We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we just keep going back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Under The Stars

Under The Stars
Csm Road,Calangute-Baga Road | Khobra Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India (Formerly TROIKA)
+91 98 67 373969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 149 Restaurants in Calangute
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Chinese, English, Indian, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“So good we just keep going back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We've been coming ever since it opened, the food is consistently good especially the fillet mignon which is the best we've tasted. Sylvia and Carl are so friendly and welcoming as are all of the waiting and kitchen staff. We rate this restaurant so highly that it is always the first and often the last place that we visit when travelling to Goa and can't wait to go back in March for another meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Under_the_Stars_Goa, Owner at Under The Stars, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for a great review.
Hope to see you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    24
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mildenhall United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Recommended to us and a great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a very enjoyable evening here, food very good and a very amiable spot to spend the evening. High rating that this restaurant has is justified and you can be assured of a warm welcome.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Under_the_Stars_Goa, Owner at Under The Stars, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for the review.
Hope to see you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great place to eat the steak was fab. Great atmosphere in the place. Great value for money. The taxi driver found it a bit difficult to find but it was well worth the effort..

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Under_the_Stars_Goa, Owner at Under The Stars, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for a great review.
Hope to see you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Under the Stars for a lovely evening out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

What a find, great food while listening to the music which was very relaxing Sylvia and Carl the the perfect hosts and all the staff can not do enough for you. We will be returning to Goa later in the year and Under the Stars will be our first stop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Under_the_Stars_Goa, Owner at Under The Stars, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for a great review.
Hope to see you next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had this place recommended to us but sadly our first visit was very disappointing. The staff were busy looking after their regulars and stuck us near the exit. The chateaubriand steak was just 2 pieces of tough chewy beef in gravy which neither of us could eat. Its much better across at Fire n Ice where it comes with the correct sauce and accompaniments. We did however give them a 2nd chance and returned the following week and had a delicious and reasonably priced tandoori chicken which redeemed them somewhat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Under The Stars also viewed

 

Been to Under The Stars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under The Stars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.