We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citrus Goa

Save Saved
You added Citrus Goa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Citrus Goa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Umtavaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 99 hotels in Calangute
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and found it to be great value for money. The front desk was polite and helpful. The room met our expectations. The breakfast was simple but well made and the staff at the restaurant extremely accommodating. We also got free Wi -Fi for our rooms which was great. All in all good value for money and very centrally located @ Calangute

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    155
    29
    14
    13
See reviews for
131
144
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked the hotel from 9th Nov 2012 for 3 nights on the basis of reviews from TripAdvisor.
A lot of people said that it is clean and comfortable but it was not at all.

After arrival, we were taken by the hotel staff to our room, we saw a really disgusting mattress standing on the hallway. Ok. We get it that you are changing mattress. But we do not want to see it on the way to our room the disgusting mattress that you are about to change and wondering what mattress we might sleep on tonight. Is it innocent or stupid? At least, they should have not left on the hallway.

When we got our room, all the dampness marks were everywhere on the ceilings and the walls.
We asked to change it to upper floor so it could be better but the same marks were on the ceiling.
The AC did not seem to work property in spite of the memo the hotel left on the AC control was 'do not turn it off due to condensation issues'. But leaving the AC full on 19C did not still help at all.

The room was quite smelly because of the their condensation issue and you could hear everybody on the hallway. Nasty brown or black stains on the chair and sofa in the room.
We had to check out after one night even if we knew that we might not get our money back. Without hesitation, we went to straight into vivanta by Taj. When it was more or less the same price as this hotel, we were quite surprised. How come we ended it up here?

Ok. I can see the hotel is trying but not good enough. I asked on check-out that why it is so mould and staff answered it is because of the weather in Goa and they are trying to paint all the dampness mark every year.
I think they need a better solution than painting every year constantly.
Better AC would be a good start.

I would not go back and recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the property for 3 nights starting November 8, 2012 through November 12, 2012.

The rooms, lounges and restaurant appeared to be newly built and in all the property was nicely maintained. The rooms and surroundings were clean and tidy. The highlight however was the 'Service'. Right from the folks at the reception, the chefs and the bell boys...we recieved impeccable service and were pleasantly surprised with small little things that they did every now and then

The pool could have been larger but nevertheless it was well maintained! One of the best hotels in the Calangute area and if you are looking be where the action is, then Citrus is the place to be. Is definite THUMBS UP from our end...we had a really nice time thanks to you guys!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Seamless booking, good food, lovely pool and very friendly staff. All in all we had an excellent stay at citrus goa. Proximity to beach is good too.
When we reached there the entrance was non impressive and I though o myself 'oh god. It's one of those website pics impressive but rubbish in real life kinda place. But we were pleasantly surprised as the lobby takes you to a quaint little resort away from the street's hustle bustle. Good spacious room and huge bathrooms with all amenities. We had a wonderful time at the resort. WTheir pool is really good too

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A very nice hotel. Helpful friendly staff in a good location. About 5minutes walk from the beach.

The room was clean and modern, and the pool and sun loungers were all clean and nice. I only ever ate breakfast, but the food was nice and the staff were friendly and welcoming.

I was staying on the ground floor, and the housekeepers kept opening and leaving the ground floor balcony door unlocked once they'd finished cleaning. So something to keep an eye on. There is a safe in the room, but still a potential security issue.

Room Tip: Phase 2 rooms (only £30 more for the week for me) from the outside atleast look a lot better than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wow, what can I say, AMAZING!!!!! everything about this hotel is top notch, front of house are so friendly and just great especially Deepak, such a nice man, with an amazing smile, makes you feel really welcome, as do his staff, just don,t remember their names lol!!

Rooms are just soooo nice, as you see on website they are just as nice, breakfast amazing so much choice, pool area brilliant, sun loungers so comfortable.

I could go on for ever, the room cleaners so friendly, smiley, and nice.

All I can say is if you want an amazing hotel at a 3 star price this is the place, I hope they don't up the rates now I have bigged them up lol.

Fantastic stay to finish my Goa holiday, ps stayed here 10 AMAZING nights!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is located around 500mtrs from the calangute beach with the shopping are very nearby. Quality of the food in the reastaurant is excellent. Moreover it's reastaurant is open for 24hrs. The maintenance of the room is not upto the mark. The room-121 we stayed has some dark patches in the ceiling and walls. Hair dryer in the bathroom was not working. Else the stay was very comfortable. Staffs were very helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citrus Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Goa

Address: Umtavaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Calangute
#6 Spa Hotel in Calangute
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
#13 Romantic Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Goa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Citrus Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Goa Hotel Calangute
Citrus Goa Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citrus Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.