We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Grove Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benaulim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Grove Cottages
Save
You added Palm Grove Cottages to your Saves list
Tamdi Mati | Vasawado, Benaulim 403716, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at the Palm Grove Cottages in January 2014. The rooms were somewhat basic but clean and had everything needed including warmish-hot water, air-con, a mosquito repellent plug-in was also provided which was nice. The in-house restaurant was good and we enjoyed our meal there. The manager was polite and attentive as were the restaurant staff. Price was just over Rs. 2000 per night which seemed about right for the room and location (10-15 walk from the beach).

Overall very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

get a lot more than usual .
Wrong, wrong, wrong.
Let's break it down, price 3650 rps per night ( new block room)
Air con, fan, big double bed, balcony yes, yes, yes, oh one bottle of water on arrival
TV,kettle,shower gel, no, no no and no SAFE in room
Balcony covered in soot and rubbish,they light a fire beneath to burn all the rubbish.
You are supplied with one small soap and two sachets of shampoo on arrivals itch your key
The complimentary breakfast beats all. Tea/coffee, two toast each with jam/marmalade( teaspoon of either, not both) fruit salad !
I made a mistake and asked for some jam as my wife had the marmalade and we needed another butter pat.
We were charged for it. I'm sorry, but this is just mean and we will not ever come here again. There are beach towels provided, but I don't know when they are last washed.
On the plus side the owners appear very friendly, but that might be because they just booked in another mug.
When I paid my bill , the owner/ manager apologised for the charge at breakfast and said it should never of happened. He did not however offer the money back

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Lovely tropical gardens providing a peaceful romantic setting with friendly attentive staff.
Rooms in three bands and a bit overpriced. You definately pay for the setting.
Good attractive restaurant, with very Goan menu which was a bit limited in choice but not quality.
Dont know if it changes as season becomes dryer, (we stayed a week up till mid November), but the tropical gardens do have a downside. MOSQUITOES! especially near reception where you need to be virtually sat on the router to get online!
TV and tea coffee making facilities in room would have been nice. (Is this me being British?).
Ideal for a romantic short break, but pricey compared to numerous apartment style accommodation available nearby.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms at front of establishment can be a bit noisy with local barking dogs. Welcome to Ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice and clean rooms located in a very beautiful palm garden. Approximately 15 minutes to the beach. Really good restaurant with delicious seafood and a perfect service. Only the hotelmanager was quite unpolite and unfriendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We visited Palm Grove Cottage in the mid of August.
This property is quiet close to Madgaon railway station (around 7 km) if one is travelling by train.

First thing which caught my eye was the greenery all around, the place lives up to its name. This place does not have air of a typical hotel and one is treated as a guest and not as customer.

Caretaker Mr. Wilson is a very friendly person and is ready to help whenever asked. At the same time does not poke his nose in every business of yours.

Huge collections of book are available at the reception and can be borrowed.

Wi - fi connection is available in common areas (reception, garden and restaurant).

Benaulim beach is very near to this place and its one of the pristine and secluded beaches of South Goa.

There are few issues as well:
No provision of room service
No TV in the rooms
No complimentary water bottles in the room
As the restaurant is open, there are lot of mosquitoes.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Small buildings between trees and flowers, comfortable room with veranda, birds singing in the morning, excellent food not spicy in the Palm Garden Restaurant between trees and shrubs with picturesque lamplight in the evening, very friendly attitude of the owners and staff and also as an additional advantage walking distance only to the sandy beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I know this is late but must post this as I think this is one of the nicest places I have stayed in Goa. The Delux room in the new block was extremely clean, comfortable and had good air con. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and the restaurant served some very good food. All the staff are polite and smile all the time. The owner and his family were very attentive and even spent time helping me with a "dog" problem. My partner and I stayed here over Christmas and New Year (2012/13) and had a lovely relaxing holiday. The cottages are only 10mins from the beach, a few minutes from other restaurants, supermarkets and shops and there is a laundry directly opposite the main gate. Will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: The delux rooms in the new block are worth that bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove Cottages

Address: Tamdi Mati | Vasawado, Benaulim 403716, India
Location: India > Goa > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Cottages Hotel Benaulim
Palm Grove Cottages Goa/Benaulim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Grove Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.