We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must go.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavatina

Cavatina
Mesmeric Sunset Apartments, Near Joecons Resort | Benaulim, Benaulim 403716, India
91-0832-2770607
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Benaulim
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A chefs restaurant serving world cuisine in a contemporary set up.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“You must go.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Recommended by guests in hotel. Slightly wary at first as down a quiet darkish road from crossroad with Taj Exotica--but not problem at all. Food out of this world for price. Visited twice , owner chef and staff very friendly and could tell our views were important. Did go back third time but unfortunatly Good Friday and had closed.
If back in Goa would be our first stop.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    23
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Need break from Shack food... This is the place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Need break from the "all taste the same" shack food, then head on over to Cavatina.
Try the pastas.
Ambience is pleasant.
Went there for the lunch and the AC comfort helped make the experience even more enjoyable.
Highly recommend it if you're in the vicinity.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If you are looking for excellent Western food in South Goa, this would undoubtedly be the place to stop. We visited the restaurant twice in one week with our 13 month old daughter.

The restaurant is very kid and infant friendly. Avinash, the owner and head chef, saw our daughter and offered to prepare some khichdi. Promptly, he instructed the waiters and the khichdi was served before our food was served. We were extremely taken aback by this thoughtful service.

My recommendation would be the western food, especially the steak on stone. This is a fantastic concept that Avinash has developed. He was inspired by the time he spent in Peru, as a chef.

The pastas, risottos and fish dishes are very good.

This is a must try restaurant and I would highly recommend it. Keep up the good work Avinash.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Modern & contemporary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Cool pleasant restaurant. Very welcoming personal attention. The menu is very well planned and offers many different items alongside traditional food. We tried the steak on slate as it seems to be recommended by many people - we weren't disappointed! Yum!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We drive down to this restaurant after reading good reviews. Reached for lunch around 1 pm. The place was empty, 4 waiters chatting in front of the bar till we made some noise to ask for the menu as the little one was hungry. We get 2 menus and the little one gets the drinks menu , hilarious.
Ordered a veg pasta, spaghetti bolognaise and a nasi goreng. The sauces for both pastas tasted the same, okayish taste , very creamy, but not inspiring. The nasi goreng was a disaster. Fried rice with red food color, no taste or flavour and 3 tiny pieces of chicken ( yes, I counted) topped with a fried egg and 2 pieces of chicken satay. The satay was dry and again lacking in any flavour. We were completely put off by the experience. We will not be going back for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavatina also viewed

 

Been to Cavatina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavatina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.