We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How relaxing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Palms Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Palms Goa to your Saves list
Ocean Palms Goa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Opposite Holiday Street | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403515, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How relaxing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were looking forward to a nice holiday in Goa after a long time, and i think we chose the best resort possible. It is so well located close to the busy ares of calangute, not more than a 10 minute easy walk to the beach. the hotel itself is in very quite surroundings and i think the monsoons just made our holiday magic. We enjoyed the large and spacious rooms, high ceilings and very comfortable beds. The restaurant is also bright and the service of Vivian was exceptional, in fact all the staff in the hotel were very good and polite.we will surely recommed this hotel to our friends. we would have like to see more tourists in goa, but it is nice in the rains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Namaste.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are delighted you had a great time and thank you again for your appreciation for overall
Hospitality provided. Your email is displayed in our associate dining area for all to view.
Vivian is very grateful to you for especially mentioning his name .

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    113
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
91
135
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ocean Palms is really good advice which is given by Clear trip....it made my honeymoon memorable...Thanks to Cleartrip and Ocean Palms...!!!

I again want to go at the same place but in different season....!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

Namaste.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed you stay and appreciated our Hospitality. We are also happy to learn you will be coming back in the next season thank you.

Look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hello everyone, i stayed in ocean palms wid my family for 3N/4D. Enjoyed a lot over there as rooms were neat & clean,well maintained.they were having all ameneties in the room itself.WE just enjoyed the food at the restaurant the NAUTILIUS.THE staff was very friendly & careful.BEFORE going to goa we were very tensed about the hotel but after the stay we are fully satisfied with this property.Only two things over there needs amendement,first there should be partition in the wet areas & dry areas of the bathrooms & there should be acooler fitted or a fan in the children recreational area. Else everything is uptomark & would definately plan my vacation again in this hotel..thanks PRABHDEEP SINGH

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

Namaste.

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are glad you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay . Thank you again for complimenting our
Service associates, Food, Hygiene and Hospitality.

We have made a note of suggested points. These will be implemented in due course.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed at Ocean Palms with couple of friends in early June 2013 for 5 days. We enjoyed our stay here, the hotel is classy (for a 3.5 star rating), clean and well maintained, and professional with their service. Here's my notes about our stay:

1. Location - Ocean Palms is at the end of a narrow little street off the main road in Calangute. I did some research on Tripadvisor for hotels in Calangute area, and this was my first choice. I picked this place so that its in between Candolim and Baga/Calangute areas, and everything is a 10-15 max ride by bike. Beaches are not at a walking distance from this hotel. Bike rentals are available outside the hotel for 250 Rs. per bike per day. Shops, restaurants, pharmacies are all available in and around the hotel at a walking distance.
2. Room - We stayed in a Palm Suite. We had asked for a pool facing room, but we got one on the 4th floor that was side facing, with trees blocking our view from the balcony. The Palm Suite has a spacious living room in addition to the big bedroom that comes with a king size bed. There are 2 balconies, and the bathroom is neither big nor small. The living room does not have an AC. Other facilities include an Iron with board, a small safe in the bedroom that could easily fit in 2 laptops, TV in both rooms, and a mini fridge in the living room.
3. Wifi internet - It's available at about 350 bucks for 5 days for max. 24 hours usage. We asked for it on the 2nd day, and were told that it wasn't working and will get fixed soon. We managed with the 3g internet from our phones and never bothered with using the hotel wifi later.
4. Room service and housekeeping - They are very polite, prompt and good with their service. We had ordered food and drinks a couple of times, and there were minor issues such as water stoppage in the bathroom and insects in the balcony due to the rains - all these requests were immediately attended by them. We had asked for extra towels and sheets and that was also provided.
5. Restaurant - We only went there for the daily complimentary breakfast buffet, which is pretty good with sufficient options. Its open until 10:30 in the morning, and each day has a different menu. We are all vegetarians, and we really liked the food.
6. Recreation - The swimming pool is of a decent size and is well maintained, we used it on 4 days. There is also a little play area with carrom, foosball and table tennis.
7. Front Desk - They are always courteous and helpful. We had an early morning flight back from Goa, so we finished the checkout process the previous night and they also booked us a taxi for drop off at the airport, for about 1500.
8. Complaints - We never felt unhappy or disappointed with anything. Only thing off the mark was with using the laundry services. The brochure in the room says that if we hand over the clothes before 9 AM, the clothes will be returned back by the same evening. But the person who came into collect the clothes told us that they would return it only the next day evening. I showed him the brochure, he immediately checked on the phone and confirmed that what he said was right.

This is one of the best reviewed hotels in Goa for its pricing and star rating, and that's why I chose this place. I must admit, the hotel exceeded my expectations with their service, facilities and professionalism. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends, and would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

Namaste.

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback and excellent rating.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us , our Services ,Food, Hospitality on the whole. We also appreciate you taking the time and detailed effort for this feedback.

We have it displayed in our associate dining room for all to read thus have them more stimulated towards guests satisfaction.

We regret the confusion with the laundry which has been corrected.

We look forward to serve you again soon and take this opportunity to wish you and your loved ones the very best in life always.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is very proud of its 4,5 TripAdvisor points. Compared to the other hotels, that look like they have just survived a hurricane and are surrounded by picturesque piles of garbage, the Ocean Palms may not be such a bad option (though think well before going to Goa and India alltogether in the first place).
Within walking distance to the beach and away from the noisy road - the location is OK.
The rooms are spaceous and clean. However, the first night we stayed in a room without a balcony, with a clogged sink and stinky toilett. Changed room upon a request. Our next room had 2 balconies, which was nice. However, due to these balconies the room was not hermetized enough for the air conditioner to work properly. It didn't matter to us as we stayed there during a cool rain season, but during hot sumer time it may become a problem.
The personell is well trained and polite.
Food is excellent. A lot of variation for breakfast. Complements to the chef - especially the xacutty was awesome.
Unpleasant remark: the bills for room service were severely rounded up compared to the prices in the menu. Re-calculated upon request. So be carefull and check for what you are paying.
Now coming to the main problem that spoiled our stay. STEALING. An expensive Hugo Boss shirt and 2 dresses were stolen from our room from the suitcases. Unfortunately we noticed it too late to solve this issue at the hotel. But we have a proof that they have been stolen at this hotel. This is a no-go and therefore I give only one point in rating.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Madam,

Namaste.

We are very disheartened to learn that you lost some personal items. We are further anguished
that you have accused the Hotel and our associates for this loss. This has NEVER occurred in the existence of our Hotel so far.

We have investigated the matter throughly and cannot conclude that it could have gone missing while you stayed in the Hotel. This is based on our investigation and evaluation of our associates who serviced your room during your stay. We would welcome to see the proof you claim to have and we would be happy to compensate your loss should the proof prove the theft
occurred at our Hotel.

Also, we regret the inadvertent error in the billing, due to system error, which has been rectified
on identifying the reason for the lapse.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at Ocean Palms 27 May - 2 June 2013. The rooms are clean and spacious. They have an iron, fridge and an electronic safe - well worth advertising. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from Calangute beach. We went off season and it was empty. Nearby there are numerous places to eat - US Pizza, as well as local veg. Restaurants. Expect to pay Rps 200 per person. Places to visit: Old Goa. and Spice farm which costs rps 400 but includes buffet lunch (very tasty). Getting about. Found buses random, Tour bus worth doing ss an experience. But taxis are cheap and plentiful. Haggle and you can hire a driver for the day at rps 1300 took us on a trip of about 50km.
Airport transfer can be booked within airport at Rps 900 (non AC). Rtn back to airport for early flight is rps 1200.

Be careful at night, due to rains there are big run-off teanches on the streets about 4 ft deep. With poor lighting in the evening its easy to fall into one of the and get injured.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Namaste.

Thank you for your Valuable feedback and Excellent ratings.

We are glad you enjoyed you stay and appreciated our Services . We are sure your feedback will be helpful to people coming to Goa. A big thank you for the Excellent ratings from the Team.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hi I just stayed there with this hotel i found i was realy gud as what i expected i got everything in this hotel as room was very neat and clean and staffs were very friendly , food was very good. location was awsome..i would prefer to take this hotel for my next vacation.

Room Tip: rooms on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanPalmsGoa, General Manager at Ocean Palms Goa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sir,

Namaste.

Thank you for your valuable feedback and ratings.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our associates, services and hospitality.
A big thank you from the Team for the Excellent ratings.

Looking forward to Welcoming you again.

Warm Regards,

Anil Singh Rathore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Palms Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Palms Goa

Address: Opposite Holiday Street | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#2 Luxury Hotel in Calangute
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#6 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Palms Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With global warming being a key concern, significant investments are being made in green technologies to reduce carbon foot prints across the world. Ocean Palms Goa too is a part of the drive. A 4-star eco-friendly resort, it is located in Calangute. Ocean Palms offers an affordable quality to business and leisure travellers alike. Blending the intimacy of home with modern amenities, the facilities at this child friendly resort include well appointed air-conditioned rooms, conferencing facilities, a swimming pool, a lounge bar, multi-cuisine restaurant, spa, and fitness services. The resort is located in a quite area of the main road. So you can enjoy a peaceful stay; at the same time it is hop-skip-and-jump away from popular tourists spots. Ocean Palms gives guest the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Palms Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Palms Goa Hotel Calangute
Ocean Palms Goa Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Palms Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.