We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Exotica Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Exotica Goa to your Saves list
Taj Exotica Goa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calwaddo, Benaulim 403716, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Benaulim
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I don't often give outstanding reviews but this hotel really does have it all. Location, rooms service all superb, stayed for four nights so plenty of time to evaluate. Nothing was too much trouble. Various restaurants, the only one which was slightly in need of customer service evaluation was the Chinese restaurant, but maybe we caught them on a bad night. When we checked out at 12 we had four hours to wait for our taxi - no problem keep the room till 4! We went back to the room and received fresh water and roses - nice touch. I would definitely re visit, possibly not when the temperatures are so high but a really super experience.

Room Tip: Personal choice would be a room that goes out onto the garden - nearer the sea and also get a hammoc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    292
    50
    22
    13
See reviews for
555
521
40
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

It was our first time to Goa. Going by the TripAdvisor reviews, we decided on Taj Exotica. It was a great choice! Our vacation was amazingly wonderful and memorable! We felt that every aspect of our stay was taken care of very well. We stayed here from Apr 22-26. We availed a 4 night package which included the meal plan.

The property is definitely set in a very picturesque part of Goa and the whole ambience is simply heavenly. Inspite of the hot temperatures, we had a great time, thanks to the personalized touch and the hospitality extended to us.

We were upgraded to a Sea-view room and were given an early check-in. As we had left home at 4am to catch the flight to Goa, this was a very welcome gesture. Again on the day prior to our departure, we could avail late check-out as our flight was in the late evening. Both early check-in and late check-out were a huge help because it allowed kids to relax and in turn, made it really easy for us.

Coming to the package, it was really well-conceived. Best part was the meal plan. We felt that it was put together very thoughtfully and practically. Our kids, 12 and 8 year olds, simply had a blast with the vast spread of the buffets, live kitchen and to top it all, they were thoroughly pampered with special chocolates, waffles, pizza etc - courtesy, the thoughtful staff at the Eugenia Cafe, Italian and Goan Restaurants.

Synthia at Eugenia Cafe always made sure we were comfortable. Everyone, from Tarun at Italian restaurant to Dinesh at the Goan restaurant, and all the wonderful folks at Eugenia, made all our dining experiences, simply awesome!

When It was time to leave, of course we didn't want the vacation to end! A complimentary pizza was packed for the kids and water bottles were kept in our taxi. It was really amazing to see so much thought being given to make even our departure comfortable.

We had heard a lot about Taj hospitality but we got to experience it first-hand. It was our first trip to Goa and first time at a Taj resort. We had been to other 5 star resorts. So far, this has been the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

They say you should never return but having had a fantastic holiday at the Taj six years ago and in desperate need of a relaxing holiday we are glad we ignored the maxim. From the moment you arrive you feel that your comfort is their priority. We opted for a room with a garden view, the room itself was spacious and clean and they provide bottled water and fresh fruit every day. Bed linen and towels are regularly changed- towels daily if you require. The pool is fantastic and there are plenty of beds to choose from. The staff throughout the Taj are amazing, friendly and very helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We ate one evening meal at the Taj and enjoyed it but we always eat at the shacks and local restaurants. The Taj has some sun lounger beds on the beach but a water sports company (nothing to do with the Taj) has set up close by, it can be noisy and there can be a smell of diesel fumes. There also appear to be quite a few more dogs on the beach now so you do have to be careful and watch where you are stepping.......... Would we return to the Taj? Yes most definitely and especially when we need complete relaxation.

Room Tip: We have stayed twice in what they call 4th street. Our room 408 had a lovely garden view with a dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed in Taj Exotica for two weeks and we loved every minute of it. The Hotel is luxurious and service one of the best !!! Everybody made our stay unforgettable. Room service was fabulous !!! From fresh fruit in our room every day to clean towels and lovely bedding.Nothing was too much .The restaurant staff always had a smile and service was excellent. Food was amazing and lots of it !!!!! We ate in all restaurants and every one of them was fabulous with delicious food and fabulous service. I enjoyed them all from Goan curries to Lobster Shack !!!
Pool area is immaculate with hard working pool staff who remember your names and rooms !!! Who can ask for more ... clean towels...flowers...cold bottled water !!!!

I also loved my Yoga lessons twice a day , massage in Spa and bicycle ride in a morning !!!
We enjoyed chats with friendly staff and Hindu lessons.

My husband enjoyed his golf lessons with wonderful Raj ......

The hotel delivers everything that it promises and much much more !!!!

We were very impressed with everything , the only thing that we could grumble is that we felt sorry for the gate staff on beach duty !!! The guards were standing all day in unbearable heat guarding the gates from the beach, making sure we were safe.I felt like buying them chairs so they can rest in between guests coming in or going out !!!

This hotel is truly magnificent one. It was the essence of India, if you want a super modern hotel than go to Vegas, but since this is Goa it was in colonial style. I loved the vast gardens that were in pristine condition, the service and the lot.

Thank you to all staff for making our stay truly unforgettable .

Room Tip: We stayed in villas . Our room was on a ground floor . It was very quiet with a lovely garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I travel in India often and usually stay in Oberoi hotels where it is possible. As Goa sadly lacks an Oberoi I turned to the Taj group. Taj Exotica is all about relaxation. Beautiful beach, although very hard to get a sun bed as so limited in numbers, but a stunning, empty white sand beach. The Lobsteer shack which hovers above the beach is greatbfor fresh grilled fish and to listen to the waves with a cocktail in hand. Food was average for a five star resort hotel, but the hotel excelled with it's staff who were lovely. Particularly the assistant food and beverage manager and Ash in the Lobster Shack. The spa and gym was good and as expected. The pool was nice although a little too warm. We had a private pool with our bedroom which wasn't the best, again very warm and a little dated, saw were the rooms. The Taj group tends to go for more glitzy decor than the stylish more modern Oberoi rooms, really depends on personal taste but decor was not really my taste. Also bedrooms really in need of some updating. However we did have a really lovely relaxed holiday with lots of happy memories of our time at Taj exotica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanelli
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

WE were totally impressed with everything that the "Taj" could throw at us, from the front gate to the waters edge. Every employee had a smile and welcome, could not do enough for our stay.
Our room was excellent, fresh fruit and water every day, fresh bed linen and towels daily( done by our efficient room boy "Azul"). All amenities were first class. The location of the Hotel is in a " very quiet area" , with a long sandy clean beach, but be prepared for "local girls" trying to sell items from their shops. We would not recommend B/B. as there are very few restaurants near to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolhapur, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went there as a group of around 20 people, including kids.
The rooms are huge, luxurious and very comfortable, but in desperate need of renovation. They are great and solid, but seem a bit too dated.
The activities are well maintained and attended to. The pool is very clean and water seems nice as well, but they need a mechanism to slightly cool the water in the summer, because it's very uncomfortable to swim in hot water.
Cricket is also fun to play as the ground is huge, but the pitch is not in the centre and close to trees and the pool on one side, making you mainly play only on the other side.
The food in the Indian section is very disappointing. It's got variety but isn't tempting at all, except the Kali Dal.
The Italian restaurant, Miguel Arcanjo, is superb, especially the pizza and the soft bread basket.
The breakfast is amazing, in taste and variety.
The room service takes a lot of time sometimes, so order with patience.
I got superb service everywhere, but the group was disappointed. So, that remains as subjective, this time around.
The spa is a must visit. It's expensive but worth it. I had a few procedures and they were all very well done.
The lobby is very hot in the summers and needs to really cool down.

One tip: Don't wait for the buggy every time. They are not the strong point here l, as they almost always time and don't exactly go everywhere. I've not tried that too often, as I love walking there. But I've also gotten it immediately and had to wait for a long time. So, check it on your own.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Exotica Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Goa

Address: Calwaddo, Benaulim 403716, India
Location: India > Goa > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Benaulim
#1 Family Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south coast of Goa on the Benaulim beach, a mere 27km from the airport, this 56 acre 140 room resort has a 700 meter beach frontage and a lovely view of the sea. With 3 specialty restaurants, a beach front season seafood shack, a 24 hour coffee shop, 2 bars, 2 spas and a seasonal outdoor spa pavilion, this resort is a popular haunt for the international as well as domestic travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Taj Exotica Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Goa Benaulim
Taj Exotica Hotel Goa
Taj Exotica Goa Hotel Benaulim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Exotica Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.