We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly, welcoming and homely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anjunapalms Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anjunapalms Guesthouse to your Saves list
Anjunapalms Guesthouse
650 DMello Vaddo | between Oxford Arcade and Eat O Pia restaurant, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 Anjuna B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Really friendly, welcoming and homely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a great place for the spirit of Anjuna - relaxed, pleasant and well-cared for with a friendly family hosting attentively. Rooms are sizeable, fairly clean (minor gripe about frogs coming into bathrooms but perhaps natural in this patch of the world), and numerous eateries and services (including a supermarket [by Indian standards], bars, scooter hire, travel agents, ATMs, laundry) are very close. A nice enclosed courtyard with a swing and simple kitchen facilities make it both a pleasant and a practical space away from the outside. Wifi but a bit weedy if you're not in the right place. The service was great, though: the family either organised or directed us to everything we needed, and at a good price. The people make the place here and we deeply enjoyed our stay. You're not at the beach - it's a long half-hour-plus walk, so you need to hire a scooter, but that's part of the fun and the vibe of Anjuna anyway. We would go back here without hesitation. And they have a very nice and friendly dog too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
11
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I was very excited about this place when I learned about it online but once I arrived there my excitement was washed away.

- I emailed the guesthouse via their website to inform them that I would be arriving at 4 in the morning and to my surprise no one was there to give me the keys to the room. And no instructions on where to knock or what to do at that hour!
I sat on their staircase for two hours extremely tired after traveling 15 hours and I finally decided to go somewhere else for a night and return the next day.

- Once I returned and got the room with a friend of mine we could not manage to get proper sleep during the night due to how slow the fan was and it made no difference at all in the room.

- The bathrooms were not clean at all. The owner mentioned to us that there was not that many people staying there and somehow the bathroom looked like it was used by 50 people. We stayed there for two days and one night and its situation did not change from one day to the other.

The only two positive things about the place is that it was quite with friendly owners and the possibility to rent a scooter from around the corner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur, Rajasthan, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed at Anjuna Palms for 4 nights. I paid 100 rs. per night to have a simple bed on the upstairs veranda with a mosquito net. There were three other guests that were staying outdoors with me as well. We all shared one communal bathroom. I have to say that for the price it was a good accommodation. There appeared to be halted construction going on during my stay. I believe they were extending the roof and making other adjustments to the property. When it was time for me to leave the family who owned the guest house arranged a motorbike taxi to take me to the airport. They also kept my valuables safe during my stay. The mother of the house was very sweet and friendly. The greenery on the premise was beautiful as well. I would recommend this guesthouse to any laid back traveler, especially those who are on a fixed budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Amazing place, clean and great valuue for money. Only 10 minutes from the beach with shops and restaurants on the doorstep. Dina and Felix are lovely and will help you with anything, including scooters. Great for meeting people, ended up staying 9 days instead of 4!

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anjunapalms, Owner at Anjunapalms Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Sophie.
Thanxs for the review, we hope to see you again.
Greetings from us all here at Anjuapalms Guesthouse
Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

While the rooms are basic and the facilities communal Anjunapalms Guesthouse has a warm vibe and is wonderful value for money. The staff and owners are happy to assist and advise when asked and the Guesthouse is located a little off the main strip, providing a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed here for a week, for the second time. This place is great. As other reviews have said, its a no frills kind of place but offers everything that you need. Me and my 2 friends stayed in a three bed dorm for 5 nights, costing just 150Rs per night (less than 2 English pounds!) The room was comfortable with a fan and wash basin, we had a shared bathroom with a hot shower which was great. The owners are very helpful and friendly and on my first visit took my friend to the doctors when he hurt his foot. I would definately recommend this place to anyone wanting a chilled out holiday in Goa. Its close to the beach (about 10 mins) and surrounded by resturants and bars!

Room Tip: There are several different types of rooms, its costs more than double to have a private bathroom, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in Anjunapalms as part of our 8 week trip around India. This was our first visit to Goa and i booked a 2 bed dorm for 5 nights.

From the start the whole process was fantastic! Felix (Peter) made the whole booking and trip research so easy and the online booking system was perfect.

The guest house is ideally located in Anjuna just outside of the main street but well within walking distance from the beach, bars and shops.

The facilities were good, WC had planty of hot water and was cleaned regularly. Felix helped us out with great rates for scooter hire and onward travel.

I would recommend this as a great place to stay for peace and quiet but with access to the parties on the beaches and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Very busy during new year but ask Felix about his mum's guest house just round the corner which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anjunapalms Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjunapalms Guesthouse

Address: 650 DMello Vaddo | between Oxford Arcade and Eat O Pia restaurant, Anjuna, Bardez 403509, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Anjuna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Anjuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anjunapalms is a popular destination mainly for all backpackers and many mid range travellers, we are a family maintained and run services with a homely touch with lots of extras thrown in at no cost to pleasing guest. We have started a guest kitchen, and also accept 1st floor terrace camping at a low charge with roof covered, and shared bathroom, and electricity provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Anjunapalms Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anjunapalms Guesthouse Anjuna, Goa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anjunapalms Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.