We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chalston beach resort-nice expeirence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalston Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chalston Beach Resort to your Saves list
Chalston Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Street , Khobra Vaddo , Calangute | North Goa, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Calangute
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“chalston beach resort-nice expeirence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

fantastic place to be quiet and be away from crowd, best service, nice atmosphere and staff also very helpful. clean and neatness. superb ambiance. one and only thing i would like to suggest abt the breakfast provided. if hotel people manage to give some variety in breakfast that will be too good. because eating bread everyday makes your breakfast boring. rest of the things are "the best"

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    167
    41
    7
    8
See reviews for
98
119
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I stayed here with my wife for 2 nights. It's a great property right on the beach with beautiful grounds and a nice pool.

We booked the sea facing room. Since we had booked the groundfloor (based on recommendations on Trip Advisor), we were unable to actually see the ocean, it didn't have a balcony, and the fact that it was ground floor made it felt less private. In hindsight, I would have either saved my money and gone for a regular room or request a 2nd floor room with a balcony. Room G9 is real nice however; it's on the ground floor right around the corner from the more expensive sea facing rooms and it has a nice little patio.

Onto the room itself, it really is very nice. It has a nice comfy bed, air condition, fan, TV (with Star Network and a few other English language channels), safe, and is nicely decorated. The room is very nice. However, after seeing such nice grounds and the room, we were extremely dissapointed by the bathroom. We found the bathroom to be quite grubby. It had an Indian style shower and in fact, the whole bathroom was wet when we checked in. Even the waste bin had a few inches of water in it. And the toilet never flushed all the way. While the room is what you would expect from a 4 star hotel, the bathroom looked like something you'd find in a cheap budget hotel (except for the fact that there was hot water). Note that there is handsoap but no shampoo.

Breakfast is included and served in the restaurant. It was just okay.

Room Tip: if you don't mind the ground floor, take room G9. It's right around the corner from the more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Juz can't wait to write my fantastic experience in a fantastic hotel so I am writing from my way back on journey

Room type : Seafacing large AC

Stayed with my wife n kid...

Unlike others I didn't face any problems and not even felt that they are more attentive towards foreigners, owners are always around whereas I didnt feel going to them as I didnt feel any problems...

Very hygienic in cleanliness..

Fantastic food in whole of the area, it's just they need to give more options on breakfast but otherwise every dish is at it's best

Awesome working staff and good room service

Most of all, it's right on the beach offering free beds with clean beach and no disturbance..

I would suggest if anybody wants to stay at calangute, hit the road.. Reach the hotel and

Have Fun!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I checked in on 30/12/11 along with my wife and our only boy child. The room was allocated to us was probably the best room in the hotel complex facing the Sea and the beautiful garden inside the hotel premises. We had to pay Rs 8500/- per day on CP as it was during year end. The location of the restaurant is awesome, right on the Calangute Beach. The quality of food served during dinner and lunch was even better than the restaurants in adjoining area. The breakfast was o.k, needs to be improved further. It was a great experience for us on 31/12/11 with a candle light dinner and lot of fireworks while welcoming the new year. To be frank, you don't expect any service to your room for breakfast and principal meals during the peak season. It takes about 30-45 minutes time to get a cup of tea/coffee or snacks. Overall its a good hotel and suggest you to stay there.

Room Tip: Room No. S-30 (Large Sea Facing Room on second floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed at Chalston for 4 nights during second week of Feb.... This is a great place to stay in North Goa and I belive this is only best property that is bang on the Beach and at same time can suit all type of travallers from budget to upscale....

Pros:
--Great location, right on calanguate beach.
--Nice restaurant, that serves great food (bit lack on Vegeterian side but still lot of choices). The restaurant gives a clear view of Beach and at evening plays live music from rock to rajasthani dance.. Try seafood, it's amazing.
-- Well maintained garden area and small but maintained pool with pool bar.
-- Security and smwhat private\less crowded beach as this is about 150 mtrs away from main calanguae beach and about 200 mtrs away from Baga, so that gives a feel of private beach.
--The hotel is best when travlling with kids.. My son loves the pool and ample garden space to run around..


Cons..

-- I stayed in Cottage, that I strongly beleive is overpriced @ 4000 Per night with the kind of furniture and services I get. Atmost 3k should be right rent for this. But the cottage gives some privacy with a small lawn. Try other rooms\villa which are better priced and near to beach than cottages.
-- Lightning in the cottage room was dull and gives it a sadistic look.. Hope this will be improved, shared this feedback with Mr Chalston, owner of this hotel.
--Very limited room service, only tea coffee toasts.. If need anything else then had to go myself to restaurant and get the stuff packed. A room service would have made things better.


But overall a great place mainly due to it's location, garden and restaurant..

Room Tip: Don't go fot Cottage, they are overpriced @ 4K per night. Standard AC room or villa should be fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This was our second visit to Goa. We wanted to be closer to the beach this time so we could avoid the crazy town environment if we chose. This location is right on the beach. You sit and have breakfast facing the beautiful ocean - perfect.

Room - this was very good (by Goan standards) I particularly felt the bed was good (again by Goan standards). The bathroom was a bit basic but fine. The shower was a bit of a challenge to achieve a reasonable temperature for any length of time but we worked it out eventually.
Breakfast was, in rotation, scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs and omlettes. However the cost of buying what you want is pretty fair. Or you can go to any beach shack for excellent value.

We had a meal at the hotel one night and it was very good. Lovely to sit al fresco listening to the ocean in the background.

I would go here again but I think we'll probably head for the slightly quieter Candolim area if we return next year.

Room Tip: There are either rooms that have a sea view/swimming pool view - these rooms get the sun all day, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We traveled as a group and had booked 6 standard AC rooms.
The location was perfect - right on calangute beach near to where all the action is.
The restaurant had a nice sea view and right there we had beach beds which were free for hotel guests.
You have to just sit back and relax in the beach beds and laze around or go for a swim in the waters. Absolute bliss.

Now to the bad part:
1) The rooms: They were below average, cramped and the small wooden balcony was rickety. A big let down. Cleanliness was maintained though.
2) Furnishings: There were hardly any. There was an open cane "wardrobe". Small beds and towels.
2) Food: Free Breakfast was nothing to write home about. Lunch was OK.
3) Service: Restaurant staff were OK. The Front Office staff are not present/can be a little more welcoming.

I guess the room charge (2500) seems VFM at first, but, it's all for the location and the rooms were compromised.
Overall, I gave 4* only for the location.

Room Tip: All the Standard AC rooms suck
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalston Beach Resort

Address: Beach Street , Khobra Vaddo , Calangute | North Goa, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalston Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalston Beach resort is a family run beach property in Calangute. There are 5 different room categories including standard ac rooms , large ac rooms , deluxe ac rooms , garden cottages as well as beach cottages. All rooms have ac , tv , fridge and a safe deposit box. Rates and tariffs are inclusive of breakfast and taxes. The property also has a beach restaurant , sunbeams by the pool and the sea , a swimming pool all surrounded by lush and extensive gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Chalston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalston Beach Resort Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalston Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.