We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found a Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baga Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Baga Villa to your Saves list
Baga Villa
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Near Santiago Hotel, Khobra Vaddo | Baga, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 140 Calangute B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We found a Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Before we left Goa in March 2013 we went to look for other accomodation in Calangute - Baga area, we found this Hotel, we were shown round, their rooms had A/C Fridge, Kettle, TV, Shower Toilet, and it is not far from the beach, you can use the swiming pool at the Santiago for a small fee, bus service at the end of the lane. We booked straight away for eight weeks from Jan - March 2014.

Room Tip: Ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    15
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We came here after spending two nights in a fine but unremarkable residence, and we only wished we had had our taxi drop us here first! We really, really enjoyed our stay with Heidi and Jimmy, who were so friendly and welcoming. When we arrived to look at a room Heidi made us a coffee and they also brought my partner a birthday cake, on our second night; that sort of friendly and welcoming! We loved popping in and out for a chat, sharing a couple of fine local port-wines, lazing about reading from the book shelf, and coming downstairs for a delicious omelette, coffee and soft bread rolls (with lashings of salted butter! yum) for breakfast. It's the perfect location for exploring Baga and Calengute, as it's situated right in the middle of both, and there's oodles of shops, stands, and restaurants all around. Were sad to be leaving after only four nights!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

A friend and I recently spent 2 weeks at Hotel Baga Villa and I can't say enough good things about it. The hotel is situated in a quiet lane, about 2 minutes walk from the main shopping area and maybe 10 minutes walk from the beach. The owners, Heidi and Jimmy, describe Baga Villa as a budget guest house but don't let that put you off. The rooms are spotlessly clean - they aren't serviced every day to respect your privacy but you only have to ask and they are done. Breakfast is lovely, loads to choose from. I used to like getting up early in the morning so I could sit in the (relative) cool and enjoy a pot of tea. Heidi, Jimmy and the staff (Sonny, Ravi and Jayesh) couldn't do enough to help. I wanted beans on toast for lunch one day and one of the staff was duly despatched to get the beans (Heinz!). I needed to see a doctor due to an infected bite and Jimmy immediately organized Sonny to take me to hospital on the back of his scooter (cost to see the doctor and have an injection - 270 rupees). I'd recommend going for a massage at the hotel at the bottom of the lane (I can't remember what it was called but Jimmy or Heidi will be able to tell you), cost 1650 rupees for a full body massage which was absolutely amazing. All in all, a wonderful holiday. I'll be back :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived after staying 2 weeks at Hotel Baga Villa, and we can not give it enough praise. We arrived to Baga Villa around 4.30am, Heidi the owner was waiting on us, when we arrived she was very very attentive and wanting to make us something to eat. As we officially should not have checked in until 12pm, we had no right to a room but a couple was checking out so Heidi and Sonny one of the staff cleaned the room for us and we were able to get a few hours sleep after a very long flight. The hotel is situated in a fantastic location only 5/10 minutes from the beach and restaurants/pubs etc but tucked away so you don't get any of the noise. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. The hotel only has five rooms which gives it that personal touch,we met some lovely people and sat and had drinks with them in the evening. Heidi and Jimmy (owners) are fantastic hosts and could not do enough for you as well as all the staff. Thank you for a lovely 2 weeks. Looking forward to next year already.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was here in Nov end last year with my my husband and my 7 month old baby. The owners were really helpful and patient doing small things for my baby like boiling water,sterilizing bottles etc.

I totally agree with other reviews about mentioning this place not as a hotel but "home away home".

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is excellent with following highlights

Owners are awesome in giving advises to visit places near by goa.

Boys working here were more helping in nature.

Breakfast is so yummy with plenty of items.

Located in peacefull environment

Finally i must say this is NOT a hotel but "home away home"

Room Tip: All the rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was there in November 2012 last week full 06 days with my wife .. its really excellent .. i love to go again & i will surely visit .. Baga beach is just 5 minutes away from there & its very easy & i feel safe area as well .. nice loaction .. in short excellent

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baga Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baga Villa

Address: Near Santiago Hotel, Khobra Vaddo | Baga, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baga Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baga Villa is tucked away in a quiet location just off the main Calangute to Baga road. It is clean, quiet and comfortable and endeavours to offer service to international standards, at the same time keeping in mind cost concious travellers so the rates are very competitive so that the guest gets a true value for money experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Baga Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baga Villa Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baga Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.