We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst of all the RGBC properties” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palms to your Saves list
Royal Palms
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Vasvado, Benaulim 403716, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Benaulim
mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The worst of all the RGBC properties”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Being RGBC red season members does not guarantee a vacation at the resort of your choice or at the week you choose. We had wanted week 52 at Monte Rio, however we were told that our only option was week 51 at Royal Palms and that too for only 4 people maximum occupancy.
Had read some pretty terrible reviews of this property on Trip Advisor, however decided to brave it.
Whilst we had an absolutely fabulous time in Goa, the hotel left a sour taste in our mouths. We had driven down from Mumbai and were exhausted after a 12 hour drive. It still took us more than half an hour to check in, and there were no toilet facilities available. We were given a room with no view ( not even the pool) . The room had sticky floors, the hall was not air conditioned and the worst was the bathrooms flooded. We spoke to the manager Mr Miguel Fernandes and he shifted us to another room.
Whilst this room fared slightly better in terms of cleanliness and an A/c hall it was extremely cramped. There was one bedroom and a pullout sofa in the hall to accomodate 4 people . The sofa was heavily stained and had crumbs in it. Once the sofa is pulled our it touches the TV table thereby cutting off all access. There was absolutely no storage ( just hangers , no shelves in the cupboard ) and we had to live out of our bags for the entire week. The plug points for charging require you to either move the furniture around to access them or to disconnect lamps .we had a toddler with us and the entire experience felt pretty claustrophobic. The housekeeping staff is downright rude, when we informed them that there was no cutlery in the rooms , they came and checked the oom and very suspiciously handed over a couple of forks and spoons. We tried to get room service on arrival but were told the kitchen is closed. We didn’t call them for the rest of the stay preferring to go to the much more accommodating restaurants and shops just outside.
This hotel would best be classified as a two star with a pool and spa thrown in. The RGBC representative tried to get us to attend one of the talks and even promised to try and shift us to Haathi Mahal , another of their resorts, however when he realized we are not at all interested in becoming members ( my parents are members) we didn’t hear from him again. Most of the staff came across as disinterested in their work or providing any service with the exception of Mr Fernandes , the lobby manager who was pleasant and accommodating. Every time we approached reception we came across people arguing about the lack of service
My advice is forget about taking an RGBC membership, instead invest that amount and use the interest to stay in a much better resort . In the AMC charges that we pay ,we can get a stay at a five star with all meals included for 2 nights 3 days .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    161
    73
    27
    46
See reviews for
221
112
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Our most awaited vacation to Goa was ruined by the bad choice of the resort. Apologies, Royal Goan Beach Club @ Royal Palms can't be termed as a resort. Its an apartment complex in a untidy village. The first sight of this resort itself dampened our spirits. On arrival we were checked into a second floor single bedroom flat., which was untidy in every respect. The refrigrator was rusted, the bed had wooden planks glaring at you. On request we were moved to another flat next day. I believe refrigerators with rusted exteriors is a standard in this place. The upholstery might have been cleaned a decade ago. In short we avoided being indoors.. managed to sleep in this room. We had checked out the third night cutting short our trip. Waste of time, money and energy. Would never recommend this to any one.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

firstly, the care and concern with members from all staffs ....... full marks.
its close to town and railway station and lots of shopping centers adjacent to this resort and very close to beach.
at pool and at holiday activities very safe to kids and creates lots of fun games and nice entertain ment as member's wish was something different from any of the resorts i visited earlier.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Good stay ,pool side activities are very enjoyalbe for ladies and young kids,house keeping is really good,only few mosquiots out side the room,I find there should be some vantilation in the room or some wiremesh door can be fixed on entrance,room service is little delayed,rest every thing if fine,we asked for help to carry our luggage when we were checking out,no body turned back after repeated requests,at last we managed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

my tip would be dont go, the only thing that is nice about this resort is the staff, Its in a poor location, in a small untidy village. Nothing to do at night. hotel resturant ok and some of the beach shack restuarants. Before you eat at any of the resturants near the hotel-look at them in daylight first-and you will piles of rubbish down the sides of the building. we went through club la costa and we feel we have been swindled as we bought this on a trial package. The accomadtion was valued at £2000 for two weeks. Its true value is probably not £500.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

I have visited with famlty to this Resort in Feb 2010 and liked very much. It is around 20 min ride from Railway station. It has good studio apartments with kitchen & balconies has swimming pool View. It was very nice for relaxation. It has good swimming pool & restaurent. It also has Indore games like table tennis, carrum, chess. One good thing about thishotel is its not so far from shopping centres and you have Historic Sites around 10 km range. It also has child care centre.
It was great experience and with good expereince I have joined the RGBC membership aswell.
Overall its a good resort for relaxation.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

This would not have been my choice for a crash pad in Goa, however, as we had gone in a large group of friends, we had to many people making decisions and somehow ended up here!

1) Service: on arrival, it took us over an hour to check in as most of the rooms we had booked were still being cleaned! the staff was polite and pleasing, however, room service here took ages!! we were here for 5 days, and we learned soon enough to buy our water, beers, and snacks from outside and stock it in the fridge! One small issue which irked us of - we were catching a game of pool, and near the table there was a showpiece hanging. One of my friends inadvertently hit it, and it fell on his head. The manager immediately came to ask us not if our friend was ok (he was bleeding slightly), but who would pay for the damages.

2) Room: The rooms are neat and tidy, however, they are a little dark even during the day. Bathrooms are fine, however again room service was not up to the mark. Everyday we would come back to the rooms from the beach (with sand), however it was not cleaned very often.

3) Location: Located in south Goa near Colva beach, this is a good beach for people who want to relax. Away from the commercial mainstream of north Goa, this is a good beach.

4) Food: We had very few meals at the hotel. During season, would recommend a shack called johncy's at the beach, which serves excellent squid and goan curries.

5) Overall experience: Not my ideal goan experience, as we are more of a party crowd, so we ended up travelling to north goa often (which is a long drive). The hotel also is not my favorite, and i would recommend many others before this one.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms

Address: Vasvado, Benaulim 403716, India
Location: India > Goa > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Benaulim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Palms 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Resorts Royal Goan Beach Club at Royal Palms is a beautiful time share resort with a selection of studios, one and two bedroom apartments. Landscaped with lovely gardens that also feature the palm trees that give the resort its name, this resort is just a ten minute walk to Benaulim beach. The RGBC at Royal Palms offers you the whole range of holiday amenities to help you have that complete vacation that you deserve. The 24 hour reception, gymnasium, beauty parlour and children’s activity programme all contribute to making your holiday as comfortable as possible while giving you the opportunity to discover the joys of Goan culture. Margao city the commercial hub of South Goa is just a 10 minute drive away if you like bustling markets and a spot of bargaining. You can also liven up your holiday with water sports, excursions and trips all organized by the travel desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Goan Beach Club At Royal Palms Hotel Benaulim
Royal Goan Beach Hotel
Royal Goan Beach Resort
Royal Goan Beach Benaulim
Royal Palms Goa/Benaulim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.