We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful - The Worst Place I've Ever Stayed!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lotus Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Beach Road Via Maria Hall, Vaswaddo, | Vaswaddo, Benaulim 403716, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Benaulim
Warwickshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful - The Worst Place I've Ever Stayed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

This place seems okay on here, cheap, pictures seem ok, and comments not too bad but the reality is very different! The entire place is disguisting - when we pulled up we were concerned about the people inside the security gates seeming like locals and arguing with the security people but they seem to live just outside the resort and inside the security gates?! There was also a very annoying taxi man at the entrance pestering for business continually. Very shabby buildings at the enterance, does get slightly better inside but only marginally. Were shown to our room which was not that clean, had two bed sheets with a blanket between for a duvet, and the shower base had a hole in it so the bathroom flooded when the shower was on preventing us from showering. The electricity switched off twice in the first hour of us being there which was not great. The swimming pool was in a poor state of disrepair and had caterpillars in it too! We were told the way to the beach but the route was flooded with stagnant water and had alot of dogs around so ended up walking about a mile to the beach like one of the other reviews says, and when we got there it was a mess and had around 30 dogs there so we couldn't even go on the beach. The staff were generally okay although not that helpful, especially unhelpful was a middle-aged lady on reception and the manager. Rest of the staff were okay although lacking in good English language. The only pluses were that the food was decent ad cheap, and the TV had quite alot of channels which is good since if you stay here you will end up in your room for most of the time like we did! After finding out that we were the only ones in this remote resort, and with all the other problems, we did not feel safe and decided to check out first thing in the morning. Was very disappointed by the hotel in general and definitely would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    20
    9
    13
See reviews for
30
33
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Overall my stay at Lotus was disappointing. It is never a good sign when the taxi driver can't even find the hotel because the sign is overgrown with vines and foliage. Charming however unhelpful. The staff were friendly and attempted to be helpful but there appeared to be no management or control in charge.

The most disappointing part was the complimentary breakfast which would not have been worth more than 50 rupees. It consisted of one egg, some dry toast, a miniscule hashbrown and half cooked tomato. That was if it all came out at once. Often one part of the breakfast arrived and the rest of it followed in another ten or twenty minutes. Ordering room service was like getting a lucky dip and the staff did not understand our requests.

In addition the pool is part of a larger complex and involves the risk of having young men filming you with their mobile phones while you swim; regardless of how much you cover up.

The rooms were well kept and clean and the location by the beach was fantastic. If the restaurent and management improves the resort has the potential to be a very relaxing break. In this case it was definately not worth the money we paid. Even in the monsoon season.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Wanted to make this a special birthday for my mum, so booked this place as a surprise for her. Took her to this secluded hotel, away from the hustle and bustle of the city and spent two days here which was just as well as she passed away the following year.

The staff at the front desk although not as efficient as i would have liked them to be still made us feel welcome, and the welcome drink was a nice, local one, made with Kokum.

We had a lovely room that overlooked a pond with a bed of lotus flowers, thus ensuring the hotel lived up to its name "Lotus Suites", a sight to behold. The rooms are spacious, consist of a large sitting and kitchen and dining area, and the bedroom. Ideal for a family getaway.

The pool was nice, but needed a bit of doing up, as the areas around had grass and weeds and a not so well maintained children's area.

The food here is typically Goan, and we delved into the Chicken Cafreal which was infact close to what my mum made at our home.

The carrom board and entertainment area is nice for teenagers and seniors alike.

To conclude, the hotel is nice and homely and comfortable, a good getaway for family time together, and to unwind from the daily nittygritties of life.

  • Liked — nothing really
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

I went there on a promotional from Lotus suites and got 3 night stay package. I was given one bed room , hall with kitchen. Similar families stayed there and we had tambola and games in the evening arranged by hotel.
Benaulim beach is on walkable distance and beach is at par with calangute in mainstream but lacks number of visitors in comparison.
Beach has nice restaurant (forgot the name), one on the beach with music at night.
Lotus suites is good for living and having home experience.
Nice pool in center, big one adds value. Reataurant is just average but one may get readymade food from outside or just cook in the kitchen, if one has time to do so OR else walk on main road to beach and have good food there in the restaurants on the main road to beach.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

This is aexceelent resort with gret view.
It is a worth staying resort with all facilities.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

technically ppl and tourist dread the south goa....but trust me i and my husband spend the most beautiful 6 days atthe lotus..good location , well equipped appartments , locker facility , oh yes kitchen are a delight , beach was a stone throw away and the staff would clean my room to the T.what more cud i ask..Though i was basking in the goa sun the feel was very homely.And i am a critic at herat so this is one thing i was totally sold too..................so if u wnt some pure fun in goa..go ahead....its worth it.

  • Liked — a good package of everything
  • Disliked — maybe,more activities like TT,fun stuff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2008

We stayed at Lotus Suites from the 16th Jan 08 - 19th Jan 08. We were about 7 adults and 3 kids below 5 years. Our stay there was perfect. The rooms were spacious and lavish with a sitting hall and an attached kitchen. It worked wonders for us cause we could cook up a meal anytime for the little ones. The bathroom has the facility of hot water and the bedroom is fitted with a double bed. The room service was fantastic and so was the house keeping. The property could do with a little paint job that will simply magnify its warmth. The swimming pool is good, with crystal clear water .......................

I highly recommend Lotus Suites !

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — the power cuts
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Beach Resort

Address: Beach Road Via Maria Hall, Vaswaddo, | Vaswaddo, Benaulim 403716, India
Location: India > Goa > Benaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Benaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lotus Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lotus Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Beach Hotel Benaulim
Lotus Beach Resort Goa/Benaulim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.