We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, clean place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banyan Soul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Banyan Soul to your Saves list
The Banyan Soul
2.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   No. 962(1) Behind German Bakery, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great, clean place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Probably the best in Anjuna, only 10 mins from the beach. Safe, quiet, spotless rooms. Will easily match european standards.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    55
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
59
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

The problem that internet poses is that the pictures and words can be very misleading. Rarely do we get what we are advertised about. But, the rarest of rare is when we get more than what we bargained for – this is Banyan Soul for you.

The place is calm and serene, the rooms are neat and clean, the staff is cordial and helping and Banyan Soul turns out to be what one looks for in Goa. The rooms have French windows that open up to a verandah. The rooms have an LCD TV, air-con and clean large bathrooms. The linen is fresh and clean.

The place is surrounded by a lawn with a Banyan Tree at the back of the hotel and is located on the foothills of a small hillock. Place is a couple of minutes walk from the anjuna beach, has the famed German bakery and the Wednesday flea market is a stones throw away. Baga beach is a 15 minute drive, Curlies is 5 minutes away and so is the plea market. Despite its central location, it wraps itself in serenity and silence and you don’t have to wake up to the din and noise that all of us want to run away from. It is fairly inexpensive , I highly recommend Banyan Soul. Look no further.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

very quiet, clean good quality stay at Anjuna..about a 10-15 min walk to the beach and right next to German Bakery so good food anytime....beautiful Banyan tree in the hotel...Sumit the proprietor is very nice - payment was convenient and Ganesh the caretaker is also very efficient yet very relaxed. We stayed 2 nights and were very comfortable...running water, clean bathrooms and decent location. Would definitely go back. Sumit even organized transportation - super value for money!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Initially introduced to me by the 1st ever customer there - Vikram Doddi, my cousin and Sumeets good friend - had us go there soon after to also be amongst the very 1st customers ! What a trip ! Such peace, such good food around, happiness & Curlies and the German bakery !

Keeping it clean and simple are the highlights of Banyan Soul and the quick service of the wonderful staff there !

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

So much had been said about this place by the friends I was going with that I couldn't help but imagine how it would be. You just know why so much was said about this place as soon as you get there.

One can't do too much wrong having a location just behind the German Bakery at Anjuna. Having said that, The Banyan Soul doubles up the advantage by providing extremely clean rooms and a wonderful balcony setting for each of its twelve rooms. The balcony opens into the lawn on either side of the building which makes for a great place to relax with friends.

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and is available whenever needed. The only downside to the property is that they don't have a fully functional restaurant but just a simple kitchen with basic F&B. However, excellent places around the hotel more than make up for this drawback. May not be the ideal place for families holidaying in Goa but if you're heading to Goa to unwind with a bunch of friends, this place is a sure shot winner.

Strongly recommend the following places to go around the hotel: Vagator Beach, Curlies and German Bakery

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raipur, India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

While a lot of places in Goa take a lot from you to give you peace of mind, this place gives you a serene environment, clean rooms with well equipped bathrooms in a place close to where the party is, at a cost that further broadens your smile!
The rooms (Just 12) are well maintained, with modern furniture and a full length glass door to one side giving it a classy feel. The sit outs are made in such a way that you don’t get a view of your neighbours. The bathrooms are well maintained with hot and cold water available even at mid night! I would have preferred them to be a little larger though!

Food is available throughout the day but it’s basically breakfast and snack stuff. Me and my wife loved the masala tea and juices. Though the rest of the food is a bit bland the chicken roll is good for a heavy and spicy breakfast.

Bikes are a necessity when staying here. During nights the surrounding gets dark and lonely. At night we preferred going to German bakery, which is a stone’s throw away, on our bike!

Overall, the place delivers what it promises. It’s a great place for couples looking for privacy in a calm environment and also for couples in groups. We know where we would be staying for our next visit..here!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

We arrived at the Banyan Soul early hours of October 25th to be greeted by Sumit the owner and Nyaneshwar his assistant and not forgetting Dobie, Sumit's dog, our stay was for 1 month, we can honestly say that we could not have picked a better place, the grounds to the hotel are pleasant and very relaxing, each room has it's own balcony and grassed area in front making it very private.

The location of the Banyan is set back from any main roads making it very quiet and peaceful, but close enough to walk to shops, bars and the beach, although if walking at night it is advisable to carry a torch.

The rooms at the Banyan we found to be very clean and tastefully decorated in neutral colours making them very relaxing after a hot day, our room was kept clean and fresh towels plus water were always available for the duration of our stay, if we needed anything the staff was always willing to accommodate, especially Dodie who was always there ready to greet us on our return from the day out, she greets everyone in the same manner, Sumit and Nyaneshwar could not have been more helpful always ready to advise and help in anyway they can, my husband fell ill unfortunately and Nyaneshwar didn't hesitate in taking me to a night chemist on his motorbike of which we are very greatful for, our stay at the Banyan Soul was a delightful experience and if we manage to get to Goa again we would certainly reside there, we would recommend this establishment to anyone wishing to stay in the Adjuna area of Goa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Banyan Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Soul

Address: No. 962(1) Behind German Bakery, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Banyan Soul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Banyan Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Soul Hotel Anjuna
The Banyan Soul Anjuna, Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banyan Soul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.