
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Firstly i suggest management to put some sign-boards on main roads of calangute as it is very hard to find/locate this place for the first time. But at last when i found this place the experience was too good..! Located slightly away from the beach (approx 1.5 kms), this place is exquisitely designed and has a class of its own. It manages to shun out the hustle bustle of the extremely crowded Calangute area but is still within a very accessible distance from the beach. Set in proper Modern amenites with kitchnett in rooms, this place is home away from home.
I had the best holidays ever.. Everything was perfect, the breakfast, lunch, room service, cleanliness, pool & so on... Everything was perfect..! I would like to thank arun, who took a great care of us at check-in, stay & check out.. It's a great place, whenever i will be in goa next time there is no need for me to search for the hotels over the websites.
The look for the hotel is like white house & a king staying in a palace. Staff is courteous and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

As you walk through the doors for the first time, greeted by a smiling host, you know life doesn't get much better. We had a lovely room on the top floor for our stay.Good choice of food options and attentive service. Lovely little touches like the room cleaners making an elephant and a little man out of towels and leaving on your bed to bring a smile to your face on your return. Whatever others have said about rooms perhaps not having all the luxury of other hotels, it's the view and the taste of paradise that wins the day. Enjoy.ed.............!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apartments_13, General Manager at The Golden Palms Hotels and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Calangute, Goa!!!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor with us. It gives us immense pleasure to know that you and your family have liked our two bedroom apartments.

thank you appreciating our lovely little touches about the room cleaners making an elephant and a little man out of towels and leaving on your bed to bring a smile to your face on your return.

We are honoured to have you and your guests at The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, and assure you of a truly enjoyable stay and the best of our services at all times. We wish to see you soon with us.

Do visit us on Face book and be updated on activities, offers and events planned at “THE GOLDEN PALMS HOTEL & SPA”.

Thanking You, With Regards

Sanjeev. R. Patil
Assistant General Manager
Email: resv.cal@goldenpalmshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I along with my family and friends were supposed to travel to Goa for christmas... And made our bookings with GoGoa... We were promised that it was a beautiful property with lush paddy fields, beautiful rooms and a swimming pool too... We were in a state of shock when we reached there after having travelled for around 12 hours from Mumbai... The hotel seemed more like a flat system having been converted into a hotel with no greenery or any other resort kind of amenities around... It was terrible... Called up GoGoa immediately, questioning them on the fake promises they gave us and guess what... They went back on their words and said that there was nothing they could do about it.... Had to put up with the average rooms and below standard food for 4 days.... Every time I took rice there was bound to be a pebble in it... No choices in menu either... Just one veg and one non veg main course... And the so called swimming pool.... It was more like a water tank which must not have been cleaned for ages...

Stayed out of the hotel for most of the time .... Please avoid this hotel and make sure u don't make bookings through GoGoa ever....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apartments_13, General Manager at The Golden Palms Hotels and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Dandad,
Greetings from The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, Calangute, Goa!!!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor with us. It gives us sheer disappointed to know that the image thought by you of our hotel was different at your visit. Yes we are a appartment hotel which is expressed to all travel agents & our own website which states the same. The food menu is decided and prepared keeping in mind of all our guests from various destinations. If any item is an unlike, we do give a option in change.

We are honoured to have you and your guests at The Golden Palms Hotel & Spa, and assure you of a truly enjoyable stay and the best of our services at all times. We wish to see you soon with us.

Do visit us on Face book and be updated on activities, offers and events planned at “THE GOLDEN PALMS HOTEL & SPA”.

Thanking You, With Regards

Sanjeev. R. Patil
Assistant General Manager
Email: resv.cal@goldenpalmshotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

There is No relation between the name of the hotel and the services which you get there.

Starting with Day 1 we arrived at around 11 am and got the room by 11.30 am which was pretty good as the check in time was 12.

The only good thing about this hotel are the rooms.
They were well decorated, neat and clean. We took an suite which was located on the 1st floor.

The suite was with 2 bedrooms with 3 bathrooms, kitchen, a Big living Room with Dining and 2 Balconies.

It was strange that when they gave us the kitchen, there were no utensils.

So as i said earlier rooms are only the good part of the hotel nothing else.

Small pool which is always dirty with rude staff.

Breakfast has very little menu and the same stuff everyday. When you go for breakfast you are about to get into a tiny dining room with limited space and people get jammed while taking food.

There is No AC in that room neither in the Lounge.

The worst part is there is no WiFi in the rooms as they promise.

WiFi is only available in the lounge and they promised at the time of booking that WiFi is available in the rooms as well. We stayed there for 3 nights and we never got WiFi there.

The WiFi was down for past 1 week and they didn't bother to get it repaired.

They offer you free billiards. There is no Billiards table at all. It is a Normal French table with Pool Balls on it. And again there is no sign of air inside it with water drooling from the top.

I shall never again come back with the amount of money spent on this.

Room Tip: PLease do not book any rooms in this hotel. Its a CON.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a relatively new hotel shoe-horned onto a narrow plot on the edge of Calangute one side overlooks the car park - the other open paddy fields. There is a small pool tucked alongside. We never saw it used. We were in a suite on the 4th floor with two double bedrooms and generously proportioned living space. Room air conditioning worked fine during our stay.

The hotel was a longish walk from the centre of Calangute and the beach with busy streets so walking not recommended.

The best aspect of the hotel was our family suite which had acres of space. Bad things: breakfast in a tiny over sun-hot room with barely any choice (we only had breakfast once - once was enough), a narrow mean site with the barest of amenities, long way from the centre, shoddy workmanship in the rooms: for example loose sockets, intermittently hot water, the electronic key card which failed repeatedly, over zealous staff knocking on the door at all hours.

We didn't book the hotel ourselves - but through an agent Southall Travel who we thought were unreliable. We have no idea how much of the price for our six day stay went to the hotel and so cannot comment on value. We paid for two doubles so the offer of a suite when we arrived may have favoured the agents and hotel owner.

As it was our first time in Goa we have no comparison with other hotels quality-wise. We would rate this hotel as between two and thre stars. Based on what we paid the agent: four stars was what we expected.

Overall our stay could have been worse - some of the staff tried hard and were funny. But compared to other far-flung hotels we've stayed in recently - Golden Palms was to put it kindly - pretty basic!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Golden Palms Hotels and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Palms Hotels and Spa

Address: Opp Saldhana Kiran Appartments | 2/250, B Naika Vaddo, Calangute, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Golden Palms Hotels and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Palms, Hotel & Spa, Calangute, Goa is located in the most happening belt of North Goa, surrounded by lush green hills and just 1.5 km away from the famous Calangute beach, Our Specially designed apartment Hotel is perfect for families, bachelors, getogethers couples, Private kitchen cooking for college students, calm, relaxing yet fun and exciting hotel to reach all happening places around. A door step away from a night life, markets, beaches, malls and restaurants you desire to be in.Come, play at our all night pool table lounge, rejuvenate at the in-house Spa or Cool yourselves into our swimming pool while play basketball too. LOCATION: Dabolim Airport - 40 kilometers, Tivim Railway Station - 15 kilometers, Karmali Railway Station – 20 kilometers, town of Panjim - 12 kilometers, Calangute market - 500 meters, Calangute Beach – 1.5 kilometersHealth & FitnessGym: The fitness gym is open to guests with well equipped machinery promising a complete work out & games around you also to keep you energetic. Spa: The hotel has a fully equipped Spa with well trained staff to give you the strength & peace of mind you desire.Local Attractions: Local Sightseeing, North & South Goa - Fort Aguada, beaches, temples, Old Goa churches, dolphin trips, trip to islands, shopping, Anjuna flee market – Wednesdays (seasonal), Night Market – Saturdays & water sport activities (seasonal), Tour of Panjim, Dona Paula with a boat cruise on the river Mandovi, Local pubs and Night Club reservations, Casinos Entry.Facilities: Doctor on call, Free Wifi internet connectivity in all the rooms, All major credit cards are accepted, Taxi on Call., Foreign exchange, Baby sitting facilities (prior notice 24hrs), Air tickets.Security: CCTV security cameras, hand-held metal detectors deployed at all entry and exit points. 24-hour Security at hotel.ABOUT US: The Golden Palms, Hotel & Spa a group of Luxury hotels in India which leads you to luxury & partying. As known our brand is growing with many other resorts all over india. We originated as Pearls Oceanique Resort in December 2007 & rebranded as The Golden Palms, Hotel & Spa in August 2012. Our chain now has brands in Colva beach goa, Calangute beach goa, Bangalore, Himachal, Mussoorie, Chandigarh, Delhi to bring an experience of luxury living to all guests around the world. We would be honored to have you and your guests at The golden palms, Hotel & spa, and assure you of a truly enjoyable stay and the best of our services at all times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Golden Palms Hotels and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Palms Hotels And Spa Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Palms Hotels and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.