We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a place you will want to return to.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arabian Retreat

Arabian Retreat
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arabian Retreat
Save
You added Arabian Retreat to your Saves list
Guara Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
Guardamar del Segura, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“a place you will want to return to.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

very quiet yet close to the beach, and walking distance to market street, the bars, shops
etc. an ideal location. clean rooms, great service from the 2 lads they were always helpful.
we could not thank them enough for looking after us so well. we stayed for 2 weeks and would like to return this year, only problem is getting a booking as there are not many rooms available and it is very popular.

Room Tip: the rooms are basic but clean, you don't want to spend too much time in goa in your room. some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jalpaiguri, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed there from 2 November 2012 for 4 days.Liked the location, it is near the beach. Excellent hospitality, Ganeshji and his team were very friendly to us. Room service was very good, they helped us any time we needed, totally home like experience, and have to mention Kishoreji, he and his car

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a horrible experience here. 2 people broke into our room and took away mobiles, laptop, camera, purse and almost every thing.

The installed CCTV camera showed up 2 young men, walking smartly inside the guest house without a bit of hesitation. They never even looked at the reception door. Clearly suggests that these people are well used to these kind of activities at this place. There was no security and the care taker guy was in deep sound sleep. They were inside the guest house for around 20-25 minutes in the early hours , 4:30 am.

The only respite was that the owner Ganesh accompanied us to the calangute police station. Otherwise, we were all on our own to finally get an FIR from the dreadful police station. This had happened almost a month and half back and we never got a call back from either the hotel guys or police deptt.

To our surprise, we even got to know that similar such incidents have already happened in this locality in the past and we were not even informed about the scare till we had this horrible experience.The balcony door with the adjacent window is a perfect feast for the goons and the burglers looks all aware of this setup.

Pretty bad experience and will advise everyone to exercise due caution in case you wish to stay here. Guest House wise, it is pretty decent though. Its more or less well maintained but security is left a god's grace.

They felt installing a camera will stop goons, of course stupid thinking, because it will only help you to see to criminals not stop them.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks from the 8th December and couldn't fault the service or the rooms for the price I had paid. Ganesh and the two boys were very welcoming and were always available if I needed anything, on a couple of occasions I couldn't get my room key to work, and even when the reception was closed, they came to my aid. I had soft towels in the room, a rarity in Goa! The location is quiet, even though it is adjacent to a road. Being a lone female traveller, I felt safe staying at The Arabain Retreat and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: I had a non ac room and it was cool enough as there are two large fans in the apartment, and balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganesh_Manjrekar, Manager at Arabian Retreat, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear ThelmaandLouise45

Thank You for your staying with us. It was a pleasure to have you spend your holiday at our resort. We are indeed grateful that you have posted a review of your stay with us.

We feel extremely satisfied that you truly enjoyed our hospitality and felt secure at our hotel.

We look forward to your stay with us again, at your next visit to Goa.



Regards,
Ganesh Manjrekar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We enjoyed the Big Hearted hospitality of Mr Ganesh and team, who was so very energetic and service oriented. Arabian Resorts is very close to the beach as well as to the market venues. We enjoyed the peace and calm. Four of us stayed here and we were very happy with the cleanliness and simple but warm set up and upkeep. Brilliant job Mr Ganesh and team... would recommend you and Arabian resorts any day...
God bless you guys and prosper you for the wonderful heart you have.
We are filled with gratitude.
Thank you,
Martin Rebeiro

Room Tip: You will be stirred up to spend a few more days here than what you would have originally planned. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganesh_Manjrekar, Manager at Arabian Retreat, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank You for your staying with us. It was a pleasure to have you at our resort. We are indeed grateful that you have posted a review of your stay with us.

We feel extremely satisfied that you truly enjoyed our hospitality.

We look forward to your stay with us again, at your next visit to Goa.



Regards,
Ganesh Manjrekar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

wholly recommend this place for a no frills, low cost stay at Calangute. Well maintained and clean. A bit hidden from the main road, but its not too far. This is a perfect place if you are out all day and want to use this place to relax at the end of the day.

Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arabian Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arabian Retreat

Address: Guara Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach is just 2 min walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arabian Retreat Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arabian Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.