We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling home sick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cap's Corner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cap's Corner to your Saves list
Cap's Corner
Calangute - Baga Road | Cobrawaddo, Goa ( near Indian Spice ), Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Bangalore
2 reviews
“Feeling home sick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First and foremost, people who stay here aren't considered guests at just another hotel. Clayton and team go out of their way to make them feel like family and that's exactly what we felt like when we were welcomed home at Cap's Corner.
Ideally located at the heart of Baga, you have access to everything. A short walk to the beach, the infamous Tito's lane and all the 'must visit' restaurants. Though, the food at Cap's Corner would surpass many the dishes served at these ' must visit' restaurants and therefore a foodie's delight.
What more to say other than, looking forward to visiting home in Goa really soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsorner, Owner at Cap's Corner, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi Sam!
Thank you ever so much for the lovely review and for giving Cap's Corner a chance to serve your crew and you. We had a blast in doing so & we hope to welcome you home again, sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    103
    17
    1
    5
See reviews for
44
87
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our first ever trip to Goa and we stayed at Cap's corner with two of my friends..3 of us in 2 rooms and I should say it was a wise decision to pick this place.

Cap's Corner - The place:
A very friendly and homely atmosphere. A warm smile welcomed us along with a welcome drink and a flower for the lady. Check-in time is 12:30 but they have a lovely terrace to chill and restrooms to freshen up. Everyone is very friendly and made us feel like home.

Rooms:
Very clean and tidy. Spacious enough. There is a minibar in std a/c room with water, softdrinks and beer. In the outhouse kinda room I retired into, I dint want open ventilation in the bathroom and it was quickly fixed - no questions asked. Our rooms in the ground floor had sitouts, a good place to have a smoke. There is also lot of privacy.

Location:
Excellent. Right in the midst of the lively happening Calangute-Bagha main road but still tucked away in a small lane from main road. Its quite and peaceful, a few steps out and you are there on the main road. There is also a pub/bar right next to the hotel entrance lane and open almost all night. So its a good option for who want a quick drink in the crowd and crash immediately. (there are 2-3 dogs outside this bar which bark and chase people riding on bikes at midnight - really pissing off)
Tito's lane is just 800 meters and Bagha beach a little over 1.2 kms. Someone mentioned its 5min to Bagha beach and I'm not sure if they were walking or running or riding to the beach.

Food:
As we were in Goa, we made sure we go out and eat local dishes at various places including Brittos. But I shd confess the food quality and taste is the best at Cap's. Whether its the complimentary breakfast or the Goan specialities (or shd I say Cap's splecialities), everything was so delicious. However, the time between your order and table/room delivery of food is easily between 30-50 mins. But we could make out they prepare food fresh and hence the time taken.

The Owner:
The owner of the place, Clayton was very friendly throughout our stay. As this was our first trip, he gave us a lot of information and it was indeed helpful. You ask him about Apples, he'll give all the details and also will give bonus briefing on its cousin's Oranges and Pineapples. He's got patience to talk to people, greet them, have a friendly conversation. He truly made us feel at home. Even the staff - receptionist Melissa, the Boys, Waiter (Chandru) were all welcoming and nice to us.

Overall, Cap's was really good and it made our stay peaceful and enjoyable. I'm surely going back to Goa and definitely staying at Cap's again.

Room Tip: Its not a hotel so rooms are a bit inconsistent esp the bathroom sizes. Outhouse kinda room in groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsorner, Owner at Cap's Corner, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Hello Suriya!
Thank you for your kind yet frank review ! We're at C.C loved you & your friend's company and are glad to have served you. We can only hope to present a better welcome vis a vis stay at our humble abode. All the very best to you all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was a great place to stay -- very hospitable. Felt very much at home. The breakfast is complementary and is great. There was no free wifi but thats hardly an issue. ITs a great value for money and the location is simply great with Titos and the beaches just nearby. I thank Mr. Clayton, Ms. Melissa for their hospitality!

Room Tip: AC rooms should be more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsorner, Owner at Cap's Corner, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind review & we at Cap's Corner are all glad that you had an "A" time! We hope to welcome you home again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel is pretty good. Its clean, very near to the Baga beach, less than 5 minutes walk. Staff is friendly. We only had breakfast in the hotel and it was good, though slightly overpriced for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsorner, Owner at Cap's Corner, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review & it was indeed a pleasure to have been of service. We only hope to welcome you home again in the near future!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my wife. It was a relaxing stay. The staff was nice and courteous. We arrived at around 9:00 - 9:30 in the morning. The receptionist and the owner sounded a little strict about the check-in time of 12:30. The receptionist even mentioned that they charge for half day extra for early check-in. We got our room at around 12:20. and sat on the roof-top restaurant till then. If you want to check-in early, sort out the logistics before hand.
The staff and owner in general were helping. They arranged pick up and drop for us from Panaji bus stand. They have a pickup/drop rate and they quote it to you before the service. So it's your choice whether to avail it or not. They also arranged scooty for us and guided us in sight-seeing. We also liked the food a lot. The complimentary breakfast was very nice. They also cooked a special vegetarian Goan cuisine for us which was delicious.
There were two issues overall that bugged us. One was that the keyholes of the door-locks were completely see through and one could see our room entirely from that which was a privacy issue. We brought it to the notice of the owner and he got it fixed immediately. Another thing is that if somebody is talking loud, or you are talking reasonable loud, it is quite audible in adjacent rooms and balcony. Some guests in our adjacent room were arguing late in the night and our sleep was disturbed for a good 2 hours.
Overall, it was a pleasure trip and the hotel owner looks very keen to improve upon valid feedback. So, writing genuine experience and not flattering him up for his own good. :). I would like to visit this place again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsorner, Owner at Cap's Corner, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Hi Animesh !

Thank you for your honest review! We may not be able to stop other guests from having arguments late at night, the least we can do is ask them to refrain from the same, which we did.
Thank you for bringing the point about the key hole to light, though after a thorough check, no other room had the issue. Furthermore, the immediate solution to which had been provided is permanent, so the next time you decide to stay with us you'll be more at peace ! looking forward to welcoming you home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were searching the internet for a stay in north Goa for our short vacation, when we stumbled upon Cap's Corner. After reading the travelers' reviews and ratings we decided to book an AC room for our family of three. Overall experience during our stay has been very comfortable and relaxing. The rooms were very clean and the balcony added to the relaxing experience. During the evening of our arrival, we had couple of issues with the flush tank and the fridge which were resolved within a short time in the same evening and with much urgency, which we sincerely appreciate. The complimentary breakfast quality is also commendable. The guesthouse is conveniently located with shops, restaurants, bars and the beach within 5 to 10 mins of walking distances. I thank Mr. Clayton, Ms. Melissa for their hospitality (and the surprise b'day cake:) ). Thanks to Prakash for his excellent room service and I must make special thanks to their driver, Mr. Kumar who took personal initiative to ensure that we get the tickets in time for the evening boat cruise. We can definitely recommend this guesthouse to others who are looking for a hassle free and relaxing stay in this part of Goa and we too foresee staying here again in the near future.

One suggestion to include for future/further up-gradation or improvement would be to have Wifi (or cabled internet) in the room since this is an age of connectivity and our lives/activities depend on the internet to a great extent. I used my 3G phone connection to remain connected and hence no complaints
--prerana/pratima/jyoti banerjee

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsorner, Owner at Cap's Corner, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Mr.& Mrs. Banerjee,

Thank you for the kind review ! We were happy to have had the pleasure to serve little Prerna and you both. Our doors will always be open to your lovely family. All the very best & we do hope to welcome you home to the "house with stairs" in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Calangute & Baga beaches in North Goa are undoubtedly the most active and happening areas of North Goa. And Cap's corner is just ideally situated to let you enjoy the both, with least commuting efforts.
Cap's Corner is quiet, comfortable, clean, and has just everything you need to have while staying in Goa. It didn't take long before a sense of familiarity got established with the owner and the staff, and this, we feel, is the best part about an accommodation for anyone on travel.
The room was good sized and airy accompanied by a nice balcony.The AC was a big relief for the likes of us who are not used to the humid climate of Goa. The service staff was always on the toes to serve you.
Overall a wonderful stay worthy of repetition. Clayton, the owner is more of a friend now than just a business relation.
Shashwat & Priyanka

Room Tip: Deluxe A.C. room on the first floor (the one towards the alley) worked the best for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capsorner, Owner at Cap's Corner, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Shashwat & Priyanka,

A heart felt "thank you" for your kind & informative review. Yes we do build relationships besides business and all of us here at Cap's do hope to see ours grow. All the very best to yo both and we look forward to welcoming you home again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cap's Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap's Corner

Address: Calangute - Baga Road | Cobrawaddo, Goa ( near Indian Spice ), Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap’s Corner is a family run guest house & has been in the business for over 16 years.Our motto is “Value for money at attractive prices”. Centrally located in the ever popular town of Calangute yet nestled away from the busy Calangute — Baga road, Cap’s Corner is only a five minute walk from the beach, the market etc.. We also pride ourselves of regular guests from India & as we as Denmark, Sweden, Germany, the U.K, Ireland & many more .Cap’s Corner has 14 rooms, so everybody is treated as a part of the family, with our warm staff & individualized service. Our objective is to make people feel at home & satisfied by caring for all our guests.Right from our well reputed kitchen to the careful cleaning of your room & to our exquisite individually arranged excursions, we’re sure you feel at home from day one.We are happy to welcome you to sunny Goa & are looking forward to seeing another member of Cap’s Corner’s universal family!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cap's Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap's Corner Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap's Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.