We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word to describe the hotel, i.e. Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calangute Grande

Save Saved
You added Calangute Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calangute Grande
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Maddo Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 118 Calangute B&B and Inns
Guwahati, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One word to describe the hotel, i.e. Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My trip was for 3N / 4 Days. It was a suite room. Very well arranged and clean. The hotel is new and certainly looks the best right now. The living room had an LCD TV then the bedroom also had a LCD TV. The bathrooms have bathtubs attached and the maintenance of swimming pool was also very good. Staff hospitality was really good. All were very supportive and especially the manager was very helpful. The arrangement for bikes and transfers was also arranged by them at an affordable rate. The food was quite expensive but the quality was commendable. Overall i will recommend this hotel to all the couples as privacy is all yours when you come to Calangute grande. Hats off to you people.. Thanks

Room Tip: Choose suit room. balcony, living room and bath tubs will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    75
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
92
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived at Goa for a romantic holiday but it turned out to be otherwise since the brochure & the hotel are very different. We booked an executive deluxe room which was cozy but the chairs was cramped. The staff especially Savio, Sandra, Sabina were very helpful & polite. The food for the first two days of our trip was excellent. All credit should go to Sukumar who is a wondeful cook. The only problem is with Ratul Sharma who increased the price of the food as soon as we shifted the room from exceutive deluxe to suite room. The food became from excellent to bad & not to mention there is no errand boy to get medicines. Also since my wife was sick we ordered for chicken sandwitch we were given a club sandwitch of extremely poor quality & when asked upon we were told that discount would be given on food.

The hotel doesnot have a car to take to the beach. The parking at the hotel if you come by your own transport is at "owners risk" so please donot risk taking your vehicle. The drop from hotel to airport was bad since the cab driver was driving recklessly.

Room Tip: Please choose a suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have nothing to complain about the hotel for the price they offered the room. It's a small property and good budget hotel. The rooms are decent and it has a small pool and decent restaurant/bar. The staffs are friendly and helpful. There are 2/3 shops near the hotel where you can rent bikes. The calangute beach is around 2/3 kms and baga beach also nearby. I would not mind staying here again next time I visit north goa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pipariya m.p.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

i stayed in calangute grande with my wife & two daughters for 3 nights 4 days( 3rd sept. to 6th sept.2012). to tell u the truth it was a wonderful stay there.excellent hospitality & very polite & helpful staff specially mr. Ratul Sharma. he is always ready to help u & his suggestions are very practical,his behaviour with the guest is very familier. .hotel is neat & clean, room is good & comfortable & same as shown in website.swimming pool is small but very clean, children enjoyed it well. locality is good as calangute beach & market is at walkable distance.only one drawback that is balcony in the deluxe room is very small & of no use. we realy enjoyed the monsoon in goa. i will always prefer calangute grande whenever i'll visit goa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

we stayed in calangute grande 3 days n 3 night in september monthe. Area wise it is not very grande.The hotel is actually like what u see on website. Very helpfull staff. We stayed in executive suit room n it was very neat n clean. The place where we enjoyed a lot during night was lounge.At the time of booking we don't know /bout lounge,they recently started it . My son who is just 3.5 year also enjoyed there. The food was very tasty,especillynon veg i liked.
Swimmimg pool is small in size but still we relaxed there. I like there hospitaliy.Goa itself is a wonderfull place. U are always welcome there n definitely love to be there. v are also planning to go next year in same monthe(sept) n will definitely stay in same hotel CALANGUTE GRANDE.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hgt,india
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed there two couples in this hotel from 31'st Aug 2012 for three nights.The stayed was excellent & Price affordable,we booked through hotels.com very cheap price at this three star hotel & this hotel out side location not too crowd.good food & good polite staff & very close most papular beaches Bagha & Calangaute.we there enjoy saterday night Disco at this hotel fully enjoy every moments.remember not comfort just 1)not available tea maker in Room,2)south goa tour by bus for couples (mini bus) & old condition bus through this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hospitality given was excellent. the whole crew was very helpful towards all the requests. Particularly the manager, Savio make us feel not being stranger to new land of Goa for our first visit. facilities are good, no any complaints on that. the hotel also assist to arrange sightseeing for our group in goa. Only very minor things that could be improved:
1) probably a tag to for room cleaning service,
2) we had high expectation on river cruise, maybe it bit too basic

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calangute Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calangute Grande

Address: Maddo Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Calangute Grande 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Calangute Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calangute Grande Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calangute Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.