We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Rooms At their Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banyan Soul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Banyan Soul to your Saves list
The Banyan Soul
2.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   No. 962(1) Behind German Bakery, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Anjuna
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cosy Rooms At their Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Well if you are looking for star rated boutique rooms with no extra frills , then this is the palce for u. 5 mins from Curlies shack and the beach, its a great place to come back to after a hard day at partying:). We loved this place due to the well maintained deluxe rooms with a decent bathrooms. After being on Goa 10 times before, found this place a great value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    57
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
61
21
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

After a difficult and long journey from London...held up in Mumbai for 12 hours due to a scam by Air India...lost a lot of money and time..arrived to Anjuna tired and confused but relieved when I found my room at Banyan Soul, clean, simple design...all that u need for ur stay in Goa..It was monsoon so unfortunately the famous flea market and all the surrounding restaurants etc were closed...:( but somehow I stumbled upon Curlies on the beach...the only shack opened at this time of year...it was Independence Day and Eid that weekend so the place was buzzing with Domestic tourists, cool young crowd ....enjoying the monsoon breeze and free
dom of Goa...after some much needed food I made way back to Banyan Soul and met
Sumit the owner whom I found extremely helpful and informative...its very peaceful and green location, but as I am a non motorbike driver...I was pretty isolated..I did walk a lot
which was fine in the daylight, and luckily was able to get lifts back...but it definitely helps to have one's own transport...especially in off season. ...but its probably one of the best places you will find in Anjuna...only suggestion I would like to make is to make a bit more effort breakfast wise ...especially in this time when there is nothing open nearby...oh yeh and great to have decent wi -fi in the rooms thanks for that I realised on the rest of my trip what a luxury that was...will deffo go back...:)

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went in August. Even though its off season for Goa there was a major rush in due to long weekend. This place is difficult to find. They should add more signboards. I wonder how will anyone find it at night. Keep torches with you. Most of the hotels near this has dogs so if you are walking around be careful.Apart from the glitches about food , the manager is a very helpful person. The rooms are beautiful and clean. This place is good if you want to be holed
up in one place.

Negatives:
The staff which comprises 2 boys are inefficient and rude. The dont know anything about the place and will talk as if they are doing you a favor by cooking or cleaning your room. By the time we reached we were tired and hungry. Apparently they dont stock simple things like lemons or eggs. The staff took our order and after half an hour asked whether we really wanted pancakes because they had to shop for it. The manager said that because its off season they dont keep much food. How does it matter to your guests ? If you have a menu you cannot say something like this. I dont think asking for lemon juice is a big request.Not that the places around your hotel serve food during this season. Our savior was Domino's who promptly delivered food to our room. Because of the odd location its hard to navigate around. We stayed there for just one night and then moved to a different place.

Make sure you visit Curlies at night for food and drinks.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Have booked three no of rooms for six of us. Reached there on Sunday Morning around 11:30, allottted our rooms around 1 pm after we had breakfast at Curlies Restaurant on Anjuna Beach. Loved the room design. One double bed in the middle with the front side having glass doors, with option to keep it completely open by sliding the three glass doors. Two wooden chairs kept outside the room in open veranda can be used for- drying your cloths in the sun/ have a drink etc. I find this arrangement quite enchanting. Overall nice room, good owner(Sumit- who himself attended to our queries). But getting there may be but problematic if you don't have a Google enabled map. However it should not be that headache given that everyone has smartphones these days. 2 min walk from Anjuna, some 10 min by two wheeler from Calangutte/Baga, 5 min drive from Chapora fort. Landmark- German Bakery.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We had a great time at "The Banyan Soul Tree". Staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and spacious and the management was very professional. It is a quiet, charming place and we are planning to go there again for sure. Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

What a great find, this friendly, value for money hotel was exactly what we needed after touring around India. It was recommended by a friend, I am always wary about recommendations, but this turned out better than expectation.

From first arriving, Sumit, the owner, welcomed us like friends, not usual guests, he was interested in us, our journey, and offered us any help we needed as this was our first stay in Goa.
He told us that anything we needed, any information we needed he would do his best to help us, and did he turn out to be a mine of information.

The hotel is lovely, quietly situated off the main drag. but near to all the amenities that Anjuna offers. The rooms are large, spotlessly clean and modern , as are the bathrooms, the standard is more like the better 4 star hotels in India , but not at the price.
Linen and towels are spotless, cannot fault anything. Wanted to stay longer, but could not as hotel fully booked.
Thanks Sumit and Doobie( sumit's four legged friend) for a great stay and your hospitality.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to ensure you get the time you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night. i thought that the room was great, but that was it. Not in the best location, we were not even greeted by a staff member when we arrived, i know it was off season but still. Down a long and dark track, you need a torch to get back as the roads are not lit and there are literally 50 dogs sleeping in this road. so when you come back they will bark and come up to you, so i would not recommend this to anyone who has kids or is afraid of dogs.

there was no shope, bar or restaurant nearby, and so felt a little isolated. Can find better places in Anjuna for 1000-1500 RPS!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anjuna
1.6 mi away
The Tamarind Hotel
The Tamarind Hotel
#2 of 12 in Anjuna
4.0 of 5 stars 350 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#1 of 12 in Anjuna
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirvana Hermitage
Nirvana Hermitage
#5 of 12 in Anjuna
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 52 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
12.5 mi away
Amigo Plaza
Amigo Plaza
#8 of 39 in Salcette District
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
4.7 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#16 of 52 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banyan Soul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banyan Soul

Address: No. 962(1) Behind German Bakery, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Banyan Soul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Banyan Soul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banyan Soul Hotel Anjuna
The Banyan Soul Anjuna, Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Banyan Soul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.