We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been back here about 10 times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Horizon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Horizon to your Saves list
Horizon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
LONDON
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Been back here about 10 times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have stayed at many hotels in Goa and always end up back at this one. Every few years I think I will try somewhere else and always end up back here. I stayed at Osborne Resort last year, it was great but still back at Horizon this year. The staff are great the rooms are clean and your always remembered. The breakfast is basic but do you really want more. They will cook you what you want if you ask them. Look beyond the driveway from the main road it is a dirt track but its safe the hotel is away from the road and away from all the noise. If you are looking for a clean hotel, nice staff, clean pool area and good drinks coupled with a good location then choose Horizon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    44
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
71
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

4th trip to Goa so no surprises. First impression of this hotel awful - filthy room, broken furniture and fittings. Very unpleasant.
Moved room next morning and big improvement; complimentary voucher for each of us was welcome and we decided not to change hotels but to give the Horizon another chance.

Unfortunately about a week later we had a swarm of ants in our room ... and I mean a swarm! Covered everything, inside our suitcases, all over our clothes. It was disgusting. Don't know how - we were on the top (4th) floor! To be fair, someone was there within 10 minutes to get rid of them (although it took 2 visits and major insect repellant spraying!).

Rooms are extremely basic, old furniture and fittings. Bed coverings and towels are often stained, but they are clean and changed every other day. There is a wardrobe but no drawers to put clothes in so you have no option but to live out of a suitcase.

Tea/coffee making facilities. Ask at reception for hairdryer, but you'll be lucky to get one if they are busy.

No entertainment to speak of. Nothing at all during day, but this is a small hotel so fair enough and it is very pleasant and quiet, great to chill out. Once a week or so, they have a special evening with entertainment and meal (5 courses + glass of wine for 550 rupees - about £7.50). The food is excellent, too much to eat and the entertainment is a bit iffy, but it's a bargain and well worth it.

The hotel is in the centre of Calungute but off the main road and so fairly quiet. There is a swimming pool, lounge, bar and a pool table (supposed to be a small charge but we never had to pay). Nothing for kids. Our first week, there were no children at all, our 18-year old was the youngest in the hotel and it was lovely and quiet. The 2nd week a few English kids arrived and unfortunately the pool table was quickly out of action (pool cues broken, black ball 'lost', etc). Sadly they ruined it for everyone.

In the lounge, there is a large bookcase full of books. Wish we hadn't taken any with us, because there we plenty of good books to read. Everyone borrowed and then replaced afterwards - worked really well.

Towels are provided round the pool and there were plenty of sun loungers. Never a problem to sit around the pool and we never saw anyone reserving sunbeds with towels!

Staff very helpful and they do go out of their way to help. You only have to ask your houseboy (cleaner) for something and it is done. They are very keen to make sure you are happy. All the staff wish you 'good morning' or 'good evening', it was very pleasant.

There is no getting away from the fact that this is a budget hotel, so don't be disappointed that it's not luxury. We have stayed at better 3 star hotels, but we have also stayed at places where the staff are rude or just don't care! We spoke to people who have stayed at the Horizon numerous times and they love it. I don't think we would return, but to be fair this was by far the cheapest 3* hotel in Goa when we booked it.

You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view. Insect spray your room often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

when you arrive at the destination it is a jaw dropper but once you walk down the dirt track its pleasntly suprising the hotel is clean and reall quiet. That good ave booked for the same time next year, if you book wit thomas cook look out for your rep laura savage rid is amazing really helpfull cant wait to go back. Also go to aggies shack its the best on the beach good value for money xx

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Came back yesterday from the Horizon.
Brilliant hotel, just off the main street of Calangute.
As people have said before the hotel is down a "dirt track" so to speak, this sounds off putting but it is a blessing as it makes the hotel quiet. The track is basically a short road with a jewerlers,a key maker, house and villas with one or 2 chickens kicking about. Dont let this put you off as it very safe and the track is lit at night.
There is one or two dogs also and they sometimes howl & bark a little but you cant help that. They are stray but wont do you any harm.
Our room was 104 on the second floor, this was more like an apartment than a hotel room, it consisted of a lounge with two small single beds, table & chairs & TV. This then lead to the kitchen which had a large fully stocked fridge, sink & kettle.
Next the bathroom, basic but clean with walk in shower, then a seperate toilet. After this was the double bedroom, with Air conditioning which was fantastic!! Even had to turn it off some nights as it was too cold!! The beds were slightly on the hard side as the matresses wern't on the thick side, but we always had a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was good, toast, jam, marmalade, fruit juices, tea & coffee, then eggs, scrambled, fried, poached or boiled and on the odd occassion we even had baked beans!! The reception staff are friendly, always saying hello and making sure you are ok.
They sometimes have live entertainment, usually a live singer, music and dancers etc.
We had an evening meal in the hotel on the last evening of our stay which was very nice, and as always so cheap, 1large kingfisher beer, 2 7ups, 2 currys, 2 rice & a naan for around £9ish!! Also the hotels spa is great, my boyfriend had a shave for about £2.00 and I had a 30 min back massage for around £5!! Henna tattos are also available here, ranging from £3-10 depending on the size and design. Well worth a visit!
The pool isnt the biggest but does the job when its 37oc and you need to cool off. One small kids pool too. Around 12 sunbeds around the pool, but you could always find one if you needed one, as many people went to the beaches.
Taxis are outside the hotel, also security guard and the hotel is gated so you do feel safe.
All in all a brilliant stay at the Horizon and of course we will be back! Once you have found the one, you will always return!! Thankyou Horixon
Hannah & Dan - Barnsley UK

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We have just come back from two wonderful weeks at the Horizon Hotel in Calangute. It has been 5 years since we stayed at this hotel and it is better than ever. The staff are friendly and efficient. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels. Breakfast is better than most with toast, eggs, cereals all included in the B&B price. Ensure you ask for a pool view as some rooms on the back have a less desirable view of the car park. All rooms have a TV that picks up BBC World News/CNN as well as ESPN India for live premier league football and cricket. The evening meal we had in the hotel was better than we expected and very reasonable. If you need essentials such as repellant, cheap vodka and Fosters lager then supermarket Menzes on the high street is very cheap. Our two favourite resturants were Electric Cats and Capricorn both with extensive menus and really great food. We used Dommat beach shack on Calangute beach every day. They have been going 25 years this year and are the best in the business. Nearly all of us on the loungers were repeat clients. Clara, Hilda, Meena and Happy are the most welcoming staff and their food is on a par or better than most resturants. We booked with Thomas Cook flying from Manchester. Our rep was Laura was also fab. We shall definately be back same time next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I was really anxious about how this hotel would be after reading the mixed reviews on this site, I was pleasantly surprised, yes the hotel is up a dirt track, but this is what makes the hotel unique, as it means the hotel is away from the mayhem that is Calangute! The room we were given was spacious and spotlessly clean, the bed is a little hard, but we slept like logs so didnt effect us too much.

It was our first time in Goa, we found Calangute beach and baga beach too busy, but loved the beaches of Mandrem and Ashrem further north. Goa was an amazing place to visit and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

I would recommend the jungle book trip, it was totally fab, worth every penny! Also visit South Goa as it is how Goa used to be before the tourists took over.

To be honest I could go on and on about how fab Goa is and the amazing service we received at the Horizon Hotel, but there isnt enough space.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

good value for money, basic but clean. Food and drinks round the pool are very reasonable, £3 for a beer and a curry, pot of tea for two 60p. Pepsi from the in-room fridge 30p, Water is 30p a litre. (however 5 litres from local shop is only 55p!).
Staff are all friendly and helpful and you can usually keep your room till 5pm free of charge.
The 'short cut' from the hotel to the Baga road is still there, though most people dont find it. It isnt much shorter but you have a nice quiet shady walk rather than battling the traffic on the main road. It brings you out near the Infanteria bakery, handy for lunchtime snacks.
They provide pool towels, rooms have aircon and a fan, a good size fridge and a small TV with various english channels but there is no Wifi.
A great place to stay if you want to be near the main bars and restaurants, but its in a quiet little backwater down a dirt road off the main street.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon

Address: Porba Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#10 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the exciting strip of Calangute, Horizon is perfect for holidaymakers of all ages who look for high standards of service right in the heart of the resort centre. This attractive complex is set in an excellent location, within easy reach of local amenities and the beach. The air-conditioned rooms have twin/double beds, wardrobes, TV sets and fridges, with en-suite bathrooms and balconies. Besides visiting its in-house multi-cuisine restaurant, guests also have the option of visiting the nearby shacks on the beach for further food and leisure options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Calangute
Horizon Hotel Goa
Horizon Calangute
Horizon Beach Resort Goa
Horizon Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.