We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, would go back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Monica Resorte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Monica Resorte to your Saves list
Santa Monica Resorte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poriat, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, would go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We got room 314 on the top floor overlooking the pool area. A couple in our early 40's and our 18 year old son.
Clean apartment, fan in living room with the single bed. Fan and air con in main bedroom with double bed. Clean towels and bed made each day by great cleaning boys. Shower was fine for us. Plenty of toilet roll and mini bar stocked daily.
TV with a couple of English channels.
Pool area nice, only around 20 sun beds but we always got one if we spent the day at the pool.
Lovely food. The breakfast basis is basic, toast, butter/jam/marmalade and tea/coffee but was fine. You can always pay for extra such as omelets, fruit juice etc which were nicely cooked & fresh. No problems with the food what so ever for us.
Safes in reception were good and were 40rs per day (use your own pad lock).
Staff are friendly, reception open constantly and security man at the gate.
Only just slightly higher prices for food and drink to what it was outside of hotel & lovely curries.
The dogs at the house next door did howl a couple of times a night, but after the 1st two nights they didn't disturb us.
Quite area, you don't hear the constant pipping of car horns which is a bonus! Easily accessible walking distance to beach and bars!
Would certainly stay at this hotel again :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    51
    31
    16
    19
See reviews for
37
74
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fuengirola, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

The Santa Monica is probably on a par with most 3 and 4 star Hotels along the Calangute area. If you want posh hotels DO YOUR HOMEWORK if you’re like me though and never expected anything on planet earth to be this bad then it’s a real eye opener!!! A hotel in a back lane is something i normally don’t do, especially arriving at night and with only the lights from the hotel advertising board to light the way through the dust and smell!!
Like most hotels it has plus and minus points, Staff a great laugh, Showers that just say pump enough water out to wet you! Breakfast available if you like toast and jam and a dodgy cup of Coffee, Otherwise pay for a cooked one. The Indian food on site is great and the beer is reasonably priced, for being a "Hotel". There’s also no internet access so be warned. The Dogs barking are a bit of a nuisance at night, but copious amounts of beer sorts that problem out!! The guests who were all great people to chat with over the new Year 2011/12 had more or less the same things to say about the hotel, nothing bad if you had been to Goa before, first timers shock horror!!!
Reality, i was in total shock for the first 36 hours of arriving in Goa, from being met in the airport from the local soldier in immigration, everyone and their granny wanted to see my passport and visa. Talk about Go Slow, which incidentally was a taste of things to come!!!
The SM is a great place to stay if you’re using it as a base, clean tidy, even a TV in the room… Even the local taxi drivers outside the hotel are decent and as proved with us they took us to some great places, cheaply! Candolim is 10 mins down the road which also has great restaurants and bars, nothings too far away from SM.
Not sure I’d stay at the SM again, but looking back on my first holiday to Goa I’d definitely go back to India, reason being I’d probably visit south Goa next time…

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed in the Santa Monica for the 2nd year running and found it a nice clean hotel, the room service was very good the beds and towels changed every day.All the staff are friendly and cannot do enought to help you. The food is very good and is always very hot. The resturant staff are very helpful. They rembered us from the year before. We stayed in room 309 which is at the top with a pool view and a large balcony. We had a double bed room and another room where you could relax and unwind. The pool area is always kept nice and clean. Would stop here again, the only draw back is the dogs barking at night but if we had a drink or two we never heard them. The dogs do not belong to the hotel and they never come into the hotel. Overall the holiday was excellent value for money and close to all amenities.

Room Tip: If you first get put in a back room all you have to do is ask and as soon as another room is availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute-Goa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Was in Goa for the first time, quiet and confortable resort to stay was on my mind, lo when we arrived at the Santa Monica,early hrs thought we had come to the wrong place for a moment, was shown a room, neat,clean and comfortable, the tiolet requires a scrubbing though. The Restaurant boys are a great stuff!!!, more beer with chilled glasses, hot food with very hot(for the food to keep hot throughout)plates.night security very helpful, overall it was just amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the middle floor are a much quieter!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I visited hotel from 3rd November 2011 to 5th November 2011.Nice hotel, clean room, safe for family, food was very tasty. People in hotel are very good. they take care of customers. Swimming pool was very nice. Rooms are very big.

Room Tip: Ask for pool-view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

If you have not read my 1st review "WOW" Jan 2011 please read.Well back we went December 2011 and guess what loved it even more - all staff remembered us straight away was greeted with a warm welcome and big smiles. Was given room 113 - basic but very clean and comfortable. As I said in my 1st review if your POSH it's not for you - like someone has said in a review about SM "you get what you pay for" which is right. So if your paying "PEANUTS" (which you do for this holiday) WHAT DO YOU WANT !!! have they tried holidaying in GB at a "Holiday Camp? - you could'nt even get a mid-week break there for the cost of a 14 night stay in SM. Sorry if i sound annoyed but the 2 weeks we where there we did not hear anyone complain in fact I aware of 3 couples and one family being transfered to the SM because their hotels were terrible and they had heard good reports about the SM. Yes dogs Bark and cows Moo - BUT ! hey have a kip by the pool through the day ! Bye for now ( on my way to Thomas Cook to book again) Will let you all know how next holiday goes.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Just got home from 2 weeks in goa. My wife and I stayed at the the santa monica and were constantly kept awake by howling dogs every night! On a morning there is building work going on next door so not much chance of catching up on lost sleep. Although this is not the fault of the hotel it is a massive problem and needs addressing as it will definately put off guests from using this hotel.The A/C units in the rooms sound like an old transit van ticking over !Having been constantly tortured by the dogs we decided to move to candolim, ahhh bliss, it was like being on a different holiday. I will say the santa monica staff were kind and curtious but the hotel cleanliness is questionable.

Room Tip: Take a catapult for the dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Monica Resorte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Monica Resorte

Address: Poriat, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Monica Resorte 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santa Monica Resorte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Resorte Calangute
Santa Monica Resorte Hotel Calangute
Santa Monica Resorte Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Monica Resorte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.