We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok ok looking at the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Tamarind Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tamarind Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tamarind Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1286, Kumar Vaddo | Near St. Michael Church, Anjuna, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Anjuna
Bangalore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It was ok ok looking at the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed for 3 days 2 night. the stay was good and also the service. But looking at the price I paid I think I got less. The room was very small, bed sheet was not cleaned, they didn't provided pickup and drop from bus stand where as others are providing on the same rate. The food were pretty expensive also. Behavior of the staff was good and room service was also good. But over all I had an average experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, General Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We are pleased to know you appreciated our service and staff.

We are a boutique resort of a high standard charging the least possible rates for the off season. Because of our high standards of service and quality we can never give rooms to any guests with sheets that are less than sparkling clean. Our staff will lose their jobs.
It can be possible that sheets were not changed everyday- as we need your permission (Clean My Room Board) to clean your room. However, please email us at info@thetamarind.com for anything.

We apologise that your stay was less than satisfactory. We promise to make it up to you the next time you visit us. We have much larger rooms and if they are vacant, we are happy to upgrade you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    70
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
27
78
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Tamarind is just the right place to be, far from the madding crowd and for the vacation that one would look forward to. The rooms are tastefully done with all amenities. It is very clean and cozy. The food is very good, tasty and hygienically prepared, since i happened to have a first hand experience by entering the kitchen. The Restaurant is well spaced out to give you the privacy and space to enjoy the delicacy that they make.The staff are courteous and well behaved. The swimming pool is clean and nice.Its worth the stay at "THE TAMARIND" while in Goa. Suitable place for business visits or a stay with friend and family. It is surely worth staying there on a Honey Moon trip to Goa...

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Tamarind for your stay in Goa.

It gives us immense pleasure to know that you had a really good time with us. All our efforts to give our clients a memorable trip seem worth it when we get such happy reviews.

We hope you visit us again and promise you an equally good experience.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when I was in Goa this July. The staff are very friendly and do everything they can to help you out. I arrived at the hotel at 9am and was given a room by 10am. Nice little pool, decent restaurant and a bar with pool table, guitar etc. I was given one of the deluxe room, I think, and it was quite large with a great balcony facing the pool.
Only drawback to this place is that there are no shops etc within walking distance to the property.
Also I feel that the hotel needs a bit of renovation work done. I was there during the heavy monsoon season, and I could see water seepage through some walls in the reception area etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Good to know you found the staff friendly and efficient and your room spacious and comfortable. Our hotel has been completely renovated last year and the seepage due to very heavy rains has also been fixed.

We provide free cycles and bikes and scooters (at a very nominal cost) so guests can enjoy the surrounding areas.

Hope you come back again to experience the Tamarind hospitality.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel, as they had great experience staying there last winter.

I am glad I listen to him. The staff and service is amazing. Rooms are clean and inviting, while kitchen and food is very hygenic and tasty (very important considerations if you travelling with family).

Tucked in a quiet neighborhood, its easy to get to many beaches quickly. Ofcouse bike and car rentals are available. Staff helped us with that. We felt very well taken care off.

Offcourse if you just want to chill out there a little pool to sit around and meet other travellers.
Like my friend, I highly recommend it. Hope you find it as charming as we did - GREAT value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are very happy to say that a lot of our cherished guests have come to the Tamarind because other guests recommended our hotel and restaurant.

Yes, we do take great care and since ours is a family run hotel, guests can sense that extra touch.
However, we take nothing for granted and continue to work hard to keep our standards high.
So very glad you found everything up to a high standard and great value for money.

Also glad you enjoyed our pool, which I would like to add is about 25 ft by 60 ft one of the largest in hotels.

Hope you come back and give us another chance to pamper you.

Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Small boutique hotel in Anjuna very good in pricing got it through make my trip . Good rooms, Ver good continental food and cocktails , Cute pool , Very friendly staff and proximity to beaches only if you have a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are so glad you found our pricing competitive and food and rooms good. It is a matter of great pride for us that our specialty restaurant, the Cotinga is now getting quite popular and guests from all over come to eat with us.

I would like to mention that we do provide cars, but bikes & scooters are also available at our hotel to get that real feel of Goa.

Hope you visit us again.

Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

have known this place from a long time.
was recommending and will recommend as always.
what you get in short: welcome drink : complementary breakfast buffet : free wifi : 24 hour room service : swimming pool for 12 Hours : play snooker 24 hours: play guitar 24 hours : mini bar : small garden : 60" HD TV with Tata sky : hair dryer : peaceful place : 5kms from baga: 6kms from calangute : 5 kms from vagator : 6kms from morjim : 2 kms from anjuna.
the staff helps you with all information you need like places to visit n all.
just rent a bike and roam all over goa with this hotel in center of all the places.

you get everything you want.

i stayed for 4days and 3 night and we were a group of 7 people.
enjoyed the stay, all were happy.


Amit Jain
amithh@live.com

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your recommendations and for mentioning many of our facilities that you appreciated.

We are delighted to know that you had a great time and enjoyed yourselves so much.

We do hope you come back and give us another chance to serve you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

One of the best hotel in goa. Room are clean & comfortable, food in excellent, staffs are friendly & ready to help. Pool is well maintained & clean i have recommended this hotel to all my friends. Over all one of the best hotel in all aspect. If you are visiting the hotel first time ask the hotel travel desk to arrange a pick up.

Room Tip: If you are a solo travellers go for a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
We are happy you chose The Tamarind for your stay in Goa, and even happier that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do make a great effort to ensure the rooms and all our service is impeccable. We take great care of our menu, ensuring each ingredient is of the best quality. It is a great pleasure to see you enjoyed and appreciated our efforts.

If guests let us know before they arrive, we are happy to pick them up. Also, when rooms are available guests can upgrade their rooms.

Thank you for your most encouraging review and hope you visit us again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Hotel

Address: 1286, Kumar Vaddo | Near St. Michael Church, Anjuna, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tamarind Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in rural Goa, situated some two and half km from Anjuna and Vagator beaches, opposite a pretty white church - The Tamarind is a Portuguese style stone building with all modern amenities. With 42" LCD TV, Minibar, Laptop size Lockers, Air-conditioners, Coffee & Tea makers, the 25 rooms offer tranquility and relaxation. Though away from the hustle and bustle, every place is accessible and not distant. We provide Cars, Bikes and Scooters at a price and u free of cost. Our in house bakery and desserts are famous. Cotinga, our multicuisine restaurant is very popular both with in-house guests and locals. As you can see on the reviews our north Indian dishes are particularly popular. The quirky theme of the Madhatter bar is another attraction where we offer the choicest wines and drinks. Candlelight dinners can be arranged for your special celebration at a short notice. City tours by day and night can be enjoyed with assistance from our front desk. Guests enjoy playing pool at our heritage pool table. Table Tennis, Board games and the most sparkling blue pool add to the fun. We love children and have baby cot and high chair and also special baby meals. The colors and decors are sure to relax you and signal the beginning of wonderful holiday. Just 500 metres away is the beautiful St Michal s church ,which is 400 years old. Again 500 metres to the other side are the Miraculous Stairs,where you can make a wish . Yoga classes and massages can be organized to your convenience. Welcome to The Tamarind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel Anjuna
Tamarind Anjuna
The Tamarind Hotel Anjuna, Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tamarind Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.