We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osborne Resort Goa

Save Saved
You added Osborne Resort Goa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osborne Resort Goa
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Near St. Anthony's Chapel Gauravaddo | Opp Kamat Holiday Home, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 99 hotels in Calangute
Batley West Yorkshire
2 reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Love it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

this is our second visit to india and the osbornes. We stayed in the middle complex and had a large joined room which accomodated my husband and I, our children aged 11 and 4months and my husbands parents.

When we arrived there was some confusion as the travel agent had not organised a cot and the hotel did not possess one. the next day, however, the hotel went out and purchased a cot especially. How good is that?

The food is amazing and they bent over backwards for us providing boiling water numerous times a day (free of charge) to clean and fill the baby's bottles. They were also amazingly attentive to my neice and her husband who were in calangute at the same time but staying in a different hotel - even letting them use the facilities and run a bar tab! We stayed for a couple of the entertainment evenings and had a great time - there was an incident when there was a small fire in one of the rooms (as a resident had left a kettle on) and a waiter went up, extinguished it and rushed out onto the balcony to take the cheers and applause.

The bar staff and room boys become like a family and we will be going back in a year or two.

However, if you are travelling to calangute it is essential to remember that this is still a third world country and there are beggars, litter and animals roaming the streets. If you don't fancy seeing real life then go somewhere else. If you do then I would also advise you to take pencils and writing books to el shaddai (child welfare centres and orphanages) you can also take childrens clothes free of charge on most airlines (go to http://www.childrescue.net/ for more info) and visit the centres.

Best /cheapest taxi can be found at the moonshine restaurant round the corner from reception (ask for vicky) and ask your taxi driver for days out instead of using the tour companies as they add high fees

Enjoy your holiday

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    127
    76
    35
    32
See reviews for
52
150
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Try to avoid it especially during peak season. We booked a "superior" apartment (2 rooms) with AC for 3 people and should have got an extra bed in the second room. Instead we got just a bad mattress and AC was only in one room while the other had a ceiling fan. The rooms were dirty with dead insects and spider webs in the windows and spinning dust balls at the corners (caused by the fan). After requesting the room to be cleaned we just got a floor sweep and I'm not sure the floor wasn't actually dirtier after that. The dust on the balcony chairs looked like it hadn't been cleaned for years.
As the staff didn't seem to care much about customers and after loosing hope of getting an extra bed or the room cleaned, I moved out the next day

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Thou it seems to sound good or look good, looks are always deceiving.
We checked in at the hotel to find the AC not working. after reporting the same, we get an answer " Thats how the AC works and its the best in the hotel" what crap.... like i have never seen an AC before. knowing the local language did help me surprise him while he was conversing with the manager. They then agreeg to give another room. we did face the same problem where the AC ran out of gas and it was blowing hot air all night (imagine our plight for the kind of weather in Goa and hot air added to that). we had the room changed for the 3rd time.... and this time the AC did work but the door of the room would not close... I wonder what did i even think of before booking this place. The staff seems to be friendly only if they see a non indian. Me being from Goa, let me tell you, they are giving a very wrong picture of Goans. Generally Goans are very nice people when it come to hospitality, but this was an exception cause they were working for money. To all the tourist, both Indian & non Indian, please avoid this fake hospitality resort. dont want you to spoil your vacation with these mishaps.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sittingbournekent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Ialways have a good holiday when I come to Goa and stay at the Osbourne

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

The beauty of Osborne is that it is located in Calangute which happens to be the most happenning place in Goa.
As far as Osborne goes it's a great place with great rooms and good swimming pools.
The resteraunt is also good with very tasty food.
Just outside Osborne is a place called "The Place" where u can drink, play pool and dine.
All in all a great experience

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Just returned from this hotel and wanted to warn others about the airconditioning rip off. We had booked our room with aircon but the couple in front of us hadn't and on checking in were told that as they had no aircon booked they would have to pay £130 there and then for the two weeks that they were booked in for. £130 is a fortune in Goa and they decided to check out and managed to get a room elsewhere with aircon for the same amount. Please be aware of this rip off before you get stung!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010 via mobile

Just got back from Osborne hotel in calangute stayed for 3 weeks, hotel basic but very comfortable not much to fault, Great little resturant just outside hotel called zico's good cheap food taxis also available, ask for Sam he's so funny and full of info. Just a 10/15 min walk to beach down holiday street where I saw a snake charmer on last day, aggie's is a nice shack on the beach with toilets and if u walk along from there to candolim the beach get's quieter, calamari is another nice shack it's past the tanker and it's built on a platform. Day trippers is good for trips it's cheaper than TC u can only pay in rupees, defo do khola such a gorgeous beach u stay in your own tent and to dolphin spotting in the morning I did the trip twice, (people get married on the beach). Also did Mumbai for the day and floating boat but ended up booking with TC when the sat night market is in season u must go for bargains and souvenirs and good night out. Not worth takeing stomach tablets from the uk because they don't work over there u can buy it all over here for 10 p chemist buy hotel and everywhere . Fishmarket worth a visit it's only small, on corner of main beach road and calangute/ candolim road. As a single traveller I didn't feel hassled, untill my last week just gets annoying that's all. Nice resturants are zico's, after 7 which is a little more pricy and special, over the flames, Tibetan kitchen just after the Capricorn on main beach road u have to walk down this side way and tulips. Overall I had amazing 3 weeks weather very hot and sticky ( march is like that) felt very safe being on my own, defo recommend the hotel wasn't hassled by hotel at all,.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Osborne Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Resort Goa

Address: Near St. Anthony's Chapel Gauravaddo | Opp Kamat Holiday Home, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 99 hotels in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Osborne Resort Goa 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, MakeMyTrip, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Osborne Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Calangute
Osborne Hotel Goa
Osborne Resort Goa Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osborne Resort Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.