We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella Capella!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capella

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bardez
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capella
Save
You added Capella to your Saves list
376 / 1 Boquenchi Arrady | Parra, Bardez 403510, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 152 Bardez B&B and Inns
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bella Capella!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I could fill this review with several descriptive passages about its old world aesthetic without sacrifice of mod cons (all of which would be true). Or I could just cut to the chase and say that Capella is simply one of the best place to stay in Goa. Everyone reading this already knows that Goa’s luxury hotels are not a whole lot more than luxurious (no soul) and that ‘budget’ ones are usually quite ... budget (hygine!), and that there are scores of ‘hidden gems’ all over the place waiting to be discovered. But even in its niche (‘Charming B & B’), Capella simply shines through for several reasons.

To list a few: it’s immediately welcoming, built as a private home by among the nicest people you could hope to meet (Ayesha and her husband Jamshed are locals so you will always get the best advice on what to do and where to go); it has the peace and magic of a remote forest hideaway, but it’s just a ten minute drive from all the action of the famous North Goa beaches; you wake to bird song and spectacular daybreaks every morning with real (not manicured) wilderness all around you. And thanks to the pool and bar you never have to leave the place.

I stayed here first in Feb 2010 and decided to come back in Dec 2011 for a family reunion because I suspected that there would be something here for everyone... and I was right. There were ten of us ranging from ages 15 months to 75 years old. We stayed a week, at the end of which no one was ready to leave. My three-yea¬¬r-old and his ten-year-old cousin could not get enough of dog and frog watching, my one-year-old followed around the cats and friendly gardener around all day, my twenty-something sister in law had a daily go at Zal’s (J & A’s sweetheart 11-year-old son) wave board and the older and lazier among us sat for hours in the verandah watching the day go by besides the infinity pool.

Ayesha graciously let us use her kitchen to rustle up meals for the baby and their dining table was the battlefield for our wildly exciting intergenerational ludo championships. Their library (both books and music) were ours to peruse, and when we felt like bird-watching so were their binoculars. Much joy here for the birder, novice or otherwise. And if you’re lucky you could spot a visiting troop of langurs or one of several species of spiders and (mostly non venmous) snakes.

(For those who may be concerned about the creepy crawlies, don’t be! You are ‘in nature’ here, so it would make sense to follow some simple rules – make a racket to scare off anything in your way if walking off path. For mosquitoes and other insect, don’t leave your room door ajar, especially at dusk.)

Organise your own transport as there is nothing walking distance from the house (other than beautiful forested trails, that is) and request at least some home-cooked meals (perfectionist Ayesha may discourage you, insisting they aren’t really equipped for it, but obviously they are!). Go to J & A’s critically acclaimed restaurant, Little Italy (where you can order anything on the menu and can’t go wrong.) Oh and you can book a massage in your room! Ask Ayesha to recommend a therapist.

Room Tip: The cottage is very cute and away from the main house so more ‘private’, but the room on the top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
49
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saranac Lake, Ny
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Capella is an oasis and our stay there was badly needed after a difficult and tedious onset to our trip. Ayeesha and Jay and their attentive staff
were responsible for our extending our visit - something we seldom, if ever do, considering advance, unrefundable bookings etc. We simply could not bring ourselves to leave such a peaceful, charming setting with a delightful couple tending to our needs.

The location is a tad removed from activity so there is an additional expense for transportation but they were always available for touring advice and to call a taxi to ferry us and wait for our return. The surrounding area has beaches, history and something for everyone.

Our only disappointment was having to leave new friends.

Room Tip: The room in the house is isolated from family activity and was perfect in its well appointed spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

This is the 1st i've ever been to, in a homestay.... & it super exceeds any hotel stay so far! The house so very tastefully done up on a slight elevation with a swimming pool... what more can one ask for?
The room is super clean, spacious, with an AC, Coffee maker & so tranquil that you sleep like a child.
The owners offer the place with breakfast & evening tea included. Lunch & dinner is provided at a small extra cost if required.
A vehicle is required to & from this place but the owners are very helpful to provide contacts for the same.
By far the most beautiful place ever stayed in Goa!!!

Room Tip: There is only 1 room & 1 cottage avl at a time. The room has an excellent view from atop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

My husband and I visited Capella from 17th to 20th Nov, 2011. We’ve been to Goa before, but this was our best stay so far. We were planning to visit a Bird Sanctuary, but with the amount of birding we could do at Capella, such a trip proved unnecessary.

The homestay is built on the slope of a hillock, and there’s a lot of vegetation in and around it. They have two rooms to let. One on the 1st floor of the house and one stand-alone cottage. We stayed at the cottage, and delighted in watching birds flit around in our backyard all day long. The highlights that I can recollect were crimson sunbirds, puff-throated babblers, blue-bearded bee-eaters, drongo cuckoo and a black rumped flameback.

Apart from the birding, Capella is a very charming place. It’s beautifully done up by Ayesha and Jamshed (the hosts). They have lots of books, DVDs and board games that you can explore, and if you are an animal-lover, they have lots of very interesting pets. :) The staff makes sure that the rooms and swimming-pool are clean and well-kept. And the food is delicious! You can hire bikes and visit the Baga and Calangute beaches and the various restaurants and markets that are very close.

So, if you love nature, and would like a beautiful quiet place that’s also very near to the happening part of Goa, Capella is the place for you!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Before you read the rest, let me just say that Capella is like a home away from home! So warm, welcoming and beautiful. We wanted a relaxing holiday and Capella turned out to be just what we needed. We booked 6 nights/5days at the cottage in Capella. The airport pick-up and drop was convenient and Ayesha also made sure that a vehicle (we wanted an Activa) was arranged for us to go around. The house is a 15 min ride to baga/calangute while also being well placed for north goa beaches. It was built by the couple, Jamshed and Ayesha who also run J&As, a superb Italian restaurant near Baga bridge. The cottage is spacious for a couple and is elegantly laid out. It is downhill from the main house and offers complete privacy, with an occasional frog as a visitor. The mornings at the cottage are beautiful…. J&A have tastefully done up their house and rooms with furniture from a bygone era. Do take a walk around their place and go see the little forest. Luca, is a Labrador stuck in a Rottweiler's body!! Elsa is young and bubbly so it’s fun playing with her. The family is very mindful of people who don't like animals around and don't let them in accordingly. View from the pool is fabulous! A book, a beer, good music and the relaxing beach beds make for a perfect afternoon! The honesty bar is well-equipped. The food experience at Capella is by far the best we have had in Goa. A great breakfast spread everyday and lots of genuine care. It's continental and Indian. Add to that a to-die-for prawn curry-rice after a good 2 hours in the pool and you've had the perfect lunch before an afternoon siesta! Jamshed gives perfect directions and his restaurant recommendations are spot on. We recommend that you go to J&As for dinner at least once. You must try the Kingfish with tomato and spinach pesto and the chocolate souffle (made fresh) at J&As. The support staff at Capella is friendly and eager to help. Maria, Savita and Mumtaz are ever smiling and cheerful. The 6 nights just flew by at Capella. By now you can guess where we would stay on our next Goa holiday. :D

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The beauty of Goa's Nature and the architecture and design of Capella blend perfectly. It offers style and privacy .
The cottage we stayed in opens on to a private garden that grows naturally , delightfully un-landscaped . We woke to the chirping of birds.The little verandah is perfect for breakfast. The vaulted ceiling with wooden beams , the red floor , the beautiful old wood furniture , the window seat , the steps leading to the garden perfect to sit on , the spacious classic bathroom with modern equipment are all absolutely delightful. Little touches like the blue bottles in the room , the tea tray are all exquisite. Ayesha is a perfect host . Yet delightfully unobtrusive .This is exactly how Goa's future hotels should be .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. A classic homestay with large rooms facing the swimming pool and the gardens. Very friendly owners, good service, good value for money. You can enjoy nature's beauty here and the calmness of being in a village. Breakfast is included which is continental.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capella

Address: 376 / 1 Boquenchi Arrady | Parra, Bardez 403510, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Bardez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capella is a luxurious home-stay located on a private, forested hill in the sleepy village of Parra. We offer visitors a unique opportunity of experiencing life with a local family but with the privacy and level of comfort afforded by the best boutique hotels. Capella is the perfect choice for birdwatchers and nature lovers looking for a relaxed holiday in tranquil surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capella Goa/Bardez

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.