We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Anjuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Anjuna to your Saves list
Casa Anjuna
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   D'Mello Vaddo 66, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Anjuna
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Casa Anjuna is a little jewel hidden in a quiet street in Anjuna. It is a lovely portuguese style hotel with rooms all individually decorated with wonderful period pieces. It has a swimming pool and garden and a nice restaurant. The staff are very friendly and able to help when needed. Casa Anjuna is a five minute walk away from Anjuna beach and a two minute walk to Anjuna high street with all its lovely restaurants and shops. it is ideally located because even though it is quiet you are minutes away from the action. We very much enjoyed our stay there and will be returning. Marina

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    17
    7
    11
See reviews for
14
37
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Laid out as a 'boutique' hotel, we found the place pleasant enough but after comparing the price we paid with other hotels throughout Goa it didn't appear to offer anything to justify the 6500 Rupees per night we paid. Infact the quality of the place had parity with accommodation at a quarter of the price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I and my partner (both in our early 30s) stayed at Casa Anjuna for one week during November 2010. Generally, we had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. The hotel is extremely pretty and set in well-kept gardens with a lovely swimming pool that was always clean (sun loungers available with complementary towels). We had a double room with a comfortable king-size bed, A/C, ceiling fan and shower/toilet. To use hot water one had to wait for around 10 minutes after turning it on; this was not a problem and it would provide for 2 showers. Casa Anjuna is about a five minute walk from the main beach area but as the path is not lit do make sure that you have a torch with you for any night time walks to/from the hotel/beach.

The service was always friendly but unfortunately it was also quite shambolic at times. For example, on several occasions when we ordered food (we had breakfast there everyday, lunch once and dinner once), our orders came with certain parts missing (e.g. side salads, sauces etc.). The waiting staff's reaction when this was highlighted to them was sometimes rather bewildered - some of them clearly had no idea what was on the menu! Other small issues included a lack of attention to presentation; the table cloths were changed once during our whole stay which is never good, especially if you're using white ones that highlight every single stain! And the towels provided in our room, whilst always clean, were a little threadbare in places.

However, these are minor issues as we did genuinely enjoy our stay. But if Casa Anjuna market themselves as a boutique hotel - with room rates that are by no means cheap - then they should do themselves more justice by remedying these small issues. Better presentation (e.g. good quality room towels, changing table cloths immediately when they are dirty) and a bit more attention to staff training would elevate this hotel to the status that such a wonderful location deserves.

Anjuna itself was a relaxing and laid-back part of Goa and we would recommend it. The beaches were not as clean as somewhere like Thailand but the water was warm, the sand hot under foot and the food on offer was excellent. In the area, I can only compare Anjuna to Vagator and Calungute/Baga as these were the other places we visited; it had more to offer than the former and was far less 'touristy' than the latter where we found that there was far more hassle to be had on the beach from people trying to sell you stuff. In addition, at Calangute/Baga there were quite a lot of watersports on offer which, once again, did little in terms of providing a relaxing atmosphere. However, if you like your beaches and surrounding areas to be big and brash then Calangute/Baga is for you.

If you want a week in a chilled-out area with a good beach, a wide choice of food (Indian and Western) and bars to visit in the evening for a few drinks, then Anjuna is for you.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

I booked after checking the website where it looked very promising but once i landed at the place I found it very average. The location is very inconvenient. Food is quite good though. Service standards definately need improvement. Their other property Casa Baga is much better - from location to service.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

I cannot rave enough about this hotel/guest house. The staff, lead by Gopal and Richard, are friendly, and professional. The attention to detail is world class. I stayed here for 6 days, and was treated like a queen. The location is fabulous - 2 mins. walk to the beautiful anjuna beach, and a miriad of cafe's and bars, but far enough away from the 'action' if you want peace and quiet - which is what I was after. I work in Hospitality, so was looking for a quiet, relaxing piece of paradise, and I found it at Casa Anjuna. Gopal was more than willing to negotiate tariff for longer stays, which, for me, ended up being a bargain for what I would consider to be a 5 star guest house. I will recommend Casa Anjuna to everyone I know! (and I beleive there are guest houses owned by the same group which are of the same calibre. Can't wait to visit them!)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

The main positives are the fancy decorations, the old style nice furniture plus the helpful staff, and wi fi internet included. We also liked the swimming pool area which was very nice.
The main draw back was the price. We didnt consider it good value, was probably the most expensive place we stayed in Goa, as was our last couple of nights in Goa. Ironically, it was the only place we got bitten overnight in our rooms. We didn't like the breakfast, in fact they ran out of the drinks they offered, and some of the breakfast, when they only had a few other guests.
We didnt get a proper bedsheet, we had a throw over old blanket only, until we asked for a nice thin sheet to sleep under.
In fact, we weren't that keen on Anjuna. We were travelling around Goa and it was recommended to us, but I guess we preferred the areas in the south of Goa. We got good deals at the market though, albeit having been hassled quite a bit by hawkers.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

we'd gone here for our anniversary, stayed for 5-6 days. cute place, boutique in nature. decent service and food.

recommend for a chilled out period

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Anjuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Anjuna

Address: D'Mello Vaddo 66, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Anjuna 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Anjuna is set amongst a tropical paradise of lush palms and flowers including the local alpino flower which we have used for our logo. The beautiful swimming pool is the perfect spot to relax and soak up the sunshine, or cool off after a trip to the famous flea market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Casa Anjuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Anjuna Hotel Anjuna
Casa Hotel Anjuna
Anjuna Casa Hotel
Casa Anjuna Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Anjuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.