We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling is an understatement” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Goan Holiday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Goan Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Goan Holiday Resort
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Calangute-Baga Road, Calangute 403516, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 150 Calangute B&B and Inns
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Appalling is an understatement”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Filthy rooms and toilets, uncourteous staff and extremely unprofessional owner Mr. Guptaji. We had a booking at this hotel for two days which had been done through cleartrip and the payment for the room tariff was done online. However the staff decided to check us out when we were at the beach without even informing us and moved all our stuff. When we got back the room was occupied by someone else and we were informed that didn't have any vacant rooms for us. Then the hotel staff asked one of its guest to move out and gave us their room which was even more filthier, didn't have a curtain and everything in the room smelt of urine. Even the staff found it difficult to find my ID which I had given during check-in, as the owner Mr. Guptaji had it and was out sightseeing. The people and the service of the hotel is terrible and should be avoided.

Room Tip: Dont even try
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelandrestaurant, Owner at Goan Holiday Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
This is for your kind information, we have taken back the management contract from April 2012 on wards and now as owners we are managing the property by ourselves. so we request you to kindly give us an opportunity to serve you in the future as we have taken personal interest in the issues raised by the customers in the past. for further communications in the future you can also contact us at : goanholidayresort@hotmail.com or +917709967505, 0832-2914300 / 2725673
thank you
goan holiday resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    7
    6
    10
See reviews for
12
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Rooms were dirty, bathroom was filthy and bathroom towels actually smelt of urine (and no, i'm not exaggerating - it actually smelt like it was washed in urine/used to mop it up off some floor!!).

To top it all of, we were checked out from our room when we went to baga beach for some sight seeing. When we came back, the manager calmly told us that he 'thought we had checked out'. They also threw out all the stuff we had in the room. Luckily it wasn't our bags - just food and some drinks. After about an hour of arguing, we were checked into a different room. The lady staying in that room was asked to vacate the property and make way for us, so it appears throwing guests out is quite common. The room we were then given stank like a stable and there was no water in the taps (much less hot water).

I can go on and on about the place, but to keep it short - avoid this place like the plague!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelandrestaurant, Owner at Goan Holiday Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
This is for your kind information, we have taken back the management contract from April 2012 on wards and now as owners we are managing the property by ourselves. so we request you to kindly give us an opportunity to serve you in the future as we have taken personal interest in the issues raised by the customers in the past. for further communications in the future you can also contact us at : goanholidayresort@hotmail.com or +917709967505, 0832-2914300 / 2725673
thank you
goan holiday resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had booked 1 room for 2 nights... booked through a website and had done the entire payment in advance.
After the first night, these people wanted to give that room to someone else... so checked us out of that room, removed our stuff and later told us that they dont have a room for us because they assumed we had checked out.. Our identity card was still with them so I hav no idea how could they assume that. ALso after we fought and got another room... there was no curtain in that room.. there was a bed sheet tied in the name of a curtain. Also the towels smelt like urine..

Room Tip: Please DONT book this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelandrestaurant, Owner at Goan Holiday Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
This is for your kind information, we have taken back the management contract from April 2012 on wards and now as owners we are managing the property by ourselves. so we request you to kindly give us an opportunity to serve you in the future as we have taken personal interest in the issues raised by the customers in the past. for further communications in the future you can also contact us at : goanholidayresort@hotmail.com or +917709967505, 0832-2914300 / 2725673
thank you
goan holiday resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We booked Goan Holiday Resort through Cleartrip for 3 nights on a promotional offer which promised Rs. 1500 cash back within 5 days.....it's been a month and we are yet to get the money and Cleartrip says we did not enter the coupon code (which, of course we did!). Goan Holiday Resort cost us 4800 for 3 nights.... cheap you would say? NO! Coz the room that we got should be worth only half the price! It was a tiny room with a broken AC which had the capacity to only make the temperature bearable! The furniture were dusty and the room was never cleaned in the 3 days we stayed there! Forget room service and restaurant!

The only reason I rated the hotel "poor" and not "terrible" is the Hotel Manager Dinesh who was polite and helpful and arranged for our full day sight-seeing tours to North and South Goa which were good.

Also, the hotel location is excellent, both because it is very close to the Calangute beach and the lane on which the hotel is located is also very vibrant with lots of shops and great eateries.

Overall, I think if you are a young gang of friends, you can stay here.....but do so only after going there and checking the room yourself, because if you make the full payment before going, they will give you a bad room! Definitely not recommended for couples or families!

Room Tip: If you have to book this hotel, do so only after going there and checking the room yourself. Do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our trip to Goa was memorable with our stay in one of the beautiful locations "Calangute". We resevered in Goan Holiday Rsort where we enjoyed the true Goan culture. It is such a prominent location that connects good beaches.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Me with my husband and kid planned for a trip to Goa and booked this hotel. Location-wise it was good as it is very near to Calangute. But our trip turned into misery when after 1st night we found that our valuables(Camera, Purse, earrings, 2 mobiles) have been stolen while we were asleep. Footprints were found on the outside wall and it seemed that the thief entered our room through the skylight and quietly moved out through the balcony door. We found it open when we woke up.

Hotel owner was least co-operative regarding this matter. He did his best to avoid facing us while we were present there. At least Goa police was trying their best to help us out. We have a 3 year old child and I still quiver in fear with the thought that she could have been kidnapped or we could have been harmed otherwise!

Honestly speaking, Goa is truly an amazing place but the way we were greeted (except Goa Police), freaked us out! As you all can understand, after this, I really can not recommend this hotel to anyone!

- AnjanSree
Kolkata

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

After staying with friends for one week, this was the best hotel i could find. The location was very good. Just walkable distance to calangute beach, hotels and nightclubs. Rooms were neat and the service was average, but the receptionist and the manager was very friendly and prompt. As soon as checked in to the room, the Air conditioner, socket plugs, refrigerator, water heater and Television was not working. After complaining it to the reception. The manager itself came to room and inspected and assured to fix by 11 at night. It was weird to fix at 11,But, anyway i got it fixed at 11.30.
It was reasonable after i bargained for 3 rooms. I got it lesser than 1000 for 3 occupancy room.

Room Tip: No swimming pool was available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goan Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goan Holiday Resort

Address: Calangute-Baga Road, Calangute 403516, India
Location: India > Goa > Calangute
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Calangute
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Goan Holiday Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goan Holiday Resort - Calangute is an ideal option for discerning tourists, honeymooners as well as leisure travellers visiting Goa. It is located on Calangute Beach Road in North Goa, Goa. The Calangute beach is 5 minute away. Sightseeing trips can be organised by the resort on request.It 20 well-appointed rooms that are categorised as Deluxe Room, Super Deluxe Room and Family Room (6 persons max). Guests have access to in-room amenities like television with cable connection, intercom facility, refrigerator, safe deposit locker, and an attached bathroom with bathroom toiletries, geyser and 24 hours hot and cold water supply.There is a restaurant called Shree Sagar at the hotel that offers a variety of dishes. Guests can also savour their meals in the dining hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Goan Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goan Holiday Resort Goa/Calangute

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goan Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.