We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cracking place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Severina

Save Saved
You added Casa Severina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Severina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Senhor Francisco Road, near St. Anthony's Chapel | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 99 hotels in Calangute
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A cracking place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Casa Severina was our final hotel stay after 3 weeks touring India.
The facility is 1st class and we had a great relaxing stay. Food and drink are very competitively priced and a cracking breakfast is served in with the price. Rooms are modern/spacious and cleaned daily. The grounds are beautifully kept and the whole place is well tended by a hard working team
(thx Johnson/Ujay/Ade/Gadger/Suresh et al !)

Our party of 4 would certainly stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    109
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
228
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

A luxerious and beautiful hotel... This is the best hotel I stayed at in India. It is clean, the furniture is ornate, and it's simply wonderful.

The service is fantastic, and the bathroom actually had a hairdryer which was very exciting. We stayed in a superior room, which had a shower and tub. There was a North American queen-sized bed, with a sitting area. A free bottle of port was offered on the first day, in addition to two bottles of spring water. We had a private balcony, with a small table and comfortable chairs.

I cannot express how wonderful this hotel was. The only downside was that wifi was not free... It is 100 rs/hour. Other than this, you can rent a scooter for 250 rs/day. Calangute is closeby, and the main strip is just a short walk. The hotel is mainly frequented by European travellers.

The breakfast was good with fruit, omlettes, hash browns etc...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverina, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, December 4, 2010
Dear Lizardo,

Thank you for your valuable comments. We thank you for choosing to stay with us & look forward to your return to Casa Severina!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

This review is based upon my interaction with the staff and management during the time of booking the hotel.

After doing a lot of research and reading nice reviews I zeored in on Casa Severina for our stay in Goa in December. I must admit I really liked the property by viewing on the website. The pain started when I booked 3 rooms in Casa Severina for the Month of December. I called the hotel on 26th November(Friday) and enquired about availability and rates. Post slight negotiation they blocked 3 rooms for me and I agreed to deposit 50% advance in their bank account by 27th Nov(Saturday). Unfortunately due to some urgent work and saturday being a half bnaking day in India i could not deposit the money in banking hours. But I called the manager and told him and offered him 2 options- a) that i could deposit money with any of his travel agents or B)can deposit on Monday. The manager agreed for depositing the advance on Monday.

How ever to my surprise within a few Hours I received a mail from the hotels reservation desk that they had sold our rooms to some one else and regreted unavailability.

I beleive this is highly unfair on the hotels part to do this..... there is no value to what they commit. Was really disgusted with this silly and unethical behaviour from the management.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverina, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Dear Mrinal,

It is with great regret that we read your unfair review, that too after offering you a discount & time for advance payment. We have checked with our Reservations Manager & Team. To clarify: Firstly, there was no extension of time granted for the advance to be paid. The email records clearly show this. The manager clarified that no extension for payment has been given, neither via email or telephone. Giving you this extension would be unfair & unethical to those customers who have taken the effort to make their payments towards their room confirmations & are unable to get a confirmation due to the room being held without guarantee, after all this is high season in Goa & rooms are 100% perishable commodities. The manager also explained to you that you have attempted to book with us directly & that booking through an agent would be entirely at your discretion.
Your date of membership to tripadvisor is a clear indication that you have created your ID only to defame the our hotel & we humbly request you to resist from doing so.
Our reviews from our other customers clearly go to prove our dedication towards customer satisfaction.
In any case, we are apologetic that you could not confirm your booking in time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Cosy atmosphere,Good ambience,Excellent rooms and amenities.Very close to the beach.Excellent for honeymoon couples. Staff very polite and cooperative.Good service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

i was planning to celebrate my second anniversary in Goa and was looking for a quite, personal and intimate place. I am always fascinated by Heritage hotels. However searching for a nice heritage hotel is a Herculean task. Either you end up burning a deep hole in your pocket or you get shoddy / raunchy stuff in name of a heritage hotel.

Casa Severina lives up completely to the all claims made on its website. This is the best three star hotel so far i have visited. The hotel is located in a quite (rather cramped) street. But once you are at a welcome gate / reception, your apprehensions are all gone...

Good:
- Rooms: there are seventeen suits and two standard boutiques. I opted for a Junior Suit and was a given the one with pool view. although the room was small, it was very beautifully decorated. The quality of rooms is at par with any 4+ star hotels...

- Ambiance:The hotel has a very appealing ambiance. A beautiful reception counter with two stairs beside it done all in wood. amazing...A beautiful little fish pond at the hotel courtyard..

- Staff and Service: Deserves a special mention. The staff is extremely polite, courteous and responsive. Mr Lio decorated our room with two cute towel ducks and flower petals on our anniversary ...Mr Johnson (God bless you mate) organised a complementary entry for us at a night club (shack)...Chef cooked us a customized breakfast dish (since we are strict vegetarians)...they are all so amazing...

Bad:
Space and Location: The hotel is not very spacious. There is a small swimming pool beside the hotel building. A hotel restaurant is also small with five / six tables with two chairs.. the bar too looks little cramped..

Food:
Food menu is very limited with all continental dishes. Veggies shall be dissatisfied...

Overall:
++++1/2 rating... better place than many self proclaimed 4 star resorts in Goa...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We found Casa Severina after a lot of research on the net. It is a new boutique hotel and one that lives up to all the claims made on their website.
Everything about the Hotel was just perfect, the location - just 5 minutes walk from the beach and yet quite and peaceful. The Staff - very friendly and helpful - especially Johnson and Cynthia. The stay - very pleasant and comfortable.The setting - picturesque. The overall experience - very warm.
We just loved our stay and will definitely stay at Severina every time we visit Goa. It is an ideal place for all those who do not like the crowd and buzz of big hotels and would prefer a quite place to spend their holiday in peace, surrounded by warm people.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Just when we were approaching the hotel by taxi, the surrounding area and the approach road, i must admit, worried me. However, the experience inside was just the opposite and simply speaking very impressive. in fact the website gives an accurate description of the hotel's interiors and the service.
Coming directly to the facts :
Casa Severina is intelligently built on a small area. It has a wide, spacious courtyard with a gazebo on the left where food is served and a small lawn to the right which houses a little bar, sufficient for the hotel.
As soon as you enter you feel the genuine warmth of the service rendered with wet towels, welcome drinks and the manager greeting you and assisting you with the arrival procedures.
The inside of the Hotel is tastefully decorated. Its a blend of Indian and Portugese architecture. Everything looks antique and beautiful. They even have a big square fish pond in the middle which enhances the beauty further.
The best part - The ROOM !! We stayed in the 'Junior room'. For the price, i am sure the room offers much more. The plush interiors, the wooden furniture, super comfy bed, the attention to detail and the efficient house keeping makes the accomodation fall into the 5 star category. There's a cute lill balcony overlooking the pool which gets quite private and pleasant towards the night.
The second best part - The FOOD & SERVICE !! The menu in the Hotel's restaurant is limited and might nudge you to step out for lunch or dinner. However, those dishes which are available in the menu are cooked with perfection and are delicious (especially the sausages). The complimentary breakfast buffet is good and the spread was just enough for us.
The service is very genuine and not for show. The staff is all smiles and eager to assist you. Believe me, they even negotiate the Taxi Fares with the vendors for you.
Some other pointers: The pool is of decent size and is kept very clean. Its mostly not crowded and more than adequate for a relaxing swim anytime during the day.
The beach is at a walkable distance. Calangute, Baga and candolim are all few minutes away from the hotel by bike/car.

On the whole it was a fantastic stay for us. So, if you are someone who wants to do more of exploring in Goa and not sit at the resort but at the same time want a luxurious and pleasant stay with value for money then you might want check this out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Severina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Severina

Address: Senhor Francisco Road, near St. Anthony's Chapel | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#5 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Severina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Severina is an architectural Endeavour, conforming to the orthodoxy yet refreshing & surreal... An attempt to re-incarnate a lost glory of vernacular heritage, ethos, culture & architecture... that’s Casa Severina for you, a charming boutique retreat in Goa. This Hacienda with all its luxurious trappings is located in Calangute.This unique property is situated on a quiet street away from the clamor... The Casa is not a hotel, it is a gracious residence …an experience.Like a family house... guests are received here as a part of the family.True Goan Art de vive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Casa Severina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Severina Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Severina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.