We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with brilliant location and scope to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lua Nova Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lua Nova Hotel to your Saves list
Lua Nova Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Saunta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel with brilliant location and scope to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed in Lua Nova for a night and the first thing that comes to my mind is the brilliant location of the hotel. Its located right at the road bifurcating away from Brittos on Baga beach. The swimming pool was surprisingly very nice since its pretty deep and you can see the mountains and paddy fields while having a good time in the pool. The food from the bar/restaurant attached is average but the guys serving them are very nice and cordial. Although I did notice that their check out time is ridiculous for a place like goa. 9 AM in the morning! By the time you are done partying and head back to the hotel its time to pack up and if you want a late check out you need to pay 500 bucks extra which we didnt really mind given the option to sleep peacefully and recover from our hangover. Overall a fine hotel if you dont intend to spend your time in it and just want for sleeping at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    14
    1
    11
See reviews for
10
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We (group of 5 friends) were on the lookout for a place to stay near baga and the hotel suited our plans perfectly. Had a hard time finding the hotel due to a blocked entrance (for some construction activity), everything else was a breeze though. An open mind and a look at the bill calms the nerves significantly. Enjoyed the pool too. Recommended if looking for a place near baga.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is decent, nothing great. However its very close to the beach, infact walking distance. The bathrooms are okay. Overall cleanliness is average.

Has a small swimming pool and bar.

There is a casino and A 24 HOUR BAR opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: take rooms facing the pool (not coz of the pool, but coz of the sunlight which will stay on the oppo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Well here are a few pointers which I feel trip goers should be aware of while booking this hotel:
Pros:
1. Very near to baga beach n titos which are according to me the best places in goa.
Cons:
1. Worst hotel staff I've seen.
2. Never is someone at the reception. We should always keep searching for these guys.
3. Had booked a triple AC room but was told that it is unavailable when we reached. No prior information was sent to us even after we called and confirmed with the hotel that we were coming there. Got two double bed rooms instead.
4. Dirty rooms.
5. Bad smell in rooms.
6. No telephone.
7. We were told that we'll be moved to the triple AC room the next day. That never happened.
8. Approach to hotel is very narrow.
Overall, if you're on a trip with family, this hotel is a complete NO. But if you just need a place to throw your bags and to sleep then you can still go for it as it is pretty close to baga beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calangute hotels

Meerut, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

A small hotel..but have everything you need..very near to beach(walking distance),a swimming pool , restaurant.beautiful view,close to all amenities such as casino,bike shops nd all.
All d employees are friendly and even the owner is very good at service. You ask nd u will get it.

Would definatly stay again if i go vth my frndzz.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

my college group was stay there in 2010 it was best hotel staff was good, excellent food.Pool was good, bar was handy & not pricey. Only had breakfast & snacks which were ok. Very handy for beach & town. Some guests were noisy, inconsiderate & rude which was our only point of concern. Management should be more aware! Hotel is in Baga not Calangute not that this was an issue for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

You get what you pay for. This is budget accommodation and good value. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff had to be reminded to change linen (should be done every other day) & clean. We found staff cheerful & helpful. Pool was good, bar was handy & not pricey. Only had breakfast & snacks which were ok. Very handy for beach & town. Some guests were noisy, inconsiderate & rude which was our only point of concern. Management should be more aware!
Hotel is in Baga not Calangute not that this was an issue for us.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking pool. A/C may be better as fan had little impact on night comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lua Nova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lua Nova Hotel

Address: Saunta Vaddo, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 99 Hotels in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lua Nova Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lua Nova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lua Nova Hotel Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lua Nova Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.