We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Government Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Calangute Residency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calangute
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calangute Residency
Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 99 hotels in Calangute
Hyderabad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent Government Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Right on the Calangute beach, this is a government property where everything happens at a leisurely pace. The rooms are small but nice and some rooms offer lovely sea view of Calangute beach.

The USP is that everything is close by. The Calangure market, Beach, shacks and water sports. The hotel doesn't have a private beach but you can not complain as the back gate opens right on the beach.

The restaurant is good and have a very affordable menu. The surprise package was the live Bollywood music where the singer sang Jagjit Singh's Ghazals and some songs from Shahrukh Khan movies.

Overall a good place for family but a little costly and worn out. The rooms are not well furnished and it seems the hotel is running on tight budget. Maintenance is poor. A little investment can jazz this place up but then it;s a government hotel and has the best location in Calangute.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    53
    34
    7
    9
See reviews for
52
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We went to calangute residency on Aug 31 , 2011 and stayed for 4 days. We chose that beacause it is at the shore of Calangute beach and quite famous also. It is a govt run hotel. We booked a cottage. View from the gallery was very beautiful & picturesque.

But service provided here is not so good. Cleaning of floor, utensils is not so good. Bathrooms are untidy. Balcony is very dirty. Staff is not so friendly.

Restaurant was shut down for repairs. Breakfast provided was very bad. They dint even cover the food while bringing from restaurant to the rooms, even if it is raining. So we prefer to take coupons which you can reimburse from the nearby Sagar hotel.

Rooms are big but so suffocated that you need AC. The AC may or may not work. It is also not sure that they will provide you the remote of AC. When our AC stopped working they even dint have another vacant room. Moreover they told us we cannot do anything until the manager in the morning come. Also rooms are crowded by useless furniture.

At the night time frogs can easily come into your room. Voices of cats and frogs can disturb you whole night. Moreover there is also danger of mosquitoes in the room.

One good thing is hotel has buses for north Goa and south Goa sightseeing at reasonable prices. They also provide a guide for the entire trip.

For more reviews you can go to www.chaytime.blogspot.com

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Stayed for six days... first shock at check-in: restaurant shut down for repairs so a tie up with a neighbourhood restaurant acts as "room service". Apparently the power back up is manual so black outs can last 10 to 15 minutes at a stretch...

The building is in a dilapitated state and I was extremely depressed the first day and seriously considered shifting (we were booked for six nights)...

The next day the view, the breeze the sound of the sea started taking my mind away from the property and the next five days weren't bad. The location is mind blowing but if anyone wants to stay in this property, I would strongly suggest a long stay so that the fantastic location has time to lift your spirits from the initial depression that the property will cause!

Do remember the only habitable rooms are the front - sea view rooms on the first and second floor (about 16 of them). I would not suggest experimenting with any other room / cottage.

Room Tip: The only rooms worth taking are the Front Sea Facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Don't let the rave reviews here encourage you to go to this hotel, nor any "Advice" by travel agents. Yes this hotel is v popular, located on a very popular beach (although Calangute beach how lost its charm) .

The moment we were lead into the room (keep in mind we had low expectations in the first place since its a Government run hotel) we realized that we can't stay here (yet we did for 1 night). The room was shabby, not well maintained, lying on the bed for a few minutes immediately gave us the itches and rashes. Curtains were dirty, and the room had a damp smell to it, later at night lizards crawled into the room, along with other creepy crawlers. Washroom while clean, was very inconvenient to use (broken pipe, etc).

We asked for another room, and were shown a different one which was slightly better, but triple the price, we weighed our options and decided to move.

Swimming pool was clean and acceptable. They have a spa, i didn't try it but it looked like they knew what they are doing.

FYI, Calangute beach has turned into a terrible, commercialized beach. Its beauty totally destroyed. I suggest going to South Goa where you will find better beaches and better resorts.

By next day we couldn't take it anymore and moved to another hotel (detailed in my other review)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
425 helpful votes 425 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Just like any other Government run facility, this three star hotel also is located in Calangute beach side with wonderful beach frontage. You look through the window or stand in the balcony, you can see the serene calangute beach. Tread to the beach at night and walk back as it takes 2 minutes to the hotel room from beach. Off season discount is not so much. Staff is not so friendly or courteous. They have two types of beach frontage rooms. First floor has got nioce balcony with more spacious rooms and second floor with cramped up space and no spacious balcony. They attract tourists by showing the first floor, but when you check in you'll find yourself in the second floor. So beware of getting cheated this way. Complimentary breakfast is okay, nothing special. Room service is quite bad. Rooms are poorly maintained. Mosquito and housefly menace add to the voes. Not recommended. No Value for money at all.

Room Tip: First floor beach front rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This is a real value for money when you are travelling in big groups. We were 4 families with kids and totally 15 of us. Booked 3 AC suit rooms facing the beach. First of all the hotel is right on the beach; so you can visit the beach whenever you feel like. The view in the mornings and evening was just out of the world.

Suite rooms are veery big to accomodate 5 adults. Whn u enter the room there is a sitting are for 4-5 people and then u enter the main room which has a double bed and a long sofa. We had also asked for an extra mattress. Being on the first floor the room also had a big terrace.

Being a government owned hotel, do not have big expecatations on cleanliness and service. They were just clean enough. The toilets are also good enough with a gyesey for hot water if required

Out of 4.5 days we had all our breakfasts and 2 lunches in the Blue Bay restaurant below the hotel. The Hotel is not the best, but food taster is good enough

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

After reading different reviews in Tripadvisor I was little bit worried that I have booked this hotel for my honeymoon. But after spending 5D/4N in Goa, I would say I took the best decision in my life. This hotel has the best location in Calangute, and the truth is Calangute has the best beach life in Goa. Bang on the beach, this hotel offered us complimentary breakfast, free river cruise, North/South Goa tour. We booked an AC Suite which came pretty cheap (Rs 4200 per night). The balcony was awesome overlooking the Calangute beach and Arabian Sea. You can simply sit in the balcony and enjoy Goa. Everything that you needed was near the hotel. The restaurants (Souza Lobo, Tibetan Kithcen), the market, and the most happening Beach of Goa, all were surrounding the hotel.
Calangute Residency is huge with garden, swimming pool and cottage all around. Since it’s a government property, the maintenance is not that classy. But the service is not bad. Whenever we called reception for drinking water, room service etc, we got a prompt response from them.
If you are going to Goa to enjoy Beach and Life, you cannot get a better location than Calangute Residency. There could be many 4 star hotel with absolutely marvelous interiors around Calangute, but none can beat the location of CR. You can enjoy the sea and come down to hotel rooms for changing in couple of minutes, no walking though market is required. That’s another advantage. The bedroom, washroom were clean and spacious. Only thing is, the Blue Bay restaurant inside CR is not upto the standard compared to many small restaurants over there. Not great choice of foods though they have an excellent location.
Overall we are extremely happy with Calangute Residency and had a great time in Goa. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is going to Goa to enjoy and have fun.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calangute Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calangute Residency

Address: Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 99 hotels in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Calangute Residency Hotel Calangute
Calangute Residency Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calangute Residency, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Calangute Residency to your Saves list