We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely visit to Palm Grove Cottages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Grove Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Benaulim
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Grove Cottages
Save
You added Palm Grove Cottages to your Saves list
Tamdi Mati | Vasawado, Benaulim 403716, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Another lovely visit to Palm Grove Cottages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at Palm Grove sadly, for only a weekend, but once again it felt like coming home! The rooms in the new wing of the hotel are lovely and airy, with the most comfortable beds (actually better than the one we have at home!) The staff at the hotel, as well as the owner Cristhe, are always extremely welcoming and helpful and nothing ever seems to be too much to ask of them. We also both really love the restaurant which is perfectly located amidst beautiful greenery and which serves extremely tasty and extremely fresh food. The rooms don't have TVs so you can enjoy the quiet, natural surroundings without any distractions. We really wouldn't stay anywhere else in Goa!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    17
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Located away from the busy commercial strip, yet close to restaurants and shops, the Palm Grove Cottage is a very good choice in Benaulim. The staff is very helpful. The hotel is surrounded by a magnificent and well-maintained garden. The only downside is the 15 minute walk to the beach; however, scooters may be rented near the cottage for only Rs250 per day. We did not like the hotel's restaurant and decided to eat on the commercial strip.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new section are slightly larger and re-furnished; they also include a fridge .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed in palm grove cottages for 30 days, it is quite expensive we paid for the luxury room, about 3000 rupees per night. Very nice bed, clean room, air con worked well and was modern unit, clean bathroom,great garden.Very tranquil place, an escape from the madness and mayhem of India.No swimming pool, or television, or wi/fi, they do not accept credit cards, so you have to pay cash. The beach is about 1 mile away, quite easy flat walk. Restaurant does not have a large selection but the food was was always good. Annies laundry just across the road is great value if you need some laundry done.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We opted to stay in the cheaper block for 1800 IND rather than the more expensive block and it was basic with warm rather than hot water but it served a purpose. Set in a lovely setting within its own complex and behind security gates it is lovely and peaceful. The restaurant is fantastic and would say is one of the best in Benaulim with lovely waiters. The restaurant is a credit to this place. The only down sides were towels were only changed every other day - we had to really twist her arm to get clean ones every day (they were tiny and didn't dry) plus the electric shock from the shower, it didn't look like the wiring had been checked in 30 -50 years - a wire ran straight into the shower head!! Also if mosquitos like you - put on the deet - given the foliage there were mosquitos everywhere! Nice place to stay but no wifi and no laundry facility but this can be done across the road as can bike rental.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

A very nice family-run guest house located at the edge of Benaulim. Very peaceful location (until we arrived with our young children). We saw a room in the older block but opted to stay in a larger room in the new block; both rooms were immaculately clean and beautifully presented in colonial Portuguese style. Staff were very friendly, helpful and accomodating staff. What you don't get is TV or WiFi, but as my daughter had expressed a little dismay at the lack of TV, the staff sent some children's books and a board game over to the room, which is quite representative of the attention we received during our stay. Very effective AC, and our room also had a fridge. The beach is a 15-minute walk, or more sensibly a 50 rupee rickshaw ride away once the sun is in force. The resturant is good, and run by the very engaging Archie, who looked after us nicely. There is a laundry and general store right outside the gate, but watch the bike hire place- not the best maintained bikes in the world.

We had a great stay, and were sorry to move on on. We stayed at peak season (Christmas week), and the price represented good value compared to other offerings at the same rate.

Room Tip: Staff were happy to show us the available rooms, so take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We travelled as a couple and we stayed for 5 nights, October 2011. After travelling for a month and a half around India, this was one of our favourites. No bugs at all!!! The owner made us feel very welcomed and was always helpful. We stayed in the cheaper rooms with AC but weren't disappointed, as we found them to be very cosy, good size, with a little balcony overlooking the amazing garden, although the AC was a little noisy. The beach is a 15 minutes walk and we would definitely recommend it to anyone (single, family or couples). The security guards (24/7) at the main gate were really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

place is very well maintained and a great place to relax.. but little too far from the beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove Cottages

Address: Tamdi Mati | Vasawado, Benaulim 403716, India
Location: India > Goa > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Cottages Hotel Benaulim
Palm Grove Cottages Goa/Benaulim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Grove Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.