We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Anjuna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tamarind Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Tamarind Hotel to your Saves list
The Tamarind Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1286, Kumar Vaddo | Near St. Michael Church, Anjuna, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Best hotel in Anjuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

One of the best hotel in goa. Room are clean & comfortable, food in excellent, staffs are friendly & ready to help. Pool is well maintained & clean i have recommended this hotel to all my friends. Over all one of the best hotel in all aspect. If you are visiting the hotel first time ask the hotel travel desk to arrange a pick up.

Room Tip: If you are a solo travellers go for a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sir,
We are happy you chose The Tamarind for your stay in Goa, and even happier that you enjoyed your stay so much. We do make a great effort to ensure the rooms and all our service is impeccable. We take great care of our menu, ensuring each ingredient is of the best quality. It is a great pleasure to see you enjoyed and appreciated our efforts.

If guests let us know before they arrive, we are happy to pick them up. Also, when rooms are available guests can upgrade their rooms.

Thank you for your most encouraging review and hope you visit us again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    128
    29
    9
    12
See reviews for
67
149
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Need not to remember all the big names, big cost, and big hype resorts on Anjuna Beach. The Tamarind Resort is a top-notch, one of manner familiarity. The staff, the location, the food, the value - it's unmatched. The rooftop was stunning and the rooms were SO comfortable.

I was in a great location to restaurants and bars, which meant a lot for a large group of business travellers. As a former resident of Anjuna Beach who is warmly familiar with the surroundings as well as all of the hot spots and resorts.

I only stay at The Tamarind Resort when I go back to Anjuna Beach. Again, I couldn't say it enough- I had an amazing stay at The Tamarind!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Tamarind every time you visit Goa. We are so glad that we lived up to all your expectations. Such praise from one who is so familiar with Goa and Anjuna is very encouraging.
Please be assured that our service will always remain of the same standard of excellence that you are used to.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

You know you've hit the jackpot when you find a place thats not only pretty and super comfortable, but also has great food and really friendly staff that want to do whatever they can to help make your stay extremely pleasant. I went with a group of friends and their children, and never have I seen a bunch of kids happier. The swimming pool is lovely, the garden is beautiful with such gorgeous trees, and the food - oh the food!! Everything you order from the multi-cuisine menu is absolutely delicious, which in my opinion is a triumph and the management for The Tamarind should be proud of this achievement.
I highly recommend this hotel to everybody - because of the diversity of rooms available and their locations on the property, its actually perfect for families, couples or even the solo traveller!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to look after you & your friends on your recent stay at the Tamarind Goa. Unlike the previous owners of The Tamarind, we love having children and are adding a lot of games and activities for them.

Our guests comfort is our top priority and we are so glad you appreciated our efforts and praised us so much.

Our owners are very particular about the food we serve and our ingredients are of the best quality and are especially procured and selected by them.

Your very kind words will be passed on to all concerned.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tamarind Hotel is one of the ‘Best Hotels’ to stay in Goa. It feels like a private property with a small swimming pool. Nice & cozy rooms, 40" LCD's with Digital TV for uninterrupted entertainment, private safe box, mini bar, good interiors and well maintained rooms too. The food is nice & scrumptious, the service & the staff is very good. A good place to stay with family & I highly recommend the same.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks you very much for your kind review on Trip Advisor.

It feels great to receive such a positive response and reassure us that we are working on the right track.

We look forward to having you back with us and offering you another memorable stay.

Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I recommend this place whether you are travelling to Goa on vacation with friends or even with children! The bakery is amazing definitely recommend trying the chocolate cake and other deserts! I like that the rooms are cozy , clean and comfortable! The pool is really lovely as well. Staff was very friendly and food was deliciously packed with love. I will go back there for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sending your comments on Trip Advisor. We are happy to see you that you enjoyed your trip in every way. Yes, we are not on the beach but we are actually not far from 3 beaches. Also our guests seem to enjoy the beach etc in the day and are very happy to return to a more tranquil environment in our hotel. Our owners are very keen on the cooking and they make their own recipes.
We have just redone our hotel trying to keep a very high standard keeping in mind every detail to make a guest comfortable. Please be assured that we will all look after you as well whatever the season.

We hope you visit us again.

Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Awesome place for holiday at Goa, very relaxing & peaceful place to stay at , good location, excellent service & good hygiene maintained. All beaches are very close to the hotel. Over all had a Mind blowing experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the Tamarind Goa. We are Delighted to know that you appreciated our hotel and services greatly.
We look forward to having you with us again.

Warm Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went on a holiday planned for a 4 day stay in Mid of April and chose this place. First thing, i would visit again and second , recommend all my friends here.
Tamarind hotel is situated a bit off from the Anjuna sea shore but the location is really awesome.. Once you enter in the property, the Garden area with tall trees around, the open air restaurant.. its simply an amazing experience to spend the holiday breakfast and dinner... The rooms are very neat and clean and well equipped with Beautiful lighting, Big LCD's, safe-lockers, Mini-bar etc..
We had taken a standard room. Poolside area is as well well maintained.
Bike service and cab with good quality is appreciable and affordable.
May be its the off season we visited Goa but we loved the peaceful environment the place maintained.
The location is well situated with Baga, Anjuna, Vagator beaches all in just within 5-10 min biking.
The restaurant, not to forget The Cotinga, Food and its service is excellent... I m still grasping the story depicted on the wall of a bird cotinga flying out of the cage.. It was like always a refreshing experience..
I would suggest a perfect place for couples.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindgoa, Manager at The Tamarind Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks you for choosing the Tamarind for your stay in Goa. Glad to know that you enjoyed the bakery. Some of our recipes are actually passed down two generations to our present owners. They continue their passion for food and hence ensure only the best and most authentic ingredients go into the dishes. Bakery is their special interest.
We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the pool and will definitely share your complements with all concerned.

Thank you

Warm Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.5 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#1 of 12 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
5.5 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#16 of 52 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
5.2 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 52 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Nirvana Hermitage
Nirvana Hermitage
#5 of 12 in Anjuna
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
5.4 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamarind Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamarind Hotel

Address: 1286, Kumar Vaddo | Near St. Michael Church, Anjuna, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Tamarind Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in rural Goa, situated some two and half km from Anjuna and Vagator beaches, opposite a pretty white church - The Tamarind is a Portuguese style stone building with all modern amenities. With 42" LCD TV, Minibar, Laptop size Lockers, Air-conditioners, Coffee & Tea makers, the 25 rooms offer tranquility and relaxation. Though away from the hustle and bustle, every place is accessible and not distant. We provide Cars, Bikes and Scooters at a price and cycles free of cost. Our in house bakery and desserts are famous. Cotinga, our multicuisine restaurant is very popular both with in-house guests and locals. As you can see on the reviews our north Indian dishes are particularly popular. The quirky theme of the Madhatter bar is another attraction where we offer the choicest wines and drinks. Candlelight dinners can be arranged for your special celebration at a short notice. City tours by day and night can be enjoyed with assistance from our front desk. Guests enjoy playing pool at our heritage pool table. Table Tennis, Board games and the most sparkling blue pool add to the fun. We love children and have baby cots and high chairs and also special baby meals. The colors and decors are sure to relax you and signal the beginning of a wonderful holiday. Just 500 metres away is the beautiful St Michal s church ,which is 400 years old. Again 500 metres to the other side are the Miraculous Stairs,where you can make a wish . Yoga classes and massages can be organized to your convenience. Welcome to The Tamarind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Tamarind Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Hotel Anjuna
Tamarind Anjuna
The Tamarind Hotel Anjuna, Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tamarind Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.