We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Poonam Village Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Poonam Village Resort to your Saves list
Poonam Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   House NO 658 (1), Dmello Wado | Near Anjuna Beach, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 45 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrible value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked here last minute for the Sunburn festival (last minute as the venue was only announced 2weeks before it started) and this place was really well located. We always knew we would pay over the odds, but for 4000Rs a night we were expecting a great deal more (I believe the usual price is about 1700Rs which would have still been too much) The pictures showed light, airy rooms and a lovely shaded pool. The room we got was dark, mouldy and stank of damp. When we complained to the manager we were told to open the window. The windows were overgrown with plants and open windows in the evening in India is just not possible without being eaten to death!
The manager wasn't interested.
There was a TV in our room which was broken and when we told reception we were told they would have a look tomorrow. We asked to speak to the manager who grudgingly came to our room and swapped the TV out. The power went out several times while during our stay. Not uncommon, but very frustrating.
The room itself was mostly clean (bathroom had a bug issue) and was a good size. There was also hot water which doesn't always happen. But seriously, for the amount of money we paid these were less than minimum. It's the most we have spent on accommodation anywhere in India and was, unfortunately, one of the worst.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    13
    5
    9
See reviews for
6
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

when we checked in to the room it was yet to be cleaned and swept out and there was still some belongings of the previous occupant in the room even though it was obvious that there was more than this room available and we had booked the room in advance and arrived in the afternoon. they got a woman to clean it and she didn't do the best of jobs and when she was done she expected tips. the bed is probably the worst i've ever tried to sleep in and the water tap in the sink was very annoying to handle. the price we payed, 1200 INR a night, does not reflect what you get. the pool is very clean and refreshing and the location is all right close to anjuna beach.

the service in the restaurant was very ineffective and the prices of the food and drinks too high.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We spent a few nights here in Nov 2013 and loved it. We are on a tight traveller budget so 1200 rupees was a splurge for us. The room was large, cool and basic with adequate attached bathroom. Food in attached restaurant was great. But the jewel in the crown is their pool - mostly shaded its an absolute joy in the heat if Goa, especially since the beach at Anjuna is not very nice. Try the Italian round the corner too - very special and delicious!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanka, Hungary
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

we liked the location of the place, quite and still not far away from the beach. we also liked the pool, although we did not use it very often, it was nice to cool down. breakfast was okay, too. however the internet connection hardly ever worked reliably

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed in Poonam village resort for 2 nights and 3 days recently in a double AC room where we were charged Rs 2000 per night. To start with the positives, this resort is very near to the beach which definitely makes it an attractive option. Pool was well maintained with no restrictions whatsoever on the timings. Staff behavior was decent.
Initially after we entered the room, we found it quite dirty. There was dust and cobwebs at loads of places. Room was very very basic with no amenities whatsoever. Bathroom had no proper ventilation. We had to chase the staffs repeatedly for things like towels, toiletries, mosquito repellant etc. Surprising part was, they served no drinking water in room and every time we had to actually buy mineral water bottles to quest our thirst. When we asked for a mosquito repellant, all they offered was a normal mosquito coil with no stand (which we anyways couldn't use in a closed room with AC running). The only reason this resort is making money is probably because of its proximity to beach. If we have a two wheeler available and walking down to the beach every time is not an option, then I feel there are many others promising places in and around that area which will be value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our stay in the resort was awesome, I checked out yesterday, The staff is very very friendly and helpful. The pool, environment and the location of the guest house is Amazing! The pool was neat and clean. For any kind of help, contact Sehel. The staff member in the resort. He's kind and very helpful!
The food they serve isn't that great and bit expensive. Overall, it was a nice stay there! Loved it

Room Tip: Non A/C rooms are too hot in the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had the most amazing time in poonam! Met the best people, had the best time. Great location, friendly staff, good pool. Basically no rules regarding the pool area, many times spent in there until the early hours. Only down side is the many Mosquitos :(

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poonam Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poonam Village Resort

Address: House NO 658 (1), Dmello Wado | Near Anjuna Beach, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Poonam Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Poonam Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poonam Village Resort Anjuna, Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poonam Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.