We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Osborne Resort Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Osborne Resort Goa to your Saves list
Osborne Resort Goa
Near St. Anthony's Chapel Gauravaddo | Opp Kamat Holiday Home, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The positives were many- large rooms, good food (try the pork roast with baked potatoes), small but decent breakfast, friendly staff, easy to hire activa, decent swimming pool. We went with friends and we had a great time. The finer details which even a budget hotel should be looking at were missing- like the loo was not very clean the 1st time, and there was no water the next morning (which delayed our sight seeing trip) and the bathroom fittings were kinda broken. In my friends room his fire alarm kept beeping! The only reason I have not given this decent budget hotel a five star rating... but my wife reminded me that it is budget hotel and you should not be expecting too much. (which is why I have not further downgraded this hotel). Beach is about 15 mins walk. Take cabs and rent bigger bikes from a place down the road on the way to the main road. I thought the cabs were better priced here rather than at the hotel. Don't miss Curlies if you are in Goa! And have atleast one long bike ride with a bullet or avenger. Cheers!

Room Tip: The non ac rooms smelt better so take it if you are not an ac freak. They are 300INR cheaper too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    133
    84
    38
    36
See reviews for
55
157
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
limavady
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have just booked my holiday for goa for next year in February and have booked the Osborne for the 3rd time. Yes the hotel is basic but the staff more than make up for it. When I arrived this year I was given a room that was fine in phase 3 however I wanted a room in phase one so I went down to reception to ask and the receptionist snapped NO before I'd even finished my sentence, however I then went to khan in phase one and said to him and he disappeared for 10mins and came back and pointed to a room and told me I'd be moved at 10am the next day just like that. My advice is to tell the bar managers your problems and they'll do their best to sort in out. The staff even went out to get me a phone topup cos I was busy getting ready for a night out. Overall the rooms are basic but as long as there's a shower and a bed im happy after all you don't go to goa to spend most of your time in your room. In the evening we usually got a taxi to baga as I like the atmosphere more, one of my favourite places is electric cats the foods amazing and the service even better. Afterwards we would go for a few drinks on the beach in a shack called oceanic I've been going there the past 4 years and wouldn't even consider moving shacks. Just remember people your in India not Spain

Room Tip: Make sure you book air conditioning its not included and must be booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

One of the best budget hotels I've stayed in! Already been there twice with my boyfriend and we decided to stay every year!

Great location for shopping and going out. Close to the Calangute beach- 5 mins on bike! You can lend a bike from one of the guys working there for only ££ for a week!

The suite we had was fantastic! Good size, clean with mini bar, TV and balcony with swimming pool view! Reception staff- fantastic always ready to help with basically anything you ask them! Breakfast good, be careful with ordering scrambled eggs, unless you like it really dry.

Really enjoyed will be back, already make booking for Jan'13:)

I'm Recommending it to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Its basic and cleanish although first room they put us in smelled of damp and when asked to be moved was told only other room avaialble was one with air con that we would have to pay extra for, no tv not that I was bothered about having a tv but that would have been extra too.
So ended up in the 3rd block ground floor with a balcony overlooking the pool after paying extra with it having air con, mistake was made as at 7 in morning we were woken up by sunbeds being DRAGGED into position outside and the staff standing outside our balcony chatting away, this happened every day even after mentioning it to the manager.
Beds are solid and even though I did change my mattress with them three times it was like sleeping on the floor and the pillow was no better, if you like a very very thin firm matress and pillow then this is the place for you.
On arrival we booked for the Xmas Eve dinner and were allocated a numbered table or so we thought, as when that night came there was no where for us to sit and we were not the only ones this was happening to, a trestle table and two stools were produced next to the buffet area where everyone would have had to queue to get their food, we said no not acceptable and left the complex, irate and annoyed, there was no real organisation and a lot of heated waiters/staff and holidaymakers, it was a fiasco.
THE next morning the manager asked did we enjoy their xmas eve dinner and were we booked in for NYE, this was the same manager who had told us there was no where for us the previous night, when explaining this to him he said we must be mistaken and he hadnt spoken to us.
There were not enough sunbeds for the complex and the ones along the pool outside the rooms left very little area to walk past along with the sunbeds being almost as uncomfortable as the beds so we went to the beach every day.
The buffets and entertainment were ok, although only used the tickets as they were part of the package we had paid for otherwise wouldnt have bothered.
We spent three weeks here and I couldnt wait to leave, uncomfy bed and pillow, dark airless bathroom, noisy staff in a morning and non interested manager/s.
Whether it was due to it being xmas/nye, i dont know but a lot of holiday makers here had some complaint or another, many said they wouldnt be going back and there were others who said they would return and have been doing for some time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Lucknow
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

If you a re looking for a nice clean place to stay with most of the happening places within easy reach, then this Budget Hotel will be your answer. Located at a short distance from the Calangute and Baga Beaches, it looks after all your needs. The Breakfast Buffet is a bit miserly though in the number of items served, but then considering the price of the accommodation, one can't really crib about it. There are Scooters and cars to hire just outside and the staff will accommodate an early check in and a late check out most of the times. There is good air conditioning, Colour TV, Refrigerator with a mini Bar, attached Toilet and a small Kitchenette in each room. The 3 Swimming Pools are also well maintained. Overall, a nice and comfortable place to stay within a small Budget.

Room Tip: Ask for the Phase 3 or Phase 2 Accommodation and if possible a ground floor room facing the pool or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was our 5th time to Goa, but first at the Osborne. We had 2 friends who came with us, their 1st time to Goa.
Our stay was from the 23rd Feb to the 9th March.

We arrived to the Osborne about 12.30am after a very good flight by Thomas Cook.
Check in was quick, and the room boys promptly took our cases to our allocated rooms in phase 3 DD block.
When we entered the rooms, our 1st impressions were OMG, we can’t stay here, It reminded us of prisoner cell block H. We had previously explained to our friends before our arrival to Goa, that most hotels were basic but clean, so we knew what to expect, but this was really basic, stained towels left on the bed, shower heads were rusty, etc etc. We just sat down in our little living room and laughed and laughed just to see the look on our friends faces, (they normally go 4-5 star). We already decided we needed to change rooms, We promptly went back down to reception and told Laurence (the lovely reception guy) that we weren’t happy with our rooms and wanted to change, He said this wasn’t possible so late at night, but we could look at other options in the morning.
This was fine with us, we had to laugh, because our friends slept that night with their clothes still on because they wouldn’t get into the bed, so they slept on the top.

In the morning, we went back down to reception, and Laurence showed us a couple of rooms which we still weren’t happy with, so decided to upgrade to a deluxe room for us (which was located in phase 3 block A), which only really consisted of A/C as an extra, but the whole layout was a lot better, bigger bathroom, view looking over the little school. So we were quite happy with this room.
Our friends upgraded to a superior deluxe (which was located in phase 2 H block). Their room was large and bright with 2 balconies, nice living area, big wet room bathroom, so they were quite happy now.
We paid an extra £40 for the fortnight for the upgrade (which basically paid for the aircon), and our friends paid an extra £70 (which basically paid for their A/C and T.V). So now the holiday begins, we were now settled into our rooms.
Breakfast was served in phase 2 near the pool. Basic tea and toast which was ok, we always either had omelette or bacon which was extra, we didn’t mind paying for. Their omelettes were lovely. The hotel must have been quite full, as it was always busy at breakfast time.
We didn’t really use the pools, as we like the beach, but we always had a dip in the pool after a hard days sunbathing on the beach, and found the pools very refreshing. Phase 2 pool was colder than phase 3 pool.
Bar staff at the hotel were great. Always had friendly smiles, and couldn’t do enough for you.
John the manager of phase 2 bar staff, restaurant area, was lovely, and always took the time to talk to you.
Reception staff were always friendly and helpful too.
All the guests which were staying in the Osborne, (which were all basically British), were all friendly, and always had time for a yap , everyone liked to exchange their experiences and knowledge of Goa.
Never really used the hotel restaurant in the evenings, as we wanted to show our friends the lovely restaurants around north Goa which we have used over the years. We were given 2 vouchers each a week for the free buffet, but never used them until the last night of our holiday, and must say that we should have taken advantage of this, because the buffet food was actually really nice. It consisted of rice, poppadums, veg curry, chicken, naan bread, dhal, goulash (if you didn’t like Indian food). It was very enjoyable.
We have our usual taxi driver from baga that we use for our trips, and have used him over the years, but a couple of times we did use the taxi drivers which all located just outside of the gates of the hotel. They were all lovely and friendly and wouldn’t hesitate to use them again.

The rooms were cleaned every day, and towels and sheets changed daily also. The only thing we didn’t like about the room was the metal wardrobe, which reminded us of an old filing cabinet. Didn’t really like to hang any of our clothes in there, but did, and just left the doors open so our clothes didn’t smell fusty like the wardrobe. Also, if you had long dresses to hang, you couldn’t hang them in the wardrobe as the space was limited to short things, so ended up hanging all dresses on the picture rail in the kitchen area. It looked like widow twankies.

All in all, we would recommend the Osborne, and would return if the price was right, Think the dodgy room at the start of the holiday is the norm in Goa, by the sound of other people’s experiences, so just change if you are not happy. Had a fab time in Goa as usual and can’t wait to return. Overall the Osborne was great, just for the staff alone.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Osborne 31/3/12 to 14/4/12.We had originally been going to the Senhor Angelo but had changed last minute due to bad reviews and we were so glad we did.We arrived mid morning after a very uncomfortable flight with Monarch they have reaiiy gone downhill ,we were squashed ,the food was awful and the toilets stank.However as soon as we got to the hotel we knew we were going to have a great time.
The reception staff were friendly and competant, we were given rooms B2 and B3which were ground floor in phase 2.The rooms were large very clean and lovely and cool as we'd elected to pay the £72 for air con which at this time of year was essential. At first I was a bit disappointed that what we thought was our balcony/terrace door did infact lead out on to a little street with motor bikes parked, but this was never a problem as we could walk out of our front door and we were in the pool bar with many tables, chairs and a waiter on hand to provide for your every need.
All the staff at the Osborne were brilliant our room boys ,the tall one with the book and the small one with the keys, kept our room clean every day with fresh towels and bed linen.Francis the restaurant manager was pleasant and helpful at all times and the bar staff especially Sandy ,Martin and Hilary were just lovely, they seemed to know what we needed before we did and nothing was too much trouble.I drove them mad with my requests for proper tea bags and seperate water(I like my tea really weak) .We had a great laugh with them .
The food at the hotel was also good, we got 2 free buffets per person per week and the quality and choice of food was fantastic, we also had a special Easter buffet on Easter Sunday which also had starters and puddings all for 300rupees(about 4pounds) and all the ladies got a hand made easter egg with sweets in the middle it was a really nice touch(I managed to bring mine home still in one piece it now has pride of place in my cabinet)
One of the best things about the Osborne is its location. It is far enough away from the busy main Calangute road to feel like a peaceful oasis,but near enough to get to many amazing restaurants ,shops and beaches.We befriended Kishor a taxi driver and he took us all over ,came back for us and then took us out later and the most we paid was ten pounds and thats for four.
We went to Ashwen ,Baga,Candolim and Calangute beaches , Baga as our favourite it was cleaner and had nicer shacks like Wetherspoons where we were very well looked after. We also did the spice plantation where our friends bathed and rode an elephant(we had done this last visit),we went to Mapusa market and to Panjim (which we werent too impressed with, ther wasnt a lot to see) My favourite trip was to Khola beach where we stayed overnight in a beautiful tent on the beach.Our friends went to Hampi which dspite the lengthy train journey they said was amazing.We also went dolphin spotting and saw quite a few.
The restaurants around the Osborne were all great places like I95 ,Chef Soueymans,Lazy Days, theSouza Lobo , Babutes (which was just next door) We had some unbelievable meals well worthy of Mitchelin stars, and the prices were unbelievable too.
we had such a good time and couldnt fault the hotel at all,Goa is a wonderful place with wonderful people and we cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Osborne Resort Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osborne Resort Goa

Address: Near St. Anthony's Chapel Gauravaddo | Opp Kamat Holiday Home, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Osborne Resort Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osborne Hotel Calangute
Osborne Hotel Goa
Osborne Resort Goa Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osborne Resort Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.