We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Soumyen's Kitchen

Chef Soumyen's Kitchen
House No. 1/285 A Block, Louis Marino Gomes Road | Gaurravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
832-2276160-0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 142 restaurants in Calangute
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

First visit here and it certainly wont be our last! The food was fabulous and the service excellent. We had steak which was cooked beautifully and were very generous in size. It is a liitle more expensive than normal goan prices but that shows in the quality etc. Still very cheap compared to the UK. There was an extensive drinks menu and some lovely wines too.
The setting of the resturant is lovely as it is almost completely outdoors, a lovely atmosphere and its proper dining under the stars.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    257
    43
    21
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A cut above..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visited Early 2013 and everything was impeccable. The service is 1st class as is everything else in this little Gem. All I can say to everyone is book a table and you won't be disappointed. A superb dining out experience is guaranteed. Enjoy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillong, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect dining..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hello everyone!

I want to share a very memorable and heartwarming experience at this place. I had been there alone on 19th December, 2012. I was on an business trip to Goa and and I was leaving for Mumbai on 20th noon. I wanted to go to a good restaurant after a hectic day. I had read about Soumyen's Kitchen on trip advisor the previous night. So I went for it immediately after work on 19th Dec. The place had shut down by the time I reached the restaurant (around 11pm). And I hadnt made any prior reservations either. However when I told them that I had come a long way trusting the comments they earned on trip advisor and I was leaving the next day, they decided to serve me dinner. I tell you, Mr Souymen and his staff were so warm and kind. I was the only customer at that moment and they made me feel very special. Such gestures would win anyone's heart!

Mr Souymen suggested I order the steak and some red wine. The steak was brilliant and cooked to perfection. The ambiance and the red wine made the whole experience very pleasant. Mr Souymen, the wonderful person that he is, gave me company because I was eating alone. Phew!

Thank you Mr Souymen and the entire staff of the restaurant. I'll visit you guy soon and I wish you guys the very best in your efforts and contributions.

Warm regards,

Sayan Chakravarty

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“steak and desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The steak at this restaurant is to die for although you do pay more like english prices it is somewhere to go for a treat, more silver service treatment and the presentation of the food is a la carte style. This chef used to work at the after 8 (then 7) restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic meal for 2 for less than £25 I had the signature chicken
My partner had a pepper steak great presentation great quality great staff soumyen even made time to come out for a chat having recognised us from a year earlier oh almost forgot the wine selection fantastic if in Goa a visit is a must we are back in a couple of nights can not wait

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Soumyen's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Chef Soumyen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Soumyen's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.