We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bosco's Beach Shack

Bosco's Beach Shack
Calangute Beach, Cobra Vaddo, Calangute 403 516, India
0832- 2277862
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 274 Restaurants in Calangute
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had been unable to come here for three years, because of illness, and think of ourselves as regulars. The welcome we got was amazing, with the staff genuinely concerned over our absence.

The usual standard and choice of food was available, we were there for breakfast, lunch and an occasional evening meal, and were quite happy.

Great to see Alex, Philip, Usha, Abba, Babu and the rest, roll on next March.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Candolim this year so used Bonos beach shack for the first week but after that we decided to re visit Bosco's in Baga/calangute as soon as we arrived we were recognised from the previous year and they even remembered our names the welcome and service at Boscos made us feel at home so we went back every day for the remainder of our holiday which meant a 20 minute taxi ride there and back every day but it was worth it.
The food and drinks here are delicious and the service is quick and efficient . Reegan the waiter is great always up for a bit of fun and Tony the masseurs is a great kid and will serve you quickly weather you have a massage or not.
Can't wait to go back but will stay at CSM Hotel next time so we can just walk onto the beach and use Bosco's beach shack. There's a lot more sellers at Baga than Candolim but if you ask for a sun bed nearer to the shack away from the front row they don't bother you because they know they can't come that far up

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Where else on the planet do they put your towel on your sunbed every day!!
The food is the best authentic Indian and Philip looks after us so well and Alex is a great owner.

Can't wait to see you all again! We have been coming here since 1998!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great Shack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I am a avid Morjim fan however last year I got really sick of traveliing from Calangute every day in a cab and back late afternoon feeling dirty from the day at the beach. We went to meet some friends at the beach and they were at Bosco's. From that day on we went every day and really enjoyed it. I dont agree with what people are saying on here about the service if you dont have the massages. I hate massages and didnt have one yet the guys used run around after us all day nothing was too much trouble. They used to all come and sit and chat to us. I think a lot of the time people dont speak to the guys in india and then wonder why they get bad service. The food was great we ate there for just over two weeks. We had a light breakfast, drinks all day, lunch for two people and it came to around a tenner every day they didnt charge us once for the sunbed.

I go back at the end of Nov and Bosco's will have my business again for the whole duration of my visit I cannot wait. In fact today I went to get my jabs at the doctors for the ones that had ran out so the date I travel is fast approaching and I cannot wait.

The fruit ladies were great we bought from them every day no problems. The guys in the shack ask you if you want to look at their shop its does not harm to look your laid there for hours and hours so what is a few minutes to check out what they have. Rightly or wrongly I bought some great DVD's from them many that had not been released in the UK they all played great when I got home.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Definately the best shack.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I spent 3 weeks visiting this shack and many others on baga beach. Alex the manager arranged many trips for me and gets the best prices. The food quality was excellent as was the treament.
I will certainly like many others return and base Boscos as my main shack. The massage is amazing and it actually costs about £8= 600 rupees. the russians may get it cheaper i do not know but i certainly didnt feel i was overcharged.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bosco's Beach Shack also viewed

 

Been to Bosco's Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosco's Beach Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.