We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place and beautiful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Reverie

A Reverie
Holiday Street | Gauravaddo, Calangute 403516, India
+91 9823 174 927
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 274 Restaurants in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A Reverie is dramatically transformed with a fresh approach and energy. Our dishes edible installations and all is not what it seems! Food can do much more than just fill your stomach. At A Reverie, we are particularly interested in triggering memories through aromas, landscapes, childhood, surroundings and life. Some creations play with aroma, texture and flavour while others are designed to be provocative, tell a story or evoke an emotion. Most importantly, deliciousness! A Reverie is an expression of the evolution of the food on the table and the surrounding environment. We want your experience at A Reverie to be anything but dull. Nothing about a meal here would be humdrum. From our appetisers or sharing tapas plates and main courses to our stunning array of sweet'treats' that round off the meal, there will always at least one dish that makes you feel glad to be alive. At a more profound level, it's about food that resonates on an emotional as well as sensual level and "it demands psychological reflection". In other words, one doesn't come to A Reverie for a meal, one comes for an experience............
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and beautiful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is gorgeous in terms
Of decor. The staff are very welcoming and efficient. The menu is fabulous with very tasty food and big portions. Visited 2 times

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are really touched with your review and hope we can only get better...Thank you....we do aspire to be the very gleaming apex of culinary experience in Goa...and work hard at it...with patrons like yourselves...we hope A Reverie can achieve that.

Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    57
    17
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and perfect sizes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The restaurant have à very nice decorations and you feel completly in another world. The staff are very friendly and very polite. We went there 2 times and the food was very good, the taste and quality are from high level. I would recommend the baileys icecream very delicious, i would recommend it to all only its little bit expensive but its worth every rupie.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are really touched with your review and hope we can only get better...we really wish other diners appreciated the same and understood the finer nuances as you have of your dining experience at a Reverie and that this quality of food, setting and service .....off course comes at a price.

Thank you....we do aspire to be the very gleaming apex of culinary experience in Goa...and work hard at it...with patrons like yourselves...we hope A Reverie can achieve that.

Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor) A REVERIE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Staff not to be trusted”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nice restaurant with good food but unfortunately you can not trust the staff. Our iPad was stolen from the restaurant by one of the staff how probably through it over the fence and picked it up later. We were one of the last clients at the restaurant and it was impossible not to see it when they clean the table. The managers claim to have routines but we are of the opinion that they did not take the incidents seriously before we mentioned that we would write a review here on TripAdvisor

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We thank you so much for your feedback ...We are glad that you enjoyed our meal.
We have been in touch with you as you are aware from the very next day after your complaint of theft.
It had nothing to do with Trip Advisor...to be honest...we didn’t even know about trip advisor until recently and only registered ourselves with Trip Advisor 3 days ago as owners .

In 13 yrs; this was the 1st time ever that we had a complaint like this.....as per our talks...guest leave money, purses, cameras and other valuables all the time. Be assured our staff’s credentials are as honourable as it gets. All our staff is registered with the police.

You had also threatened to call the cops to which our reply was that we would be more than glad.

In fact; if you recollect ....before you could...we had contacted the local police authorities and had our staff questioned who went over the camera footage and checked all staff accommodation the very next day. We also told you that we had only 1 access point and our staff is frisked thoroughly.

We are also aware of other restaurants where you went and complained about this incident. We are truly sorry for your loss but consider it in-appropriate and sad that all this has to be done in such bad taste.
We are sure or at least hope that you have found and tracked your I-Pad by now and would really appreciate if you let us know if you have.
God bless.

Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
“The waiter didnt ask how I wanted my steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I had to ask the waiter if he wanted to know how I wanted my steak done, he said "oh we usually just do them rare" the service just went down hill after that, the guy was just hopeless

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are really grateful your review and hope we can only get better...apologies for the delayed response....
We can assure you that as printed on our menu, the Steak is cooked to order – (Blue, rare, Med- Rare, Medium, Med- well, Well- Done & Very well done)
I think there is a slight communication gap ....We reckon; you are referring to the fillet beef Carpaccio which is classically supposed to be raw but for food safety reasons, we serve it slightly cooked i.e. rare.
Nevertheless; kindly accept our apologies and allow us an opportunity to serve you again...we assure you ...that you won’t be disappointed.
Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fine dining at it's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The setting is out of this world. We would never be able to afford to go somewhere as beautiful as this if this restuarant was in England. It is expensive for Goan standards, but worth every rupee. The decor is very stylish, even the toilets are of a high standard, Would really love the wash basin in my bathroom at home. The attention to detail is excellent. The food is devine, and the staff very well trained in their service. Sat in the restuarant, you would not believe you were in India. A great place for special occasions. Recommend highly, and will return again.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aakritee, Owner at A Reverie, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
We are really grateful your review and hope we can only get better...

We are really touched and almost humbled and hope we can only get better...we really wish other diners appreciated the same and understood the finer nuances as you have ........with your dining experience at a Reverie and the justified PRICE

Thank you....we do aspire to be the very gleaming apex of culinary experience in Goa...and work hard at it...with patrons like yourselves...we hope A Reverie can achieve that.

We have recently launched a concept of special dining with our Chef’s special celebration table and another one called the Lover’s table.....both come with the works ,,,,,on prior reservation...we go to any lengths to make it a special and memorable evening....

We have a fabulous new menu; can’t wait to have your over for a meal and give us your feedback.
Sending our best.....
Aakritee (Chef & Proprietor)

P.S - would gladly design a basin like that for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Reverie also viewed

 

Been to A Reverie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Reverie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.