We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review after stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Exotica Goa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Taj Exotica Goa to your Saves list
Taj Exotica Goa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calwaddo, Benaulim 403716, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Benaulim
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Review after stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I know it would be a while since i wrote a review for this hotel , after my amazing one of the most memorable , unforgettable loving honeymoon . The way they greeted us , with an early check in , the wonderful welcome drink , the amazing Spa , the outstanding buffet , every person from Freddie , to Prassana , to the GM ... the love that my family recieved was out of this world . carrying a Baby was never so simple . The Milk bottles were there when we needed them , the milk was made to perfection , the golf cart was there always in no time .. it was simply the stay i wished ... Thank you Taj Exotica as i would never forget every minute of my lavish wonderful stay at your outstanding resort . I would give you 7 stars for the service and shall always stay with you if i am traveling to GOA .

Room Tip: Plunge pool ... take the plunge pool ... take the private plunge pool .. its worth it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    292
    50
    22
    13
See reviews for
556
522
40
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goa, India
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I spent some time at Taj exotica as part of Deccan Odyssey trip. The location and the property are just awesome with lovely beach and green spaces. The service though was pathetic, it took them 45 mins to get a one-dinet drink. There were limited options for vegetarians, and whatever was there was also inaccessible. There are absolute chaos at the buffet. This could be one off day when service was bad, to give them the benefit of doubt.

Room Tip: If you cab get beach view rooms, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Great Place to stay - very courteous staff and cosy rooms.
Get a beach facing suite, it makes it just perfect. The restaurants are good. The choice with food could be better though. You have a cafe and couple of restaurants.

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms - you can sit in Balconies and enjoy the sea breeze and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great hotel and staff. Excellent property. Great maintenance of gardens. Exceptional restaurants especially Li Bai, the chinese restaurant. We were skeptical of a Chinese restaurant and tried it only on our third night. But then got hooked and ate for the rest of 4 nights at the same place. Of all the restaurants here, this offers great value. Even though they are costly, I found them worth the money and didn't dare to eat outside.

The pool, children's slide are very good and well maintained. The sunscreen lotion and other accessories are kept free which is a nice touch.

Their spa is excellent.

Room Tip: The villas outside main building offer quiet time but might need a buggy during hot days to reach lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wife, kid and me just came back from an amazing 4 day trip to Taj Exotica. There is nothing more to a write about this magnificent property than what has been already written here by other fellow reviewers, 54 acres filled with lush greenery, range of resort activities, nice pool and of course the deal sealer the (almost private) beach. Of course the Taj hospitality is in full work at points of interactions, right from checkin to pool to dining, people are always around to help but never intruding in your vacation or time. There are a few beach shacks that have fresh sea food at very reasonable rates, our special shout out to Zumbrai.
We went with our fodors guide and plans to see the city at least for a day or so in the full 4 days, enjoy the sites of Goa but never stepped out of this wonderful resort and the great feeling of doing nothing that it casually rubbed onto us. At times sitting on the hammock we did observe how the surroundings were like our experiences in Cabo or Tahiti or Big Island (and in this case not having to fly that far). So fellow traveller if you want peace, quite and luxury of a do nothing vacation then head over to Taj Exotica, if however you want the crowded beaches and loud music and beach vendors then perhaps you should consider looking elsewhere.
As for us and sights of Goa, perhaps another time, and for this time we will try (yes try) to break away from the enchanting spell of Taj Exotica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Taj Exotica has all the ingredients of an excellent resort: beautiful gardens, good facilities (especially the spa and gym), great staff, pretty good food. Overall, we enjoyed our holiday. Our Garden Room was lovely - we could lounge in peace and quiet by our own little pool all day rather than being bothered by noisy children and smokers by the main pool.
However, there was one flaw from our perspective: all the restaurants have inexplicable supplements on many of the dishes for those guests on a meal plan, which means you are paying twice for many options. Two dishes might be priced at 975 rupees but one would have a 600 rupee supplement, seemingly unrelated to the cost of the ingredients or any extra effort required in the preparation. Many guests stay on a B&B basis so they have the flexibility to dine at the hotel or at one of the many local restaurants that are much cheaper.
The cost of alcohol is also high, even the local Indian wine is way overpriced and is more expensive than cocktails. We expect to pay 5 star prices, but we don't want to be fleeced. As a result the bars are empty and the restaurants are barely half full, so there is little atmosphere. The other reviews suggest that this is not noticed by those travelling with their families. It is, however, less fun for couples. Just a few minor tweaks could make this a really excellent resort for all types of guests, eg: sunset happy hour, weekly cocktail party for guests to mingle.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden room with a pool. Avoid row 6 as it is on the outer edge of the property and ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Lovely resort. Staff were brilliant. Beach was excellent, though its not a private beach, never had any problems with anything or anyone. Beach and water very clean. Good choice of restaurants within the resort but pricey. . . as expected from this kind of resort. Went for long walks on the beach in the evenings with no problems or worries. If using taxis then haggle with them as you have a choice to use taxis based in the resort or use ones waiting outside. There are various activities such as football, tennis, nine hole golf course and gym but we just went there to relax only. Only downside is Goa's various taxes, there is liquor tax, luxury tax, some kind of education tax. E.g. Used wifi for 30 minutes for which the cost was 125 rupees. However when all various taxes are added total was around 169 rupees.

Room Tip: Had a top floor room with garden view near to the swimming pool. This made it easier to get to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taj Exotica Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Exotica Goa

Address: Calwaddo, Benaulim 403716, India
Location: India > Goa > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Benaulim
#1 Family Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Exotica Goa 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the south coast of Goa on the Benaulim beach, a mere 27km from the airport, this 56 acre 140 room resort has a 700 meter beach frontage and a lovely view of the sea. With 3 specialty restaurants, a beach front season seafood shack, a 24 hour coffee shop, 2 bars, 2 spas and a seasonal outdoor spa pavilion, this resort is a popular haunt for the international as well as domestic travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Taj Exotica Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Exotica Goa Benaulim
Taj Exotica Hotel Goa
Taj Exotica Goa Hotel Benaulim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Exotica Goa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.