We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY WELL AWAY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nizmar Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nizmar Resort to your Saves list
Nizmar Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Naika Vaddo Calangute, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 100 Hotels in Calangute
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“STAY WELL AWAY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Appalling service, the internet is their baby here which during peek season was a rip off at 240ru for 30mins.... not only was the connection poor when l was logged in....it was a struggle purschasing a voucher, as they were always to busy with customers complaining about something, and was asked to come back later...that happened on 2 occassions.

Breakfast is also non-exsistant only serving indian breakfast....and even that was poor with just sambar and a small dosa....if you wanted a western breakfast you had to pay for it from the ala cart menu, and what a mistake that was as that was poor also.

Do not be fooled by the pictures you see of the pool and the surrounded area, its not what it seems....being a lot smaller and not very appealing...didn't see hardly anyone go in on our 3nt stay. The only good thing about the nizmar management, is how they've managed to jazz up the appearance of the facillities top marks for that...you fooled me.

What l would say in its defence is the dinner menu is quite good, and tastes good being resonably priced as well, however if you choose something that the chef doesn't feel like cooking, you ain't getting it....poor attitude and shoudn't happen.

Do yourself a favour and choose another hotel...as this one is just about managing to keep its head above water....meaning just about makes the grade to keep trading

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    55
    34
    23
    37
See reviews for
32
80
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Dirty noisy breakfast rubbish surrounding area not great and staff slow and unorganised. Left a day early as room uncomfortable and run down. Has a decent sized pool but there were no sunbed s round it. Place needs a lick of paint and updating it maybe cheaper in price but I've been in cleaner garden sheds!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went here with our infant son and arrived on Xmas day and right from the get go it was a disappointment. We met our friends who were much smarter and got a guest house for half the price and was just as good. We thought we would have a nice dinner at the hotel and found out that it would be 1,500 rupees per person which for India, is ridiculously priced, even if it was an ok buffet.
Upon entering our room, which was decent in size and kind of what we expected prior to going, we read the master list of rules that I have never seen such rules at any other hotel that I have ever stayed at. First, no outside food or drink allowed on hotel grounds and staff has been instructed to take any items they find, which I had a bag of mine searched upon reaching the hotel. Really, no outside food and drink?
Next we found out that there were to be no non hotel guests in your room, so our friends were not allowed to come in and hang out in our room.
The next day we stayed by the pool which they wanted to charge our friends to stay at, even though it was less than spectacular, no where near the beach and closed well before dark.
The hotel says it has hot water, which it does, for approximately 3 mins each day. Then our drain in our shower blocked which flooded the bathroom. When we found this out it was late in the evening and we needed to shower and go for dinner and asked if we could move rooms. They said we could but we needed to do it immediately and that we couldnt just shower in the new room and move our stuff in the morning. When asked about this they said that it was no big deal and we should just do it. Did I mention we have an infant son so our stuff was everywhere, good thing the staff offered to help move our stuff...hahah..yeah right wishful thinking. Finally we convinced them to allow us to have a shower in the new room and switch rooms later, including moving the crib up two flights of stairs on my own.
The buffet breakfast was very small, random juice, untoasted bread and a few other indian dishes....mmm...mmm... good. Oh you could get eggs, but you would be charged. The food and drinks at the restaurant was not very good and was overpriced which you quickly learned from walking around the area.
We asked for our room to be cleaned each day and maybe half of the time we were there this actually happened. We ordered simple things like glasses and it would take 4 phone calls in order to finally get them to the room.
When we finally discussed our issues with the manager, we had still not received any form of apology and still didnt from the manager. He offered us a free buffet dinner, which we refused stating we would not want to stay anywhere near this place unless we had to. Unfortunately we had already paid for the room in full on Agoda, or else we would not have paid full price for this piece of garbage. In the end, the manager wiped our room service bill, all $5 of it.
Overall my suggestion is to book at a guest house for one night prior to going to Goa, then look around and see whats available for you, I assure you you will find something much better, better location and cheaper than this joke of a hotel. We were stuck for a place and because many of the guest houses cant afford to choose not to advertise on the internet, we got sucked into staying here.
We read reviews on here that made us think that it was ok, but after speaking to the locals, they would always laugh and say they only want money at that hotel.
Also the power would go out numerous times a day, but thats India as a whole.
So STAY AWAY, STAY FARRRRRRRRRR AWAY!
Please feel free to contact me for more info. We loved Goa and the area, just dont make your base here!

Room Tip: No need to book before you go, there are plenty of very good guest houses that our friends stayed at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Its a big property...can be managed in a better way....we went in November around the diwali period and felt that the hotel was understaffed. Rooms were spacious with fridge, sofa, TV etc....cleaned everyday on request. The restaurant is highly over-priced and not worth the money. The Italian cuisine was good though but Indian curry and biryani preparations were strictly ok. We preferred to eat in restaurants around the hotel. Staff is totally incompetent. Overall experience has been good, but not worth the price you pay per day for this hotel. Luckily, we got a good room to stay, but on the day of our checkout, we found many guests arguing with the staff at the reception. It needs a good management team.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

When we checked in after online confirmed booking, we were in for a rude shock. The manager said we didnot have any booking and the money has not reached there account. After almost 1 hour of phone calls & internet searching , i was allowed to check in.



The rooms were ok and the bathroom was stained, so we requested for another room. Although they say its 3 star property it dint feel like a 3 star. The hotel is bit dated and needs renovation. Its located in the busy Calangute area which is almost as crowded as a Mumbai suburb.



The breakfast was oily puris, sabji, idli chatni and a watery juice.

The rooms are big though and had 2 balconies.

But since we were on budget we had no option. Calangute being a coslty place especially in the holiday season.


Overall : nothing great. Although other hotels were costlier, we probably could have got a shared room in a private bunglow for a lower price.

Room Tip: We stayed in backside facing room (non pool facing) and it was calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

spacious rooms , fridge, a/c , sitting area with tv. buffet breakfast indian / conti.. good pool for al l ages . quite close to main town but far enough away for peace n quiet. good value. frendly staff. nice pool side bar. chef makes great tandoori chicken..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel has great facilities and is only 5 minutes walk from the beach and the centre of calangute. It is only a 5 min taxi journey to the busy baga strip with its bars and clubs. The food is excellent the service is fantastic and they will go the extra mile and fulfill requests. You can rent a scooter just outside the hotel for reasonable prices. the rooms are clean and quite modern for Goa, if you do not like heights, ask for a room on the ground or first floor, or if you find stairs difficult as there are no lifts and lots of stairs if you above the first foor. The pool is clean and it is a fun, family hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nizmar Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nizmar Resort

Address: Naika Vaddo Calangute, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nizmar Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Nizmar Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nizmar Resort Calangute
Nizmar Hotel Calangute
Nizmar Resort Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nizmar Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.