We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as good pad thai as we have had on sukhumvit road...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Thai-European Restaurant

Oriental Thai-European Restaurant
Inside Hotel Mira | Near Calangute-Baga junction, Opposite Hotel Citrus, Calangute 403516, India
009 9561312044
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 149 Restaurants in Calangute
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
ilson
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“as good pad thai as we have had on sukhumvit road...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The oriental is a fantastic restaurant and great value for money. As good a thai food we had in bangkok.....Venue a bit wierd though i.e an irish pub and its a shame the irish pub isnt an irish pub anymore....

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry2244, Manager at Oriental Thai-European Restaurant, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We thank you for the great review. We work hard to offer authentic Royal Thai cuisine. There are not many Thai Chefs left which are committed to the authentic Royal Thai Cuisine which had been practiced by royal and noble families - centuries ago. The reason is simple. Beside the required skills the cooking technique used is time consuming and not economical at all. Sir, we have to admit - we see your comment about our Phat Thai with mixed feelings. Phat Thai is for us a side order and more or less something like fried potatoes or French fries on the continental side. We are sure your very positive comments were meant for our main courses as well. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    31
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Truely an amazing find!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have never tasted thai food like it!!!We ended up eating here about 5 times the food was that good!!
The staff make you feel like part of the family and they cant do enough for you!
The steak is amazing !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry2244, Manager at Oriental Thai-European Restaurant, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks a lot. You cannot imagine how grateful we are for such a wonderful review Regards from the staff and the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money and great Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Thai Food here was brilliant particularly for the amount we paid.

My wife and I are both Veggie so really enjoyed the Tofu and vegetable dishes.

The service was quick and friendly.

My only criticism was that there was no atmosphere in this place and was pretty empty which is surprising consider the great reviews. I suppose we could have just visited at the wrong time.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry2244, Manager at Oriental Thai-European Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thanks for the review. Since we once more were forced to change the location – please note that we start this new place in November 2012 (the time when you visited us) and even our phone no. has changed. So our regular customer may found it difficult to locate our new place at Molly Mallone´s in Calangute. We hope Tripadvisor will help some of our customer to find us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic quality of food and service would recommend this to anyone in this area, polite and helpful staff, excellent choice in food and drink !! Brilliant mr & mrs state

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry2244, Manager at Oriental Thai-European Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Mr. & Mrs. Slate thanks a lot for this review. We guess you are the friendly couple which visited us almost 14 days in a row for breakfast lunch and dinner? Than we will try to make it up next Season greetings from the entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The new location is at Molly Malones pub (just 200 metres down the road from the Mira Hotel where it used to be). Food standard & presentation as good as it always was.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henry2244, Manager at Oriental Thai-European Restaurant, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thanks for the review. We needed this! Yes, whatever is under our control at Molly Malone´s we try even harder to maintain our standard. So we didn´t even change the prices from the last Season! The major change is the ambience and we offer now Guinness, draught Kingfisher and wines to reduced prices. The customer can also enjoy a full English Breakfast with view to the Goan Champs-Élysées from 9 am onwards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Thai-European Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oriental Thai-European Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Thai-European Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.