We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow..wow...wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Severina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Severina to your Saves list
Casa Severina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Senhor Francisco Road, near St. Anthony's Chapel | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wow..wow...wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The place is absolutely wow, everything starting from the check in, the rooms, ambiance, staff everything was just excellent.

The location is little off the main road, but that adds to the hotel advantage as you get a very peaceful stay.

The check-in was smooth and in no time we were in a different era in the truly heritage room. The room itself was spacious and opened in a private balcony. The bathroom was neat and clean. A new design with the towel everyday was amazing and always forced me to click some pics before using them. The bed was very comfy.

The only problem in the room was that the table provided is very small and it's difficult to dine in the room, if you order a couple of dishes.

The well at the entrance offers a mud pot and you can pose for some snaps. There is also a lovely fountain with fishes right behind the reception. The retro style telephones placed at the corners were a delight.

The dining area was done very tastefully and the breakfast served was very good. There is a small garden with a good fountain and chairs to sit and enjoy facing the dining area.

Elita was always there to help right from the check-in to check-out.

Overall a very good stay with memories to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sir,

We, all at Resort Casa Severina, THANK YOU for staying with us and for your valuable comments; we have noted your observation and already considered.

I am pleased that you have mentioned our staff, since it encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our GUEST.

Look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    124
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
31
252
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for five days in November 2011. The rooms was outstanding for the price, and the service and helpfulness of the staff was second to none. The food in the restaurant in the evenings was excellent, I would highly recommend Casa Severina to anyone looking for a quiet and relaxing break.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Dr.Grobby,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

WE, the entire Casa SeVerina Family thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward for an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for six weeks in January/February this year and loved every moment. The staff, especially Johnson, the General Manager, were very attentive and friendly. Any minor problems were dealt with speedily. Our room was very comfortable. Unlike some of the more recent visitors, we found the breakfast good - especially the Indian food. We are looking forward to a return visit in the New Year. R and M, Cumbria, UK

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

MANY THANKS for staying with us for six weeks and taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. It gives us great pleasure to share your positive feedback with our Team.

We are looking forward to welcome you both again in the year, 2013.Rest assured.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

they say 74% of the people do not sleep well when at a hotel . well, casa severina proved that , that stays a notion. lemme start with the location of the hotel- best placed. we did not have any trouble finding it. all knows St. Anthony's Chapel but i suggest that the hotel have a sign board on the road side next to the chapel to make things easier.
The check in was not so smooth. the lady at the reception did not bother to even say hello when we came in as she was busy on the phone for almost 15 min , during the time which we received face wipes nd a welcome drink. she reminded me ,after her long chat on the phone ,that we did a mistake coming in too early and that we will have to wait to check in. ( check in at 1pm, we came in at 11.30). she took our id cards and left it on the xerox copy machine and even we for got to take it back. thankfully when we got back later it was still there and she took the xerox then and gave a sheepish smile. Rest of the staff was just great ( friendly and very helpful).
while waiting , Mr. Johnson , came in to greet us. he was very particular that we had a good stay and he made sure he would do his best to help us. he got us the room as fast as he could and thoroughly apologized since we had to wait. he is the best person to ask if you want to know the places around.
now the room ( pool facing , ground floor) was quite nice. huge enough, nice and comfortable bed ( had a gr8 sleep) and like the site says, colonial style archi, yellow lights all around with the switches spread here and there. bathroom was clean and spacious. had a small prob with hot water on the second day but was rectified immediately. there is a balcony that faces the pool .
the complimentary breakfast, i must say, need a huge overhaul. very less choice and the not really on the tastier side.
all the happening places are very near from the hotel premises.
overall i must say its a great place to stay but i wish there were more managers like Mr. Johnson around. Thanks to you and you team.

pros-
location
room
nice bed

cons
desk staff
breakfast
l

Room Tip: try and get a room on the first floor, pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

We THANK YOU for taking the time, to write a review. Glad to know that you were pleased with the location, structure, rooms, facilities and the resort in general; noted your observations and have taken required action

Thanks for choosing resort Casa Severina, for your holiday in Goa; sincerely anticipate welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Casa Severina. The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the beach. The entrance to the beach is a bit dirty with discarded bottles and some glass, but once you are past this, it's a clean enough beach to enjoy in Goa (it's not as bad as it sounds).

There are a selection of restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk which we ate in every night. However the 'hustle and bustle' of the main strip of Calangute is a bit further so would require a tuk tuk or scooter. 

The room was comfortable and the grounds around the hotel were very nice - a decent sized pool, decorative fountain out the front and a large fish pond in the main building. 

The staff were mostly friendly and helpful. The only real negative to note was the rather basic breakfast buffet. Some of the hot food was unappetizing and often cold. The staff at breakfast were also rather distant. 

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the trip advisor. We have noted your remark in reference to breakfast and assure you that we have taken corrective measures so that it does not repeat again.

Secondly, we have documented your comment in regard to entrance to the beach and forwarded to the competent authority for necessary action.

All of us at Resort Casa Severina thank you, for choosing our resort for your holiday in Goa-India.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Casa Sevrina is a wonderful heritage resort for anyone looking to spend a relaxing holiday in Goa. It is a 5 minute walk to Calangute Beach.The staff are warm and friendly who make the stay a pleasure. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The bathrooms are neat and well maintained. They also provide a hair dryer which is very useful for women. All rooms have balconies attached. The food at Casa Sevrina is quite nice.The aloo paratha is a must try. We experienced some technical difficulties with the air conditioning which was taken care of later. Overall a good experience at this heritage resort. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

We are delighted to know that you were happy with the staff courtesy & hospitality, resort facilities, room comfort, quality of food served in our restaurant and the resort in general.

The entire team of Casa SeVerina utters gratitude to you for choosing to stay with us. Sincerely look forward to welcome you - yet again, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Its a heritage Resort located near Calangute Beach !! but not on the beach.The resort is maintained well and the quality of food also very good especially the sea food items.The Bike and car is available on rent as per our request to explore Goa in a better way !!!

Room Tip: Give a preference to rooms in First floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSeverinaResort, General Manager at Casa Severina, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you, for taking the time, to write on the trip advisor in reference to your recent stay at resort Casa Severina-Goa, India.

Look forward to welcome you back, in the near future.

Kind Regards

Johnson Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Severina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Severina

Address: Senhor Francisco Road, near St. Anthony's Chapel | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
#5 Family Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Severina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Severina is an architectural Endeavour, conforming to the orthodoxy yet refreshing & surreal... An attempt to re-incarnate a lost glory of vernacular heritage, ethos, culture & architecture... that’s Casa Severina for you, a charming boutique retreat in Goa. This Hacienda with all its luxurious trappings is located in Calangute.This unique property is situated on a quiet street away from the clamor... The Casa is not a hotel, it is a gracious residence …an experience.Like a family house... guests are received here as a part of the family.True Goan Art de vive hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Casa Severina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Severina Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Severina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.