We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could want on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pousada by the Beach

Pousada by the Beach
Holiday Street, Gaura Vaddo Open 11am-7pm | Bardez, Calangute 403516, India
+91 99 22 279265
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 274 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, Contemporary, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Sea/Beach facing Garden Restaurant and Bar is open from 11 am 7 pm . Pousada by the Beach is located at the end of Holiday street at Gaura Vaddo Calangute. To get to us, come to the end of the street, head to the beach, as you face the sea turn right, walk about 75 meters, through a couple of shacks and you will see a green patch, a few fishing boats and a gate flanked by two terracotta saluting Portuguese soldiers...Welcoming you. We provide Sun Bed along with an umbrella for a charge of Rs.900/-Per person,for day use .This amount can be adjusted towards consumption of food or drinks. We also provide facilities such as shower, changing rooms and toilets. We request our guests to carry their own towels.
Reading, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Everything you could want on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Pousada by the Beach is a great base from which to enjoy a day on the beach. Just a hot dash across the sand from the water's edge it offers comfy sun beds, sunshine or shade, good food, cool drinks, clean beach loos and a shower. It is set a little further back than most of the beach shacks in a really attractive garden. Service is personal and efficient. You can just leave your stuff and walk along the shore for some much needed exercise and eyebrow raising people watching, then retreat to this little oasis when tired of the throng!
There is a charge for the sun beds, but this can be offset against meals and drinks and helps to maintain a degree of exclusivity.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    21
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District, Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Average food, expensive and grumpy staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was really looking forward to eating here as I had heard such rave reviews about the place, The staff were quite rude and didn't seem to want to serve us. The food very average and over-priced for the quality. We asked where the Pousada Touma Hotel was as we wanted to check it out. They were very unhelpful so we gave up and went back to where we were staying for a further week.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pousada, Owner at Pousada by the Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our little restaurant.Most of the beautiful things in life are sadly expensive.No wonder than everything from my most sincere staff to the high quality food we serve in pristine environment is not palatable to you because you felt it was expensive.

The reviewer was looking for free beds . Just to let our guests know, we do charge for the use of sunbeds Rs.750/- per person per day which can be adjusted towards drinks and food,but mostly the beach beds are available for free along the coast with other shacks .Free beds are provided by the shack owners for reasons best know to them

It does take a lots of effort to serving fresh grilled fish for 4 English pound, fresh king prawns for 5 English pounds etc we leave it up to our guests to decided if are expensive or not .Also please read our other reviews.We love what we do , we welcome all our guests with the best traditional hospitality and definitely serve the best for our two page menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“best beach shack for miles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

except you can't really call it a shack it's more like a rather fab restaurant that you can go to in your bathing costume and sarong. The food is fresh and different...and it has a wonderful laid back feeling. It also has the best beach loos i've ever been too and a great shower. You can spend a whole day here relaxing and people watching. The restaurant at the related hotel is also fabulous for an evening meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An Oasis on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

If we had stumbled on this place earlier on our trip, we'd have been there more than once.
We went for lunch and spent the rest of the day there.
They have great food and a friendly staff in a super chill felling modern spot.
NO peddlers but you need action walk 20 steps towards the water.

Head to the beach via Holiday Road and take a right when get to the beach. It's not very far and it sets way back from the shacks so it's easy to miss.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“This should really be kept as a secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We found out about this place when speaking to a couple we met at a different beach shack. I had heard of the Pousada name and knew of the related hotel Pousada Tauma. We hunted this place down one day on Calangute beach. Although it is set back further and slightly elevated in relation to other shacks, the tall white flag with Pousada By The Beach in red lettering is the obvious steer point. This really is a piece of heaven on the beach! Beautifully kept surroundings, high quality sun loungers and immaculate and stylish toilets.

We spent three days here during our stay and it could almost become a habit. The peace and tranquillity was unsurpassed! It was also full of people who wanted the same as us and I would suggest it was or should be a child free environment!!

If you go in the sea, then they have a really handy shower you can use at the side of the toilet, just to remove that salty film, before sitting down and almost devouring the menu itself.

We opted for vegetable xacuti and prawn curry. These dishes were fabulous and a credit to the chef, who I believe is called Kevin. Later in the day we tried a Goan desert called bibinca and washed down with some delicious Lassi drinks.

One highlight is the resident dog, a gracious Labrador called Biscuit. She is not one to hassle you either, so don'e be put off if you are not a dog lover, although she did make a beeline for us once she smelled the bibinca.

The way this place operates is a 1500 rupee sunbed charge for two persons. So if you don't eat or drink then that is what you pay for a full day here. (opens 11am to 7pm) If you do eat and drink during the day then this goes towards your 1500 rupees, and obviously if you go over that, then you pay that amount.

For me, this works well as it keeps the place full of those who are going to respect the surroundings and want good quality time. We met Neville the owner on our last day and he is a real gentleman. I had been so intrigued by his hotel (Pousada Tauma) Calangute that he invited us over at the end out our day to have a look round. I must say, it was very impressive and imaginative; it is a treasure to Neville's ambition.

We will definitely return here but will not tell too many about it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pousada by the Beach also viewed

 

Been to Pousada by the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pousada by the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.