We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disapointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dona Terezinha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Dona Terezinha to your Saves list
Hotel Dona Terezinha
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gaura Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
sheffield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very disapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Having heard a lot about Goa I was really looking forward to this holiday,but I will definetly not be returning.
The airport on arriving passports checked 6 times then suitcases coming on 2 carousels of course 1 on each!.Then fighting off people wanting to push your trolley even though I kept telling them no money!
The hotel was very basic room even included 2 dead cockroaches after being cleaned,beds were very hard cobwebs hanging off every corner .The bathroom was loppy with filthy tiles and black mould in the tiles.
The pool was ok the towel lad and the bar staff were very good.The beer you would have drowned in it before getting drunk but the honeybee brandy is ok as is the wine when they have it.The food was very indifferent first time i've had curry flavoured cottage pie!After 4 days we never had another meal in the hotel but ate out.Never saw a refuse collection but watched the pigs ,cows ,dogs and humans going through all the rubbish bags.
Tailors on site are very good and cheap and quick..There is a big problem with russians who buy drinks from outside then get drunk and start shouting up till 3am.They are all very loud ignorant and objectionable worse than germans!
Use daytrippers for your trips great guide in Avi Plantation trip great,waterfalls not very impressed.
The shacks on the beach are just totally unhygenic and wouldn't recommend any.Got fed up with all the beggars and sellers and dogs on the beach.
Had nice meals in The Mango Grove ,Why Not,Hungry Horse, Rice Bowl and Nirvanas
Tipped all the waiters ,reception and all staff 100 rupees each which is about a days wages.
got to the airport once again they pounce on your luggage,pushed trolley 10 yards and demanded £1 got 10 rupees not very happy.Once inside the airport after bags had been scanned ,whaT I thought was a security person pushed my trolley 5 yds and also demanded £1 got nought.
We then showed our passports about 10 times before getting into the departure lounge.
Duty Free only takes sterling but snack bar only takes rupees!
All in all each to there own but it wasn't my cup of tea

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    11
    13
    12
See reviews for
10
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Just come back from our first visit to Goa and can honestly say we couldn't of stayed at a better place. On arrival at the airport you go through three checkpoints then once you'v got your luggage you go outside to a mass of little indian men wanting to help you with your bags for a tip of course but if like me you have no money on you, wheel your own bags just say no thankyou firmly and they'll go to someone else, your rep will also be waiting outside and tell you which bus to get on which is just round the corner to the left as you come out, there is money exchange at the airport if you want to change abit of money.
After an hour we arrived at our hotel, i got a safety deposite box and exchanged my money there as rates didnt vary that much from place to place we were then shown to our room which over looked the pool and terrace area where all the meals took place.
Our room was spacious, clean and had a lovely balcony. We didnt request air con as we found the ceiling fan to be sufficent but if it had been much hotter then we probably would of. There was a fridge in the room but no tv but i understand that some rooms did, we werent bother as we only showered and slept there.
The food here was lovely and nobody that we knew there had any problems with delly belly.
Breakfast was a bit basic, toast, any sort of eggs on toast, cereal, juice and tea or coffee.
Lunchtimes there was usually a couple of salads and a choice of hot food.
Snacks varied and you choose these off a menu.
Dinner was soup, salads and a varity of hot food, naan breads and a pudding, if you didnt fancy the pudding you could always ask for ice cream.
There was some entertainment but not every night.
The staff here were amazing, friendly and helpful always willing to have a chat and always greeted you with a smile, nothing was ever to much trouble.
the location of this hotel is great for getting out and about.
The beach- Turn left out of the gates, go up the road until you reach daytrippers, cross over and turn right follow that road for the beach. Take a walk along the beach dont stop at the first beach shack you come to, explore a bit first, we walked along the beach down to Baga beach. About half way down theres a beach shack called beach queen, i think, here they will shoo off sellers and beggers so that you can relax. My daughter and i had our nails done there to by Marta.
Dont book your excursions with your rep there a rip off you can get the same excursion for alot less money at daytrippers which i mentioned before, its run by an english couple. We went on two trips with them the Anjuna market boat trip and the spice plantation both trips were fantastic dont miss out on riding and washing the elephants. A couple we got talking to went on the grande island trip and also had a fantastic day.
You can get a taxi anywhere but make sure you agree a price before you get in and that its for there and back, your taxi driver will also wait for you. Also have a go in a tuk tuk there great and usually a little cheaper. When buying any thing at the markets never take that price always haggle, go in at half what they say and work from there if they wont come down to what your prepared to pay then walk away cos then they will instantly come down in price.
Mozzies are around as soon as it starts getting dusk so either spray or cream any exposed body parts. We bought some cream from the chemist over there which is called osmodo, it worked a treat. The chemist was out through the back gate turn right then right again then half way up on the left before you get back to the main road. We also plugged a mozzie difuser in at night time.
Manoj the pool boy is lovely, you get your pool towels off him too, he usually sits in the corner up the one end of the pool. There are frequent power cuts but they only last about 5 minutes a time. In reception on a shelve are books which you can borrow and in a room at the back is where the safety deposite boxes are and there was also the internet.
We spent xmas eve on the beach as they had fireworks at midnight, great night and i understand its the same for New Year.
We will most defiantly be going back to this hotel and was very sad to leave. We booked two weeks but wished we'd booked longer but as it was our first visited we didnt know what to expect.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We have travelled to many places in the world (3rd world)with the children and I found
this hotel to be very dirty the staff were very rude,we even had some form of eggs on one
of the shelfs,there was no shower curtin and the rooms smelt of stale wee.We all stayed in one room and slept on the floor for 2 nights as the floor was cleaner than the beds.The pool I even spoke to the pool man as he was just throwing chemicals in (did not even measure.My daugther was in the pool that day and after 1/2 an hour she had no nail varsnish left on her feet(thats the reason why)Food there was 4 things to choose from if you did not like them it was tough luck.Eggs and Juice you have to pay extra.It is meant to be 24hr reception its not.the safe box they have to open it for you.(makes you wonder) All I can say please dont waste your money its a mess of an hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Surrey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas and New Year 2008/9. Reading the reviews on Trip Advisor after we had booked we did think that we might have made a terrible mistake but it was fine. The rooms are big, try to get one overlooking the pool though. We started off overlooking the back yard of the bar next door but were moved when we asked. The food was of a good quality although there wasn't must choice especially at breakfast. The bar staff were very attentive and looked after us extremely well. The swimming pool area was clean and the pool although cold very good. At Chrstmas and New Year the staff made a fabulous effort and treated us to two great gala dinners. If you are in Calangute at New Year make sure you spend it on the beach the atmosphere and fireworks were fantastic.
The location of this hotel is great. Just outsaide the busiest part of Calangute but easy to walk into. There are lots of shops and restaurants locally if you want a change from the hotel food, we particularly liked "Kebabs and Curries". There is also the most fantastic Spa and Beauty Centre about five minutes walk away. Treat yourself to an Indonesian massage you won't regret it.
All in all we enjoyed our Chrstmas here, yes the rooms are a bit tired and dated but the staff and the location are both good. You get what you pay for and this hotel is good value for money. We did try to come back in March but there were no rooms available but we did pop in for a drink on our way back from Anjuna (we ended up staying in South Goa) and the staff seemed pleased to see us and all came to say hello.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

Arriving in Goa was definetly a culture shock,we weren't quite ready for the cows and the stray dogs walking down the middle of the road.We decided to relax and just go with the flow and after a couple of hours began to blend in with the hustle and bustle and started to enjoy the madness.We arrived at the hotel and were greeted by the porters who showed us to our rooms.The rooms do feel a little dated and could do with a bit of a paint job and the mattress could do with being a little thicker but if your tired you'd sleep through an earthquake. The grounds and the pool area are quite clean and tidy and the staff in the main were very friendly.The waiters at the poolside were very good and friendly and the Goan food was excellent I can honestly say that out of our party of six not one of us had any complaints about the quality of the food.If you want to do any of the trips see the taxi drivers outside the front gate you can barter with them and get a good deal a lot cheaper than the tour reps can offer.If you want to see a little of real India go out of the back gate turn right then left and take some writing books and pens the kids love it and I can honestly say that me never once felt in danger.We will definetly go back.

  • Liked — the friendly poolside staff
  • Disliked — the dated decor and furnishings
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

When we arrived we nearly died, the shock was bad, we were told about the culture shock, we were still not as prepared for it.
but once the shock wore off, what a fabulous holiday we had.
Dona Terezhina was very basic, but were told most hotels were just the same, the staff, waiters, manager, reception and room cleaners were all great and made our stay fantastic, they more than made up for the basic hotel. Shopkeepers taxi drivers and everyone made us very welcome to their country.
Lots of stray dogs but they are all harmless and even come in handy, as we adopted one and she followed us around we tried bartering with her with the beach sellers so they did not pester us when they knew we were selling "our dog" for 50 rupees, what a laugh.
Dont be put off by first impressions, and enjoy the culture and the people, this was our best holiday to date and we have booked to go back same time same place and meet all our Goan friends again.
Ray and Liz Barnsley

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — basic rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Staffordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

We went to Dona Terezinha in Feb 2006. As it was our first time in Goa I wasn't sure what to expect but first impression thought it was lovely.

Yes the room was very basic but as we were in a very poor country I wasn't expecting the Ritz!

As we like to to go out exploring we didn't really eat much in the hotel but the meals we did have were really nice.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was on the ground floor at the back of the building where the security guard patrolled every night. One night he had a sore throat so we gave him some throat lozenges. The next morning he stayed in the hotel after his shift had finished just to thank us as they worked for him! Can't think of many places where someone would do that!

We did have a problem in the room when he had some ant 'friends' treking through our bathroom, but we informed reception and they had someone come straight away to get rid of them!

Also during our stay I did end up with Gastroenteritis (which i didn't get from the hotel). We informed reception and within an hour they had a doctor out who gave me some antibiotics!

I would recomend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something cheap and chearful.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — The very cold pool!
  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dona Terezinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Terezinha

Address: Gaura Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dona Terezinha 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Dona Terezinha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Terezinha Hotel
Dona Terezinha Calangute
Hotel Dona Terezinha Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dona Terezinha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.