We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Were misled by other reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada Tauma

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pousada Tauma
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porba Vaddo | Calangute Bardez Goa, Calangute, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 99 hotels in Calangute
idf
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Were misled by other reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

On second trip to Goa after Leela Goa in December last decided to change and went for this small "boutique " hotel in north Goa . Had stayed in very very nice boutique hotel in Sri Lanka in November (Serene Pavilions in Wadduwa) and expected something similar .

It proved very disappointing and checked out after two nights . As shown on the pictures there is a very charming pool ... however bungalows are VERY basic with minimal comfort , basic bathroom basic shower (no toiletries) and te price is therefore completely ridiculous. Staff is pleasant but minimally trained , food on menu is good but basic.

Hotel is not by the beach . To go there you need to ask manager to drive you (te minutes) then you reach a poor very tired beach bungalow with tired lounges and minimal service for food and drinks.

People are pleasant and it would not be unpleasant if : a) we had not been so misled about the level of the hotel , b) the price was not disproportionate .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pousada, Owner at Pousada Tauma, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guests,
We thank you for reviewing our little Pousada.Taken back by your review since you expressed great level of satisfaction during your one night stay and not two nights as you claimed.At that time you were convinced that you should not be expecting the same level of amenities which are provided by City hotels,since it is the beach destination. As explained to you upon arrival we do have toiletries,but we do not place them in the bathrooms since most of our guests don't use then ,upon your request ,they were instantly provided..

Your review keeps mentioning that our reviews are misleading and it is not on the beach. We have no intention of misleading any of our guests,since we always say we are a 12 suite hotel on a two acre plot,known for our traditional Goan hospitality,with lots of privacy .No where do we say we are located on the beach.Every guests who sends us a reservation requests,which should also include you are informed that the Pousada beach front is about a kilometer away.

Request our guests to please read our other reviews to have a fair idea that we are not as bad as were are reviewed to be .Our service is in par with any good hotel.The complementary B'fast Lunch or Dinner which we serve is fresh and off the region.The beach front is the best we can do keeping in mind that Goa is evolving as a destination .The above review also seems unfair to us since the reservation was for two nights.The reviewer was very pleasant at the time of the sudden departure and we did not charge him retention knowing very well that the room would go vacant .

Looking after all our guests and the service we provide gives us endless satisfaction .Maybe the big age difference between them made them stand out and uncomfortable,since we did have a lot of couples of the reviewers age group during that valentine week staying with us. We might sound arrogant in our response,but that is due to the high professional level of commitment we have towards our guests .We are here to respect the "Holiday Time" of all our guests,those who have stayed and especially those who might choose to stay with us in the future .Lastly, we have no intentions of misleading anyone which is a definite "No! No!"ours is family run business of 14 years, built from scratch ,always around to look after our guest needs and even drive them to the beach front.We strongly believe in HAPPY GUESTS ,MISLEADING...NEVER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    16
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
97
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

A lovely, very quiet hotel with superior service. Calangute is a dynamic and noisy holiday village. You will find shelter in this hotel which is quiet, chilly, clean and you will be able to rest there. People who work there are friendly, can adjust to your needs, will make your wish, will help and make you feel really well serviced. Room are clean and spacey. Food is excellent. They will drive you to private beach whenever you wish. I spent there really relaxing holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai india
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had a fantastic stay @ Pousada Tauma. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. All fundamentals of the hotel are of very high standard. Full of bamboo fencing, minuscule streams and plants completely everywhere. The pool is fabulous; huge, rambling around corners with large rocks in piles around the edges.

Special mention of Viagoa.com which gave us a good deal on many goa hotels nd we selected Pousada as it wsnt as costly as we hd thought..Their agent Norah picked us frm airport nd we landed staright here after 2 hours new delhi bound flight. Transfers to and from the airport were comfortable

Rooms have essential amenities. For us the bathroom was really nice. First off all we had a great breakfast buffet with lots of fruit and slight varying menus. The coco bar presents Fresh Fruit Juices, Mock tails, Shakes, Rich Flavored Ice Creams and Coffee set in an exciting ambience of music and decoration.The staff are first class in their passion and keenness to please their customers. Pools are great and wonderfully maintained, and restaurants, bars are.

There is no disbelief, however, that the best stay of the year will be the days that I spent in Pousada Tauma.. In my opinion at least visit the place once with your family. Overall i would definitely return to this resort we received admirable customer service from all the team and it was a truly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pousada, Owner at Pousada Tauma, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guests..please ignore the above review ,this guests did not stay with us and have posted his review in the wrong location.
As a policy we never offer any discounts or special rates since we have one rate for all our guests
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I still can't come to the terms with the reality of the stay i was subjected to...magnificent...simply majestic...it takes a while to come to terms with the pricing of the suites available n i wud recommend the owner to look into dis aspect...but to everyone out there looking for a peaceful n romantic time wid ur wife or fiancee...dis is da perfect paradise...n tat too in da very heart of hectic goa...great service...amazin food...fantastic private beach front...very nice hospitality...it is jus a perfect spot...need not think twice...i chose the garden suite which according to me is da best one among all da suites.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Pousada Tauma is definitely the heaven on earth. I can not find the right words to describe the beauty of the garden. The owner Neville put his vision and hearth on this beautiful property and they deserve all the compliments. they are taking care of all their guests on individual basis and make sure that you receive an excellent service. the food is also spectacular. If you are looking for a unique, relaxing and tasteful experience in Goa, dont loose your time to look for something else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Food is awsme, genuine price with good ambience. i personally like the view and place near to the calangute beach.

specially the doggy, chill bear, nice food. 1 must go.

as it was our 1st trip in goa, i find bit of difficulty finding the place. but, reaching there it was a good experience.

i wish i will go ther next time also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in Pousada Tauma for 5 nights and we loved every second of it. It is gorgeous, peaceful and intimate. The food is delicious, it's beach private, and the service and approach very personal.
Why only 4 out of 5 stars, may you ask? Well, the only reason is that we think it is slightly overpriced. The whole experience certainly justifies a high rate, but since the rooms are quite basic (clean and tasteful though), we think the rates should be a bit lower.
But that is the only reason for the missing fifth star.
For the rest it is unique and wonderful.
I wrote five blogposts about it, with lots of pictures. In case you would want to check them out, here is the url of the first one:http://www.curlytraveller.com/2013/04/boutique-hotel-pousada-tauma-paradise.html

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pousada Tauma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Tauma

Address: Porba Vaddo | Calangute Bardez Goa, Calangute, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Calangute
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#1 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#1 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Tauma 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Tauma is the first 12 suite Boutique Hotel to open in Goa in the 1998.Built from scratch from1995 on a two acre plot,it is known for our traditional Goan hospitality,with plenty of privacy ,lots of open spaces and a lush tropical garden .1)Room rates are inclusive of B'fast ,lunch or dinner, excluding the Tax's.2)We never offer packages and we never discount " one rate for all our guests " Requests our guests not call or emails for discounts,special offers ,packages etc.3)Meals are served keeping in mind that most of our guests enjoy the local regional cuisine, prepared from fresh seasonal produce,meals which are included in the tariff Lunch or Dinner are served in the hotel restaurant Copper Bowl and not at the beach front restaurant.4)We are not located on the beach ,but we have our own beach front restaurant "Pousada by the Beach " 2 km away from the hotel which is open from 11.am.to 7.pm.There is a free shuttle service to the beach and back . Pousada by the Beach has deck area with sunbeds,umbrellas shower and changing rooms.5) Yoga and Ayurvedic treatments are available on request.We would request our guests to give us a prior notice if they do wish to have it.6)If non-resident guests wish to dine at Copper Bowl,request to call and reserve ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pousada Tauma Calangute
Pousada Tauma Hotel Calangute
Pousada Tauma Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada Tauma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pousada Tauma to your Saves list