We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A heaven in a heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Incredible English

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Incredible English to your Saves list
Incredible English
Plot No 22/23, Adsurlim | Behind Dando Football Ground,, Benaulim 403716, India   |  
Hotel amenities
chennai
2 reviews
“A heaven in a heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

A trip to GOA itself makes us feel so excited and what if we get a chance to stay at the best hotel in GOA. I would recommend all the tourists to GOA to stay at SILKEN SANDS to find yourself lucky. A heavenly place in the city of beaches. I bet you sometimes would prefer staying at hotel and enjoying the day rather than visiting places. It makes you that comfortable. Swimming pools that can make you all the more excited just by a look at it and the Luxurious rooms with TV and AC and the mouth watering sea foods can make you feel that you are just at the right place that you wanted to be. Not just the luxuries provided by this hotel , the central location also helps you to travel less but still visit more places making your tour as pleasant as you wanted it to be. With so many options left you could really be confused to choose your stay at GOA.. but trust me.. SILKEN SANDS would be the best choice to make. Maybe it could make you still more comfortable than what i have told you but never less!!

  • Liked — rooms and swimming pools
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
2
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
World Traveller
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Silken Sands hotel while backpacking through India. We decieded to visit Goa after hearing that some travellers come for months at a time for the beaches and parties. While the Goa scene was not really our cup of tea, the Silken Sands hotel was one of the best values we've had in India. It probably helps that we visited in the off-season, but what we got for our money was far beyond our expectations. It was by far the nicest hotel/hostel/homestay we had in India, but not the most expensive. A good combination.

The staff are helpful. The owner is friendly and looks after the needs of his guests. The hotel can arrange tours, pickups, food, and pretty much handle anything you need if you're in the mood to relax and don't mind spending a few extra USD than you might haggle on your own.

There's a pool, a resturant serving reasonably priced bland westerner-oriented "everything" food, a patio, and a strange little fountain. Standard double rooms are VERY spacious with a nice bathroom, hot water, strong A/C, fan, a huge selection of cable channels, available wi-fi (IDR 120/hr or 400/day or 1000/week). The bed is soft and a real double rather than the usual 2 singles pushed together. There's a laptop in the office you can use to check your email.

The bus route swings near the hotel, so you can get around for cheap and avoid the overpriced ricks and cabs when travelling light.

Yes, there are brownouts, but this is still India, despite what seem to be the wish of foreigners who visit Goa. Some lights, the fan, and the wi-fi stay on thanks to the hotel's backup power. Hallway lights go off, so you might want to have a flashlight ready just in case.

It is a fairly long walk from the hotel to the beach or to town. The bus is a good option. There is a dirt football pitch out front which means no noisy neighbors, but a bumpy ride in if you are in a rick or cab.

In the low season, this place is a great value and the staff are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

Terrible location, off a dirt road in the middle of no where, not close to the beach or any main attraction. Terrible service starting from the imcompetence of the front desk staff to the owner of the hotel who would walk the property drunk. Breakfast room looks as if you were in prison. The electricity was off after 5-6pm and on and off during the day. Towels and bathroom so dirty. If you homeless and poor only then would i stay here.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

Stayed at Silken Sands Hotel on a half board basis for 2 nights in January 2008. We are four senior citizen experienced in traveling in the far east. Hotel is 5 km from Madgaon City which is about 20 km south of Goa and Panji. Hotel has about 25 rooms, is on 2 above ground floors and does not have an elevator. Utilized 2 rooms. Rooms were totally functional, adequately sized and clean. Bathroom was satisfactory with plenty of hot water. AC, fan and all amenities operated properly. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is located approximately 1 km from Benaulim Beach, which is a quiet location. Nearest large beach is Colva about 3 km distance. Beaches are soft sand and clean with virtually no rubbish on them. Water is warm. Plenty of eateries and gift stalls at the beaches. Hotel arranges all transportation at reasonable rate. Cost of transportation to beaches is a fixed rate. Being on half board basis breakfast menu was fixed (juice, eggs, toast, coffee/tea) and there were several choices for dinner. Food was excellent and prepared with minimal spices. Meals are available on either the open patio deck or the dining room. Recommend hotel for tourists of all ages. Did one day of touring to Goa, Panji and northern beaches and we are glad we stayed at the Silken Sands Hotel. All were nice. We paid $45 per night per room on half board basis.

  • Liked — Size of room, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Incredible English? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Incredible English

Address: Plot No 22/23, Adsurlim | Behind Dando Football Ground,, Benaulim 403716, India
Location: India > Goa > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible English (earlier Silken Sands)is situated in a small village of Benaulim which offer’s all the basic necessities of English language training center and hostel for a student and for tourist. It consist of 07 well equipped air-conditioned training rooms (with a maximum of 10 students per class), 19 air-conditioned residential double bedrooms and 05 shared rooms with four twin beds in each shared room, ensuite bathroom with hot/cold water(without a kitchenette,Internet Café, free access to Wi-Fi, Bollywood Restaurant & Bar open for breakfast, lunch and dinner from 7.30am to 10.30pm, lawns, outdoor pool, a sun deck terrace and 24 hours security, qualified and experienced Indian English Language Educators. The entire school/residential building including the open terraces/balconies are a non-smoking zone and DO NOT HAVE ROOM SERVICE FACILITY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Incredible English reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incredible English Goa/Benaulim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Incredible English, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.